We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cool hotel”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at the Tigerlilly for one night while staying in Edinburgh. This hotel is so cool from the bar & restaurant to the room, even the staircase is cool! On arrival we had a drink in the bar then we were taken to our room where we were shown around and shown how the lights etc worked which is a first and very helpful. The room has a preloaded iPod and dock which is great (i stuck my iPhone in it with Spotify) and also GHD straighteners, a professional type hairdryer and a B&O phone.
We stayed in the Luxury double but found it to be similar to a suite as it had 2 really cosy armchairs and the flat screen tv at the base of the bed rotated 360 degrees so you could sit and watch it if you wanted. The furnishings and design of the hotel and room were brilliant! After going out for a meal at nearby Chaophraya (highly recommended) we returned to the hotel for some cocktails where there was a great atmosphere in the bar.
In the morning we went down for breakfast where we were offered a choice of Continental or Full Scottish Breakfast. We opted for the latter which was delicious including Haggis that set us up for the day.
All of the staff were very pleasant & helpful.
All in all an excellent stay and we would definitely go back. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Assistant Reception & Revenue Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Good afternoon,
Thank you very much for kindly reviewing our hotel. I am really happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with all the hotel amenities and extras we have to offer in the bedrooms and the hotel itself.
We are very proud of our restaurant and great cocktail bar and happily pleased that you enjoyed the variety of cocktails our bartenders have to offer. We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,
Emma Guttridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,118 - 1,124 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

spent a week at this hotel. was marvellous. no complaints. staff very attendent and willing to help. moved us to a better room on our request though it was fully packed and festival time. rooms are spacious' bathroom large. breakfast was included and we could order almost anything within reason. very good location in new town and not on the royal mile or any bustling street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Assistant Reception & Revenue Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Hello, Many thanks for your recent review on tripadvisor.
We greatly appreciate your feedback and kind comments and hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards,
Emma Guttridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

One word WOW!!! From the moment you step through the door at tigerlily you feel special. The staff are friendly and attentive, food was great, bar area unbelievable, bedrooms amazing, central location. What more could you ask for? I was extremely impressed and can't wait to return

Room Tip: Think I might try the black room next
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Assistant Reception & Revenue Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Tigerlily. We always endeavor to provide first class service, from our concierge to reception and all of the restaurant and bar team. I am very pleased to hear that everything was so great and that you will be planning another trip to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Emma Guttridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Spent one night here for Valentine's day this year. It was perfect! The room was to die for. Very luxurious! Massive bathroom with fantastic walk in shower, huge bed and lovely decor. The hotel is so close to everything you need in Edinburgh, which also made it ideal for a quick visit. We will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarletB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Assistant Reception & Revenue Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Good afternoon, Many thanks for your lovely comments, your great feedback is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again, maybe even next Valentines!

Kind regards,
Emma Guttridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is one of the most interesting hotels I have ever visited. It has great design and is funky and hip. I am not sure how long it has been open, but the furnishings are starting to feel a "wee bit" tired. We are currently occupying 2 bedrooms and both could use a rug cleaning. While the ground floor area seems to be bustling, the rooms are very quiet so no complaints there. Probably the most annoying thing is the lighting system in the room. While this system has the potential to be a very nice feature, it is a little tricky in figuring it out and we have found that somethings we want to do are just not possible because of this system. I would really like to have a low light on at night in the bathroom since it is in the interior of the building, but while the switch says nightlight, all the lights except the shower light are on full with this setting. There is a nightlight in there, but it seems to be attached to the overhead lights. Not a huge deal, but a little hassle. Of course this could all be user error, but I am not sure. All in all this is a good place to stay. Well located, decently priced comparatively and just enough different from other places to make it interesting.

Room Tip: Room 33 has nice view over city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyDogCiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hi, we visited Tigerlilly in July. We have visited previously and it was fine but this time, although the food was really good the accommodation was really not good. There was a lot of noise from the bar downstairs, the wooden floor creaked when walked on (so bad that if you got up during the night it woke my partner up!) and worse of all was the noise from seagulls outside the hotel!!! Woke us from about 04:00..... We complained but got no where with the receptionist, really not sympathetic at all! We routinely visit Edinburgh but wE certainly won't be hurrying back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Good Afternoon Malcolm,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. Firstly we are pleased you enjoyed your meal at Tigerlily. We welcome large numbers of diners in the hotel and we are pleased we have exceeded your expectations in this area.

With regards to the accommodation, we do set high standards but clearly on this occasion we fell short of our, and your, expectations and that is unacceptable. I investigated the noise complaint and it appears that the bass limiter in the club was not working properly, and this has exacerbated the noise transfer to your room. Nevertheless it must have been hugely irritating. On the subject of the noisy floorboards we have discussed this matter with the maintenance team who will investigate all rooms in the hotel. Thank you for bringing this problem to our attention.

If you would like to discuss any of the points in further detail please do not hesitate to contact me - jodi@tigerlilyedinburgh.co.uk

Thanks again for taking the time to write and we will aim to improve in the areas that let us down.

Many thanks,

Jodi Primrose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean and functional with the exception of the light switches.... they're a joke - I think you need a microscope to bring able to see the buttons as well as a floodlight to see it clearly! You'll know what I mean when you get in the room.
The bar is a happening place and always full of clientele. Not cheap but there aren't that many other choices in this town for a place with music and a good bar! Parking is usually quite easy to find as long as you leave by 8 the next morning.
Good service but there are some nasty receptionists!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onep39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review Tigerlily. I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I am sorry you found the light switches too complicated to operate. We have recently installed lighting guides above the lighting control panel to make the lights more user friendly. I will discuss with the concierge team and ensure they are explaining how to use the lights on check in.

I am the reception manager and I am very dissapointed to hear the team would come accross as nasty. We take customer service extremely seriously and spend a great deal of time on training. As the team on reception are relatively new I would appreciate to hear further details on how we could improve. Could you please email me - jodi@tigerlilyedinburgh.co.uk with further information that would be excellent.

Many thanks,

Jodi Primrose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £122 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing