We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #15 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Placerville, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is a winner from the moment you walk in. Rooms are great, the service exceptional. The drink menu is extensive, food is good, breakfast a real plus. We dealt with a number of staff during our four nights here, and all of them were great. The ones that were exceptional were; Ryan, who was a bartender, or worked as the concierge, and bellman. A great guy with a super sense of humor. He really knows what service is all about, and was a big help, not to mention that he just made the stay there even better. Hannah was our waitress for breakfast every morning, and she just made you feel good about where you were and what you were doing. Emma at the front desk was a "kick', we had fun teasing her and just having some good talks about where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRW1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,167
    339
    117
    39
    22
See reviews for
135
1,024
27
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Booked a romantic getaway, and on the face of it for a moment it looked like I got it right. Fantastic central but quiet location and a beautiful room plus a warm reception. Our room was on the third floor, and for our stay the only lift was out of order!

The room had a shared outer door (hallway) with an adjacent room, and all doors did not close quietly. Our neighbours for the night were in and out of their room until well after 2 am.... So each time they came or went.... Not one..... But two doors slammed shut! Waking us numerous times.

I stay in numerous hotels, and doors just don't need to slam shut in this day and age. Why spend thousands refitting a hotel, and ignore the biggest source of noise.

Stay ruined by the doors.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777boeingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Ann Belfast

Myself and daughter stayed at tigerlily 2 nights....on booking with booking .com I asked for a room with a view and on a lower floor....also a twin room...sadly none of these requests were met at the hotel ... I would suggest that if these things are important (which they were) to contact the hotel personally to make sure they can be met...if not, then it gives one the choice to go ahead with the booking. I booked the room and paid extra when compared to other similar 4 star hotels but did not feel that the extra amount was reflected in our room... the view was totally claustrophobic......of an empty part of the hotel or an empty office building nearby ..not sure which. There was no separate "lounge" area and a lamp and lighting panel didn't work. However, the room was immaculate and our request to make the room a twin was met quickly. The walk in shower room was very roomy and the beds very comfortable. The downstairs bar and restaurant were beautiful and the candles and atmosphere very relaxing. The claim for "certain priced cocktails and wine" wasn't shown on any menu we looked at but we noticed one suddenly appeared on the tables the day we were leaving. Its all the little things combined which make a hotel stay rewarding...if they are lacking it takes away from the experience.
We found all the staff friendly and the service in the bar and restaurant excellent. We loved Edinburgh and hope to visit again

Room Tip: room 15 was claustrophobic with noisy airconditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Tigerlily. I am sorry your requests were not all met. We try our best to give guests the rooms and requests they make but unfortunately this is not always possible if the hotel is very busy. As we are a city centre hotel we only have a handful of rooms with views. I am sorry that your room was not made as a twin when you arrived. I have discussed this matter with the reservations team. We contact all guests prior to arrival to discuss guest preferences. Again I apologise that you were not contacted.

Finally I am pleased you found the staff helpful and friendly. I will pass your feedback to the staff.

If you would ever like to stay in the future please contact me directly and I can ensure you are looked after. Jodi@tigerlilyedinburgh.co.uk

Many thanks,

Jodi Primrose
Reception and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is unique in the best possible way.

The rooms are great with all the little details that make it better than others in this market.

The nightclub downstairs we did not hear at all, this was a great surprise to me, although my daughter made the most of it.

Wonderful service from the staff, nothing was too much trouble, even the door staff remembered us from when we checked in, being recognised as a guest goes a long way with me.

If you are going away for a special occasion then you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse suite if you want the best experience, the lighting was magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Good Afternoon,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Tigerlily. We are glad you found the hotel unique and appreciated the room amenities. We are happy your daughter enjoyed the nightclub Lulu it is a very popular spot. We are also pleased you found the staff helpful and friendly especially our helpful doorman.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks,

Jodi Primrose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was our second visit to Edinburgh, and to be honest we had never ventured onto George Street...but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this fabulous hotel.
We travelled by train and arrived, very refreshed, in Waverley station, and decided to walk to the hotel, which takes about 20 mins.
We were checked in very efficiently and escorted to our room by one of the girls on reception.
She gave us a quick tour of the room (No. 11) and its amenities, and left us to settle in.
This room is situated at the back of the hotel and has a limited view, but that was more than made up for by the standard of the furnishings and the decor, which we considered to be extremely high.
In the evening we had a really nice dinner, after sampling a cocktail, or two, in the very swish cocktail lounge.
One of the biggest assets of this hotel is undoubtedly the staff. Customer service just appears to be so natural to them all.
Due to its location, access to all the amenities is easy. George St. has a great selection of shops and stylish bars.
This is easily one of the best hotels we have stayed at, and will most definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StChristopher_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Good Afternoon,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Tigerlily. We pride ourselves on giving great customer service and it is wonderful to hear we have delivered in this area. We are happy you appreciated the great food and cocktails and enjoyed the furnishings in the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks,

Jodi Primrose
Reception and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We booked a two night break in this central Edinburgh hotel and we couldnt fault it from the minute we arrived to the minute we left.
When we arrived, which was early we dropped our bags and went off to explore the city. When we came back our bags were in our room and the receptionist gave us a full tour and explanation of how our room worked. There are lots of gadgets and extras inthe rooms. We had chosen a luxury room and it was just great. We had a lounge area in our room, the tv which was at the bottom of our bed rotated 360 degrees so you could watch it in bed or on the sofa.
There were a good selection of reading materials in the room.
The bed was lovely and the linens were nice too.
The bathroom was good, a nice deep bath and a good powerful shower above.
The breakfasts were really good. You can order whatever you want and its all included in the price. The porridge was great and not a morsel of salt or water in sight, instead sugar, honey and cream - not very Scottish but delicious none the less.

Cant wait to go back again. We would recommend room 23.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Many thanks Claire for taking the time to review our property.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Every room in the hotel has many facilities and products. We are pleased you appreciated the room and the facilities. We are also pleased you got the chance to sample from our a la carte breakfast menu. We agree the porridge is delicious. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks,

Jodi Primrose
Reception and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Arrived at Rick's Hotel after a hard day of difficult meetings. The very welcoming and professional young lady had been trying to ring me all day as there was a problem with my booking-heart sank very briefly but was immediately cheered up by the phrase 'we have upgraded you to Tigerlily' ! The whole conversation was done so well with a total focus on the very best service and a very genuine sense of the customer really does come first! After a short but welcome taxi ride and a very warm and professional 'handover' I was enjoying the equally professional service at Tigerlily! Huge efforts were made to meet my stated requirements on my original booking and a cool beer in the beautiful lounge area made the short wait very pleasant. To my delight I was upgraded again to a Georgian 'mini-suite'! This room is really beautiful and has a real 'wow' factor! It was such a treat after a difficult day and a pleasure to enjoy the seemingly endless amenities in the room and relax! Mini suite 2 is huge, beautifully decorated and furnished with a very clever lighting system that really adds to the 'ambiance'. The equally huge bathroom had everything I needed and more! The sitting area with a beautiful feature fire and large flat screen tv and very comfortable chairs was great to relax in. The iPod, really good hair dryer, hair straighteners, extensive minibar, fruit, chocolates and little sheepskin rugs each side of the bed are all indications of the total focus on customer satisfaction of Tigerlily. There was even a fresh lime for my gin and tonic. The bed was extremely comfortable and bed linens luxurious. Having only briefly seen Rick's Hotel, my colleague and I decided to walk back there for dinner. Again, the welcome, service and food were impeccable! Back at Tigerlily, the turn down fairy had been! This is so unusual these days but is yet another superb example of attention to detail that adds so much to the 'experience'!
You can have a full breakfast served in your room for no additional cost but I chose to eat in the beautiful dining area. Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice.
Checkout was very smooth and quick and my original booking price honoured-surely an amazing bargain!
Every single member of staff was unfailingly warm, friendly and welcoming and professional and went above and beyond to make sure that the ''Tigerlily' experience was as good as it possibly could be. There is a unique feeling about this beautiful hotel with everything and everyone working together to make sure that as a guest you have the very best experience. I loved my short stay at Tigerlily and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbarasurrey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Tigerlily. I will pass on the great feedback to our staff. We pride ourselves on giving good customer service so it is always nice to hear that guests find our staff welcoming and friendly. We are pleased you enjoyed the room facilities and turn down service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks,

Jodi Primrose
Reception and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,124 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing