We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Girlie Hen Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Girlie Hen Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I booked Tigerlily for a hen weekend for last weekend and can honestly say it has to be the nicest place I have ever stayed - my own wedding venue included in this!

We took advantage of the Girlie weekend package and enjoyed a two nights stay in luxury twin rooms with breakfast each morning, a three course evening meal, an afternoon tea and a three course late lunch at Rick's all for £325!

Throughout the entire weekend I kept thinking we would be billed extra when we checked out because the value for money was unreal.

We arrived on Friday and enjoyed a scrumptious afternoon tea, upgraded to champagne. We then enjoyed getting ready in our rooms listening to music on the fully loaded ipod and dock that was waiting in the room. The shower was amazing and the bathroom felt like we were in a spa. The hotel not only provided branded bath robes and slippers for guests to wear but also provided a hairdryer and wait for it.....GHD hair straightners in every room!

Our room in particualr had an amazing view over the city and we could see the Sea in the distamce. One of our rooms (we were a party of 11) had 3 in it and the hotel gave that room a complementary upgrade to a mini suite - a real treat!

We had our evening three course dinner in the hotel on the Friday night and the staff were incredibly accomodating in setting our table up with our personalised place mats, hen party confetti and bubble wands. They even sat us in the private dining area without us asking or even knowing it existed. After an amazing meal we headed down to the nightclub Lulu for a boogie!

The next day the breakfast was just what we needed and I have to say, again, the nicest grilled (not fried) breakfast I have had. With fresh fruit juice and coffee - it was gorgeous.

In the afternoon after visiting the Fringe Festival we enjoyed a gorgeous three course late lunch at Rick's as part of the package. This came with a round of Flirtini cocktails :-) nom nom!

We headed into Cowgate for the evening drinks and had a fab time.

Throughout our stay the staff were friendly, professional and accomodating to our every need. They received packages for us, provided us with extra totiletteries when requested (from the White Company non the less), they also printed out the boarding cards for some of the guests who were flying home.

I cannot rate this place enough and CANNOT wait to get back there one day.

A must for everyone, especially hens who want a 'classy' weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    319
    108
    38
    21
See reviews for
107
935
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

The restaurant and hotel are absolutely stunning and in a great location! The food at the restaurant was OK, not spectacular, but the restaurant itself was far too noisy. The music was loud and there was a bar right beside the table where we were sitting. I think the restaurant staff forgot about us too. On the positive side, I slept like a baby in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennet3637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
320 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I booked this hotel because I found a very good offer and I wanted to explore the New Town, but I was a bit worried about some reviews complaining about noise and an excessively posh place...I didn't need to worry..Of course, the place is all pink floral bizarre, looking more like some rooms inside a bar than an hotel with a bar..BUT the young staff is extremely kind and helpful, the room one of the best I'have ever seen with very special little touches (complimentary fresh milk for the tea in the fridge, candles AND umbrella& ironing board..bread and roses all together, so to say). And the shower was definitely the best and biggest I ever had.. As for the noise, our room, first floor, was totally quiet, while downstairs everything was in full blooom. And I have to say the New town is nice and worth exploring, less touristy and more real than the - wonderful- Old town.. I'd like to be back .I just hope that they 'll manage to mantain in ship shape such a nice place( there are already a coupl of small spots and mark in the otherwise very clean room, of course this kind of design requires lot of care )

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abigaille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel has a funky, modern vibe to their decor in the the restaurant/bar area and all the amenities for a comfortable stay in the rooms upstairs. The room was outfitted with a tv/dvd player, Ipod player, fluffy robes, iron, hair straightener---you name it! We had heard from other Trip Advisor posts that noise from the bar could be an issue at this hotel, but we stayed on the 2nd floor and didn't hear another guest. The breakfast is nice---the french toast with yogurt and berries was my favorite. The location is perfect for walking around town to Princes Street, the Castle, and loads of restaurants and shops. The only negative: little parking for either loading/unloading or if you have a rental car. There are some metered spots in front of the hotel (limited to 3 hours during the day) or a garage about 1 mile away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnsey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

A divine experience, thought it may be a little pretentious, but I was totally wrong!
Lovely staff who made a special effort to make all clientele feel really appreciated. I noticed a large senior party greeting the waiters like old friends, and the mood of the restaurant was buzzing and happy. The surrounding are plush and glitzy definitely had the WOW factor
We had the lunch time offer a steal at £15 for two main courses, excellent choice of around 8 dishes, plus good priced A la Carte if required. The waiter was very happy to advise on choice.
I love Edinburgh, but I would pay the rail fare just for just my lunch at the Lily!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We really liked our cool, girly suite when we stayed here on a Hen weekend.....it was really a lovely room, with all the home comforts that a girl needs (fluffy robe, nice toiletries, ipod dock etc) and te staff were lovely! Best of all, it was very good value for money. Bathroom was beautiful.....lovely spa bath etc.

We came back after shopping, and ate tea and scones by a lovely fireplace downstairs......and a glass of champagne! It was divine.

Only thing I will say is that you should steer well clear of the restaurant! The food was truly dreadful. Prices are pretty cheap mind you, so you can't expect nice food for these prices.

But for a bar snack, or a scone or a piece of cake it's great!

Cocktails were DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had a light lunch for 3 at this restaurant today and am pleased to say that it was absolutely faultless. The service was fantastic, the food was superb and the deal of 2 courses for £15 was excellent, especially since the third main course was charged at the same rate. The salmon pasta was the best I have ever tasted and was served piping hot - something that many restaurants fail to do. We also had the Thai curry which was delicious and beautifully presented. We did not have dessert but what we saw looked extremely interesting and we vowed that we would order some on our next visit. The wine was perhaps a little expensive but the we are in the heart of Edinbugh and during the Festival. I must also mention the decor which was extremely attractive with various different types of areas where you could have just a drink or coffee. We have already planned our return visit!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing