We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamorous place in no-longer-stuffy Edinburgh”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed four nights at Tigerlily in mid-September this year. It is very central (two short blocks off Princes Street) and we were very impressed with the rooms. Big and well-equipped, and definitely high-end. The hotel is a beautifully converted and extended classic grand house, and the renovation is top-quality, Breakfasts in the restaurant are very good, and the service impeccable. The frond desk folks are as helpful and obliging as one might expect in a multi-star hotel

There is a fly in the ointment, however. The ground floor is a very popular night club. Though the rooms are well-insulated, at closing time (3am) some revelers spill into the central courtyard and can be noisy. On one of our nights a very drunk party broke out at closing time in a room on our corridor, culminating in someone trying to get into our room, mistaking it for his.

The hotel was very apologetic, and cut a hundred pounds off our final bill. Hotels can't always control all their guests, I know. Just be aware that, excellent as Tigerlily is, there's a chance of disturbed sleep on a Saturday night.

Room Tip: High floors best, facing into the central courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,293 - 1,299 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012

We enjoyed a sumptuous afternoon tea at Tigerlily - what a treat! We just booked the day before, as we planned our day out. It was a lovely modern setting with professional and friendly service and the food was excellent . We were offered sandwich choices and we had top quality home baked scones, cakes and fruit tarts and lashings of hot tea, of course. Highly recommended. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Posh_Cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Birthday present booked through Groupon, Hotel is wonderful, I have stayed in a lot of hotels,I am also in the same industry in Glasgow... Hotels so need to take a leaf out of this one, bedrooms immaculate and interior designing is impeccable, all mod cons and even had turn down service, bathroom.... wow factor ( I could have slept in it comfortably) For smokers, there was a wonderful built in heated garden... Cocktails, to die for. Dinner was awesome ( although service a little bit slow) but staff work HARD considering the ratio of guests dining against staff serving.

Breakfast, again,service slow..... but would consider buffet set up to keep guests happy and service quicker... although fabulous menu... I think hotel would benefit from quick coffee and buffet food for quicker service and checkout.... all in all most defo will be back....LOVED IT

Room Tip: All rooms are of high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Have wanted to stay here for a while and finally did, booked a mini suite and got upgraded to the Black Room, staff bent over backwards to look after us, room was beautiful, gorgeous furniture and decor... meal stunning (bf declared it his best steak ever), cocktails to die for... (but i was already a fan to tigerlily downstairs) Club was awful but only because it was a R&B night (sunday) and not to my taste at all (but gorgeous surroundings). Right in the middle of George street - fantastic location (although parking was hard to find...).
Overall could not fault it. Quite expensive but worth every penny.... Thank you for having us! x

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fi_abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Went for a hen-weekend, after a friend recommended it. I was not disappointed! Everything about this place was fantastic. Rooms are excellent, great size, well kitted out, and uber modern. Food was fantastic, and even on a Saturday night when we were late for our table - they never rushed us, and kindly found us a booth in the bar area after our meal, which you will never get unless you reserve one due to their popularity. The bar areas and lounge are just stunning! Fantastic array of cocktails and drinks menu - great offers on cocktails/wine on a Friday night worth remembering! The nightclub under the hotel (Lulu's) was great - and attracts a variety of ages, Friday's crowd seemed much younger than Saturday's. Breakfast was amazing, and would highly recommend breakfast in bed for an extra treat. We did the Girl's Weekend offer which was great. Lunch at Ricks was fantastic, the Chamomile Spa was lovely, and Caroline the make-up artist who takes care of the make-overs was so lovely, and very good! However the biggest selling point at this place was everyone who worked there. Superb customer service from Richard - a fabulous concierge, the girls on reception and in the restaurant and bar - they were all fantastic, and I just wish I knew all of their names to name them - they deserve it, and are a credit to the hotel. Will definitely be going again!!

Room Tip: On a weekend - try and stay on the top floor - less noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddieolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Overnight stay was a lovely treat. Deal included bottle of fizz and a meal plus entry to LULU. The breakfast was one of the best ever. Great room with huge walk-in shower. Brilliant little touches including little jug with fresh milk in the fridge, candles in the bathroom. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andypandy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night using an 'itison' deal which cost £145. The deal included one nights stay in a double room, a sharing platter for two with a glass of wine each, a three course dinner meal and a cocktail each. On arrival we were given a complimentary upgrade to a luxury double room.
The staff were welcoming and friendly at all times and went out of their way to help.
The rooms have ipods which you can use and also GHD straighteners which is great. We also had breakfast in our room in the morning, it arrived when we asked it to and at no extra cost.
Albeit it was an 'itison' deal we were not made to feel out of place in anyway apart from our evening meal when we were placed at a long table seating 10. It felt like I was out dining with others (that i didnt know) rather than just my husband. The customers who were obviously paying full price were seated in the more private booths. Also the length of time to wait between courses was rather long as the restaurant was extremely busy.
Overall though a great stay in a funky, boutique hotel. Would defo recommend and we will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jules80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,009 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £108 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing