We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay - Excellent!”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #15 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2013

A wonderful place to stay in the centre of Edinburgh. My husband surprised by booking a Suite here and it was immaculatey clean, fresh and spacious. The shower area was massive together with the general bathroom area. Lovely touches all around the room including GHD straighteners provided and fresh fruit.
The decor was lovely throughout the hotel (beiges / pink).
We stayed for evening meal which turned out to be fabulous and even though we had made plans to go elsewhere for drinks afterwards, we enjoyed the food and bar area so much we stayed the whole night.
I can highly recommend this place to stay and eat... breakfast is superb - together with the service to match.

Room Tip: We went for a suite, but all the rooms looked great.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaggybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,708)
There are newer reviews for Tigerlily Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here again this week. I received an Itison voucher for dinner, bed & breakfast as a gift. As the timing of our visit to Edinburgh coincided with my Wife's birthday I took the opportunity to upgrade my booking to a full Georgian suite. On arrival the check in staff were efficient & friendly. We were shown to our suite which was absolutely spotless. The furnishings & fittings are of the highest standard & the bathroom is stunning. Having the conveniance of a remote control living flame gas fire at the bottom of the bed added to the air of luxury. The hotel def. has a cool & funky vibe.

We had pre-booked dinner & were treated to complimentary cocktails at the bar before being seated. The food itself was outstanding with service to match. The weather in Edinburgh was wet & windy, so we decided to stay in the hotel bar & meet our friends there. I think it's fair to say that we all had a great night & were well looked after by the bar staff. I would hate to single out any one member of staff for praise as they were all really good, however Hostess Julls is a definite asset to the hotel.

Of all the hotels we have ever stayed at in the UK & abroad Tigerlily more than any other consistently scores highly in every department. They somehow manage to get everything just right. If you ever find yourself in Edinburgh & require accomodation, then look no further than Tigerlily.....you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewartmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed in January for one night for hubby's 40th. Can't fault the hotel at all. From our early arrival (room was ready for us), receptionist was very welcoming and we were shown to our room and told how everything worked - nice touch. We had booked a dinner bed and breakfast package and dinner was lovely. Great option to be able to have breakfast delivered to your room too. We has upgraded and was definitely worth it! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacjac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I have just returned from a one night stay at Tigerlilly and couldn't recommend it more.
It's very well located - a 5-10 min walk from Waverey station and righ next to all of the shops and loads of bars and restaurants and all of the gorgeous architecture in the city,
The building is beautiful - a nice old facade on the outside and a really good combination of some of the original architectural features and modern design inside.
We stayed in the Black Room which is just lovely - one of the few times we have been away for one night and deided just to stay in the room all night to take advantage of it! The bath is really deep and the shower is a lovely monsoon style one.
We had a lovely meal in the restaurant in the evening - really good quality food; and breakfast the next day which again was lovley, in fact my partner said it was the best fried breakfast he has ever had! Another lovely feature is that we were able to get breakfast in our room at no extra cost - nice touch.
Staff were lovely and very helpful. Drinks at the bar were lovely including the cocktails.
Overall we both wished we had booked another night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sc00bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Tigers many times. It's a wonderful place. The rooms are beautifully decorated and are all spacious. The top floor rooms are the best especially the ones at the back of the hotel. The foods amazing, great value, and the restuarant really well designed. There is always a really cosmopolitan atmosphere about this hotel. The staff are so helpful and friendly. This is the kind of place that once you have been then you will keep coming back. It's so different from the big corporate chains. I could stay there for a week and not leave the hotel! Of course it is very central for everything in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank scottishtravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

a gorgeous funky stylish hotel, which was both warm and welcoming but modern and different loads of places to relax eat and drinks and the attention to detail in the bedrooms was what makes this place special - e.g. ipods in the room loaded with hundreds of different songs and the beds - wow !! we ate in the restaurant one night and had lovely food and service. breakfast was great, all freshly made and served till 12 - very civilised. during check out though was a bit disappointed to have t go through the bill in detail as items had been duplicated between our bill and our friends. was a bit of a let down at the end of a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueskies011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Initial booking with Amy and check in was excellent. Fabulous hotel , with great staff , Elegant , stylish,hip , yet cosy, great interior design !! We stayed on a 2 night mini break My husband rarely hears me say wow on entering a hotel room! We had a Luxury double which was really lovely. The attention to detail and the small extras certainly give it a wow factor. The Breakfast choice is excellent and served with style . No queing at a buffet but proper service off a menu - plus you can have breakfast up to 12 noon .....and all day on a Sunday ! Fabulous , at last someone who knows what customers on holiday want! Fruit , /water , ice , a lime (with chopping board and knife) all in the room and part of the turn down service. Food very good , wine very good , staff very good. We dined in the hotel one night and ate out on another. Only gripe was on checking out that had to sort out items that had been charged to both rooms ours and our friends. It was lucky we had checked and had the time to sort it out. The Reception area lets them down a little , would be chaotic with lots of people checking out. However would definetly return whilst in Edinburgh , great location for shopping , found some great little boutiques at the bottom of Princes Street, The Cupboard in William Street is fab and staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel has has a great smoking shack for those who still wish to partake.

Room Tip: Luxury doubles are fab!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOTELINSPECTORABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,119 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £139 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing