We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience ... This place is NO Shrinking Violet”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #17 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unique Experience ... This place is NO Shrinking Violet”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Glam styling makes a stay at Tigerlily a unique experience!! It really is a fun boutique hotel with an excellent bar and restaurant.

The service both at the front desk and in the restaurant was very friendly and helpful.

My room was excellent ... spacious, comfortable bed and lots of cool decor. The lighting controls were a bit complicated to operate and the bathroom was a "B" whereas the rest of the experience was an "A+"

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieds_dans_L_eau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    331
    117
    38
    21
See reviews for
123
988
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was my 2nd visit in 12 months to Tiger Lily and it did not disappoint. Room fantastic, 3 course dinner was amazing with a generous amount of food to choose from and our waitress was very attentive, bar was full and busy but we were always served promptly. Gorgeous breakfast selection, excellent value for money. On the negative, lift broken and we were on the 3rd floor, docking station in both our rooms didn't work, hotel interior needing some `touch ups'. Toilets in the bar during the day were clean however by late evening there was no toilet roll in the cubicals and the floor was a mess, there needs to be some attention to detail on the small things that often make up the overall experience, however all in all I would definately return as it's a fun place to go.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMMAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. I am glad to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay with us.

Last week we unfortunately experienced some problems with our lift and as a result had to take it out of service. I am pleased to say that this has now been fixed. We have a hotel refurbishment programme in progress and this does involve repainting and refreshing areas throughout the hotel. These minor works are due to completed very soon and will leave the hotel looking as fresh and vibrant as ever.

We do carry out regular toilet checks throughout the day and night, however we will endeavour to improve this element of our customer service.

Again thank you very much for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tigerlily very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This has everything you could possibly want, we visited just before Christmas and the atmosphere was electric. The 'pink' bedroom is gorgeous and I didn't really want to leave it, huge bed, huge bathroom that was quite private from the bedroom (all girls like that) and a really fabulous floor to ceiling mirror to check out your outfit from head to toe. The bar was packed with what looked like the 'it crowd' so lots of 'people watching' while you sip your cocktail. Even though it was really busy the staff made us feel really special and gave us priority treatment. The tables in the bar have chain mail curtains around them so you can see out, but you feel very private too. Located right in the heart of Edinburgh near to the shops. Very stylish with a funky little nightclub downstairs called Lulu's, which I visited on another occasion. Recommend you get the bar tender to mix you a cocktail at the bar. Wonderful. Also recommending The Dome a glass of champagne, cocktails at the bar or a nice sophisticated afternoon tea. Fabulous and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollypopmirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Tigerlily this week 2 nights after Valentines. I had purchased a voucher on itison with a brillant deal. We had an overnight stay, 2 course dinner for 2, breakfast in morning, bottle of Processo and home-made chocolate for a excellent price. I arrived first and was shown around the room by a memeber of staff. She showed me how to use everything and showed me where everything was (including ghd's in the wardrobe!!). She was just fab. When she left the room I was mage excited!! I was so happy and surprised with the room I got straight on the phone to the bf to let him know how amazing it was!! So I went shopping (2 seconds from Princess St). When I came back to my room, someone had came in and dimmed the light, put rugs out at the side of the bed, shut the curtains and put our drink on ice. Dinner was at 8.15pm. Amazing menu and delieous cocktails (Strawberry smash!). Room was massive, kind size bed with a big tv at bottle of the bed that swirlvals round. Ipod also (160gb) full of music!!! Got lots of photos to show room. Was just amazing. Breakfast was ordered the night before and was brought into our room at our chosen time. I chose the continental breakfast and the bf chose the grilled one. Both were amazing! I would HIGHLY recommend Tigerlily to everyone who wants a romantic night away. Can't wait to go again!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I have never written a review on tripadvisor before but this time I had to. Stayed at Tigerlily for one night with the itison deal. Everything was perfect, we had a luxury double room which was gorgeous! Massive bed and beautifully decorated with an equally lovely bathroom with wet room. Had dinner in the restuarant, waiter was very polite and could not do enough to please, complimentary bread and olives was a nice touch. We both had different dishes which tasted in one word delicious!. As residents in the hotel you get free entry to Lulu, great music and once again really lovely staff. Breakfast in the morning did not dissapoint, plenty of choice and best eggs benedict I have ever had. Only complaint, we couldnt stay another night. Thank you Tigerlily for a wonderful time, we are already planning our next visit which will be very soon. Why this hotel is not 5 stars is a complete mystery.

Room Tip: Im sure all rooms in this hotel are as lovely as the next!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorriGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Had a lovely room. Ate in the hotel restaurant.. food was awesome. The bar is a great area to socialise. The bed was super comfortable..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve222_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushmills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Ahh we are just back from a weekend stay at Tigerlilys and I have to say it was without a doubt the best hotel we ever stayed in. The room was amazing and the extra touches really made it worth the money. The staff were young, trendy, gracious and eager to please. The breakfast was beautiful and served up to 12pm every day and all day on a Sunday. Imagine that!! According to 1 member of staff Saturday night was the busiest shift he had ever experienced but we didn't even notice as service from the table waiters was efficient and prompt! The hotel manager was really friendly and took time to ask us how our trip was and what we thought of the hotel, we honestly felt like we were the only guests staying there!! It was our first time away together in a few years and we both had the best nights sleep ever.
If you want romance, great food, experienced and super friendly staff, delicious cocktails and an amazing central location to all Edinburgh has to offer then staying in Tigerlily is a must!! Cannot wait to go back and my husband and I agreed that we will definitely return same time next year.
I just don't have a clue as to why this hotel could be rated any lower than 5 stars, hope this helps if you are in two minds about booking this fab hotel :)

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd or 3rd floor room as you will be guaranteed a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinag94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,730 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing