We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and friendly true Boutique Hotel”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #16 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Classy and friendly true Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed here recently in 'The Black Room' and LOVED every second. The hotel for me has a classy and elegant feel with a touch of sassiness and romance thrown in for good measure - a true boutique hotel!! The Staff are incredibly accomodating, friendly and helpful - we wanted to book a restuarant locally and they took care of everything. We only had brunch and breakfast at the Hotel, but what we did have was superb. Location of the hotel is also ideal and you can walk anywhere.
We loved it so much Im going in January and cant wait!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    335
    117
    39
    21
See reviews for
131
1,003
27
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The Tigerlily is absolutely wonderful. This boutique hotel hasan old world Georgian charm with modern luxe theme. We splurged on the Georgian Mini Suite, and the room was outstanding. The bathroom was large with a great shower/tub, and the fixtures in the room were very nice. Robes and slippers are provided for the chilly hardwood floor, and the space of the Mini Suite was very refreshing in downtown Edinburgh.
The restaurant at the Tigerlily was just as great. I would highly recommend eating dinner there while staying at the hotel, even if it is a little pricey.
While we did not have a great view (courtyard) we did not feel enclosed. The location of the hotel is exactly where you want to be located, you can walk anywhere from the hotel including Edinburgh castle. The staff went above and beyond to help us, always friendly, and even included champagne in our room (since it was our honeymoon).
You will pay a little more to stay at the Tigerlily, but really it's a great value for what you get, and with the atmosphere and location, you can't beat it. I would love to stay here again the next time I find myself in Edinburgh, and I look forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem amazing, for the extra room, consider upgrading to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltcoats
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Just stayed at Tigerlilly last night (14/01/13) on a voucher deal. Had a great time. The hotel is fantastic and has everything you require for a great stay. I have to reiterate what most people say in their reviews in that the service at the hotel is truly amazing, There was a slight hiccup with our booking not sure who was to blame, us or the hotel, but we were immediately upgraded to a deluxe room by the girl at reception ( sorry I didn't get your name) due to this, a really nice gesture.
Choice of food on the residents menu was really good, and we both had a wonderful meal. The mushroom risotto starter was incredible. Our waitress was lovely and the service in the restaurant was fantastic.
Breakfast was the same, service and food amazing.
Reception staff kindly let us leave our luggage after checking out, allowing us to do a bit of shopping before picking up our car a short distance away (Riego St £15 24hr stay) .
Hopefully we will return later in the year for another self indulent luxurious night.
Thanks to all the staff for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a deluxe room number 30 and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Booked this hotel through "Itison" so got it half price for one night to celebrate my birthday. From entering the hotel to leaving all the staff were terrific and couldn't do more for us. Although trying to park near the hotel was a nightmare it didn't spoil our night. Car Park was a 15 minute walk and it was freezing but didn't matter when we reached hotel as it was very welcoming. The room we had was beautiful with everything you could think of including hair straighteners. The food we had was delicious and we even had our breakfast served in our room at no extra cost. All in all a wonderful experience and made my birthday even better. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

This was my 3rd stay at Tigerlily and I always enjoy the hotel, but this time it exceeded my expectations. I travelled with my mum for a 2 night stay. On arrival, we were thrilled to find they had upgraded us from a junior suite to the incredible Georgian suite. The suite blew us away! Absolutely beautiful and definitely the jewel in tigerlily's pink, sparkly crown. Everything from the 4 poster bed to the huge bathroom with free-standing tub was perfection. Infact, we loved our room so much that we cancelled our pre-theatre dinner on the saturday & had room service instead.
Our stay was made even more special by the staff. Every member of staff we encountered from turn down service to reception staff, were pleasant, helpful and enthusiastic. Nothing was too much trouble and they really go out of their way to ensure guests are looked after.
We arrived on a Friday and because we had theatre tickets for the Saturday night, we spent the Friday evening in Tigerlily bar & restaurant. The hotel staff were very helpful even before I arrived, making sure our tables were booked for us. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant, the food was excellent and I'll review it sperately. Yes, if you eat late, it's noisy. But it really didnt bother us as we expected it. Tigerlily is a busy, vibrant place with a real buzz about it - the restaurant just reflects that. We also spent quite a few hours before dinner sampling the cocktail menu in one of the cosy booths, a great start to our stay.
A special mention goes to the fantastic Jeremy who was behind the bar on Friday night & looked after us so well we felt like we had our own personal cocktail waiter. He also remembered us on Saturday afternoon and recommended a cocktail that eased my hangover after a morning of shopping. A lovely guy who makes a mean margarita!
We had breakfast delivered to our room both mornings and it was delicious, it also arrived at exactly the time we had asked for.
I've already booked to return with my boyfriend in May & I certainly wouldnt stay anywhere else when visiting Edinburgh. If you are looking for luxury, glamour & fun book Tigerlily.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Organised Sunday Escape for my wife, including cocktails, and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, from reception, bedroom, bar, dinning, through to breakfast the following morning in our room at the stated time. All the staff we young, attentive and very friendly. Would recommend this establishment to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianr321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Had some lovely cocktails here on a quiet tuesday evening. The bar tenders were very attentive and personalised our experience by making specific cocktails for us. Thank you very much for a relaxed enjoyable evening. (Special thanks to the young ambitious guy, good luck with the mixology!)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank beckz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing