We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wee gem”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #15 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely wee gem”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed here start of october for an overnight as part of a itison deal which included a two course dinner which was nice not stunning but tasty.I upgraded our room to number 5 on first floor and it was beautiful and so big and the bed was so comfy. We didn't stay in the bar that evening we went to one of the local pubs and arrived back in hotel about 12.30 am tired as we had explored Edinburgh the whole day .once we went to bed about 1am there was no way we could get to sleep till the nightclub finished it was quite loud don't no if it was just the position of our room. Breakfast next morning was nice but I defo prefer a buffet service where you can just get and pick what you want overall we enjoyed it and would go back.

Room Tip: Don't choose 1st floor rooms if you want a sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,167
    339
    117
    39
    22
See reviews for
135
1,024
27
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed at Tiger Lily in August 2012, and would recommend to all couples. A gorgeous hotel for a romantic night away. Fantastic to have all your needs contained in one...head to the bar for a drink, then onto dinner, back to the bar and roll up to bed. Ideal!

The rooms are spacious and luxuriously decorated and kitted out. Beautiful hotel. Fantastic bar with superb cocktails. Food great also!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverjack73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here in September 2012 and we loved it! The room was lovely, nice big Wetroom etc. All of the staff were excellent both in the bar and the restaurant. We had some drinks in the bar before lunch, - the food was excellent and the prices was reasonable. We would highly recommend staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher Floors and Rooms avoid Nightclub Noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

For my friend's 21st birthday she had emailed Tigerlily in advance to book a booth at 11pm so we could enjoy a few drinks in, what we heard was, an amazing place. We were a group of 11 girls but unfortunately one member had misplace her ID so she had also emailed Tigerlily in advance and explained her situation that she would be coming at 11pm with a group of friends, would she able to enter the premises but not have any alcohol. They emailed back and explained there was absolutely no hassle to do this. Great we thought!
On arrival at 10pm the bouncers, as usual, asked for ID, my friend explained she'd emailed in advance and the manager Stephen was brought out to handle the situation in which he explained that it was only for a restaurant booking that she could enter, even though in her email she explained it was for cocktails, This was a very abrupt end to her evening and she could not share her best friend's 21st with her which also put a downer on the rest of the evening!
Tigerlily is a lovely looking hotel and was buzzing, the bar staff were quick and efficient even though there was a bit of a queue, the service they offered was brilliant and the cocktails were fantastic.
We realised we were an hour early for our booth, but when it reached 11pm the birthday girl told the manager that this group had left a booth but other customers had 'jumped on' to it, clearly unaware that it was booked as there was no reserved sign on it. The manager, Stephen, tried to put us on two high tables which were separated instead, the birthday girl explained it was her birthday and Stephen was extremely rude to her saying "What do you want me to do about it! I can't just tell the group that has sat down to move for you". Truth be told Stephen, you could! In my opinion the people before us on the booth should have been warned when they sat down that they would have to vacate by 10 to 11 at the latest to it could be cleaned and be ready at 11 for us to sit down. However this was not the case and we did not get sitting at the booth until 11.30pm!
For a hotel that has such raving reviews, surely this would have been an easy task for them to comply to. However we were completely outraged by the way Stephen spoke to the birthday girl and how we were treated.
If a booth is booked in advance for 11pm, you expect to be sitting at that booth at 11pm.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ibiza2010274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here in March and loved it! The rooms are great, nice touches with the ipod etc. The staff were excellent from arrival and this was the same for the staff in the bar and the restaurant. We had some cocktails in the bar before dinner, then ate in the restaurant - the food was excellent and the price was reasonable. Make sure you book ahead well in advance to get the time you want. Would highly recommend staying in this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_a_yates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is one of the most unusual hotels we've stayed in. More in a moment. Located in New Town, the hotel occupies a renovated town house. Our room was very large, with contemporary appointments, and a nice view towards the Firth of Forth. The bathroom, though spare in decoration was also quite large, something you appreciated if moving around in the UK. When the TV did not work, they gave us a credit and replaced it. Staff were very helpful (though perseverating on the word, brilliant) and breakfast was very good. A solid choice in Edinburgh. Now for the odd part. The ground floor consists of a series of rooms decorated in different, ersatz styles and, as late afternoon arrives, turns into a kind of nightclub, packed with well-dressed young people drinking cocktails and bathed in loud music. You can skirt this scene to reach the elevator but the scene is harmless and we heard not a peep or ping in our room. While not common to be greeted by a bouncer and not a bellman, you should consider Tigerlily in ZEdinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We booked Tiger Lily last minute and our stay was first class. Lovely ambience, lovely food, staff were excellent and Room No 1 was really special. Highly recommend to anyone looking for something special in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Room No 1 is something special. Lovely decor, very spacious and sooooo relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,132 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,815 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
962 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing