We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“class”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #16 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“class”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Had a great time here, the hotel is great, in a great location and such a good atmosphere. The room was cool, bathroom was modern and classy. The staff are very good, always helpful, booked us a table at a local restaurant as the hotel restaurant was full. The friday night when we arrived, the bar attached had ladies on the door giving chocolates and a chance to get a rose at the bar, which my girlfriend loved. The bar is really cool and always busy, great cocktails as well. If your looking for a hotel thats cool and in a great location, then this is it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossiliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    335
    117
    39
    21
See reviews for
131
1,005
27
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Our stay at the Tigerlily was outstanding in every way! Friendly accommodating staff, excellent meals, and a drop-dead gorgeous junior suite. We will definitely go back to the Tigerlily!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed in the Tigerlilly for just one night and it was fantastic. Hotel was beyond lovely and our room was gorgeous. We stayed in a mini-georgian suite. Was fully kitted out with iPod speakers, plasma TV on the wall, remote control fire place, had the full works.

We stayed on the first floor and had no noise from downstairs bar or nightclub. The bar was nice, bit expensive though.

Will go back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to at least mini georgian suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I've stayed in Tigerlily numerous times over the past few years as it's always been my first choice when visiting Edinburgh. It's a lovely boutique hotel and in a great location, just near the end of George street and very accessible from Waverly Station.

Happy things -
The rooms are modern and chic and always very clean, you can tell they take a lot of pride in detail and keeping up standards.
Service is impeccable and seem to always be on time. The concierge leads you to your room and instructs you how to use the facilities, lights, air con etc.
There is surprisingly no noise at night time even though there is a busy subterranean night club and bustling bar below you. I have stayed in various rooms around the hotel and never experienced any disturbances.
If you are staying in the hotel you are treated like a VIP with complimentary access to Lulu and the VIP bar with your own table awaiting.
Staff are very friendly and always happy to help.

Sad things -
Getting a table booking at the restaurant can be difficult even if you are staying at the hotel. A few times i have managed to get a reservation but was sat at the worst seat in the house. It's difficult to enjoy your meal when sitting next to a queue of a hundred noisy drunks waiting to be served at the bar.
I organised a late check out for 2pm and the manager came knocking at our door at 12pm telling us we should've checked out and will be charged for an extra night. I explained to her my arrangement, she did apologise but charged us anyways. The charge for another night AND the £50 fee for each night took 9 days to go back into my bank account with no condolences.
Tigerlily is a "Challenge 25" venue which can be a bit of a pest getting ID'd at the door to get into your room. After showing one bouncer my room card he still asked for a form of ID. I didn't mind and understood because the same main door is used to get into the bar and the hotel but it was slightly off putting.

After these disappointing mistakes I think I'll try look for another boutique hotel next time I visit Edinburgh. After all, variation is the spice of life i guess!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The hotel is a chic boutique, and the rooms are wonderful. They were not ready at checkin time, for which the reception staff was apologetic. We went to the bar where it took twenty minutes and 3 requests before someone would serve us. It also took a long time to get a bellman out for the luggage.

Lack of great service at a boutique does not surprise me. But the fact that my room was above an open air night hotel bar/club was. Loud music and talking kept me up most of the night. After a 3rd call another party was at 2 am offered another room. I only called once so no such offer was made. Staff made it clear that this is a frequent occurrence-unacceptable in any hotel, particularly one with such a high rating. If you stay, make sure you are nowhere near the bar/club. The staff did comp us for breakfast, but it doesnt make up for the lack of sleep-and this is a management issue

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Wow, this place certainly stands out from the pack - and we've stayed in some pretty good hotels in our time. Don't be put off if you arrive as we did late in the evening when the bar and restaurant are already buzzing and the party's spilled out on to the pavement outside (it was a warm summer evening!). Inside our very spacious and beautifully designed room all was peaceful and the bed was so big and comfortable it was hard to drag ourselvers out of it in the morning. We ate our delicious breakfast downstairs each morning in a rather exotic bedouin-styled booth in the restaurant. Not just your normal breakfast buffet here, but everything cooked freshly to order and a huge selection of dishes. I agree with one reviewer that a pot of coffee would be nicer than individual cups which do tend to cool quite quickly but that's real nit-picking.
We had dinner on our first evening - great food, locally sourced, imaginative menu. I was worried that it would be too noisy but we were tucked away in a corner and had no problems at all. We also had lunch here on our final day and took advantage of the special menu - main course plus a glass of wine, coffee and a chocolate brownie for a tenner. Again, great food and excellent value.
Overall, we were really impressed with the decor, style, service, comfort and friendliness of this hotel. I do think you need to be clear about what you are coming to, so if you want to eat in silence and listen to the tinkling of a grand piano in the lobby, this hotel is not for you!
Any complaints at all? OK just one tiny winge - no towel rails in the bathroom. But everything else was wonderful and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My only regret with regards to our stay at Tigerlily is that it was not long enough. This hotel is simply lovely. The decor is so thought out and interesting. The rooms were great - very clean and well laid out (I appreciated the super sized bathroom). I didn't notice any unreasonable noise that some of the other reviewers have mentioned. Quite the opposite. I found the room to be peaceful and relaxing. The highlight though of this hotel is definitely the staff. They go out of their way to help their guests! We also decided to do the Tigerlily glamour photoshoot which was a nice add on to our trip. Roslyn and the team are just awesome!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,776 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,091 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing