We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay in central Edinburgh”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #17 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay in central Edinburgh”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in a mini suite via a Secret Escapes deal. Check in was quick and we were shown to our room. Orientation to the room was minimal - it would have helped to have been shown the lights as we didn't figure out how to have the bathroom lights on without the rest of the room. We had contacted them prior to arrival and despite being assured our suite would be on the top floor as I was concerned about the noise we were put in a room on the second - if you can't offer something don't say to guests you can.

The room was large, with comfortable sofas and a table area. It was all very clean but perhaps a bit worn (the rug and the sofa upholstery specifically). The bed was large, but my pet hate of 2 beds pushed together without even a matress topper. The bathroom had a wonderful shower and the white stiff toiletries were nice.

The air conditioning was effective, if noisy and we weren't troubled with noise from the bar or club.

We arranged to have breakfast in our room, this was over half an hour late. Someone did come to apologise and said the kitchen was "extremely busy" and it was just coming. 20 mins later it arrived, cold toast for me and cold French toast and bacon for my husband. Not overly impressed.

The best bit about Tigerlily is its location, very central. The rooms are nice but lacks any sort of "wow" factor as a bit tired looking. Service not great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    331
    117
    38
    21
See reviews for
123
988
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was very good lovely meal with good service. Very nice choice and great steaks , a lot going on so good atmosphere , great place for pre and post drinks .will be back again with friends

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upperdysart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Tigerlily. Room was extremely spacious and the added touch of iPod dock and ghd hair straighteners was just fantastic. Lovely bar area down stairs whether having a coffee in the day or drinks in the evening. Staff were friendly and check-in/out procedures quick. We would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a delight to stay in. Rooms we'll proportioned, comfy bed, great shower. Ideal location in city centre.
Normally the bar runs an after work cocktail menu but on this occasion it was not available due to "changing the menu". As sad as it seems this was one of the main reasons we chose this venue - to enjoy the cheaper than normal cocktails. I had previously checked the website to make sure it was running and nothing was mentioned about it being unavailable for the time we stayed.
Parking is also a nightmare but to be fair it is the same for many city centre hotels.
Overall we had an enjoyable stay but we're left a little disappointed with full services joy being offered

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infinity23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed three nights at tigerlily in one of their suites. The room was very well laid out , excellent large bed and good bath and shower with lots of hot water. Some nice touches , such as fresh fruit every day , a turn down service including chocolates and an ice bucket topped up.
We were on the second floor and once the door was closed we didn't hear any of the noise that was coming from the bar/club on Friday or Saturday night. As mentioned by others the lighting is a disaster and means you have to walk around in the dark if you wake up in the night. Breakfast is very good , there is a huge choice but it's all served at your table , the full scottish including haggis was great , as well as the smoked haddock omlet , watch out for the orange juice , it's very tasty but they put far too much ice in the glass. You can if you want have breakfast served in your room for no extra cost , and it's served until midday.

We didn't drink in the bar or have a dinner there , but the bar area seems very popular with the young well to do generation.

The staff are mixed ,some are very friendly , others appear to ignore you , so you never know what to expect.

Very well located , everything including restuarants and bars within two minutes walk.

Room Tip: I would suggest you ask for rooms on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovingranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

What a great place!!! They have world-class mixologists, wonderful staff (Thanks to Ryan, thanks to Hannah, et al!). We were made to feel welcome from the moment we alighted from our taxi and throughout our stay.

The rooms are well appointed and have all the modern amenities you'd expect from a 5-star hotel.

There are 2 clubs at the hotel. . .the one surrounding the reception desk (which seems to go on and on in the most wonderful decor!) and one downstairs (just to the left of the main entrance) which appears to be party central <grin>.

The staff is knowledgeable and helpful in directing you towards where/what/when. . .

ALSO, the hotel is at one end of George St. which is 1 of 2 distinct shopping avenues in Edinburgh. . .the other being Prince's St. . .you run a zig-zag pattern and you've hit all the highlights. . .then Waverly Station is at the end of Prince's St, just across the North Bridge. . .

We will stay there again if we find ourselves in that neck of the woods!

Room Tip: Roadside rooms give a better view but they're all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryCooperWyble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at tigerlily for one night, last night in fact, and on arrival I must say we were wowed. The reception staff were excellent, the room(apart from the light switch nearest the door not working properly[and yes, they are a bit complicated] and the remote control for the fireplace being a non starter) was lovely( the bed is MASSIVE[we're in a "mini suite"] and the shower is awesome) and all the little touches(like the turndown service) we're setting things up for the perfect hotel stay. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, but we did come back for cocktails(which were all lovely, and fairly well priced[i highly recommend the bikini atoll daiquiri] although the service was, in my opinion(and I was in the trade for a LONG time), poor at best. That poor service, unfortunately, was to set the pace for breakfast(which was very tasty[i had the grilled breakfast, my wife had the smoked haddock omelette] and well portioned), a breakfast I was unable to finish due to my requests for a glass of orange juice being ignored for so long the food had gone cold, at which point I left in disgust. Perhaps had the staff not been so busy kissing up to some old couple who were obviously regulars(or possibly linked to the hotel in some way) they might have found time to service the other patrons.

There are many things I will forgive in a venue, but bad service is not one of them. It not only left me hungry, it changed this review from 4 stars to 2, and it also means I will never be back.

But don't let it put you off :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,805 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing