We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed for one night on a bed & breakfast basis, the staff were very friendly & nothing was too much trouble, the room was first class & we had the breakfast in our room which was fantastic.
we will certainly stay here on our next trip to Edinburgh !!!!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beethoven1CumbriaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    319
    108
    38
    21
See reviews for
107
935
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I had booked a room for one nights stay as an anniversary present for my girlfriend, we came from newcastle and the minute we arrived the whole stay was absolutely amazing! The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and very attentive. The room we stayed in was the Black Room, and both myself and my girlfriend agreed that the photos do not do this room justice at all, both the room and bathroom are very spacious! I booked the love package as an extra treat and it was definitely worth it to see the look on my girlfriends face! We only had two cocktails in the bar but again really friendly staff and the drinks and atmosphere was brilliant! We didn't dine in the restaurant but sampled some fries to the room for room service and had breakfast in bed the next day, both perfect! From start to finish the stay was perfect, we will definitely return and if I remembered the names of staff I would name them but they all deserve recognition!! Perfect!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the tigerlily for two nights and it was a lovely hotel. The food and service were brilliant as we're the gorgeous cocktails we enjoyed in the bar. The only downside was that the hotel does not provide any parking so you either have to pay for street park or park overnight in a car park down the road and it can be pretty pricey! Apart from this we had a wonderful stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Macker010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

basically once you step in through the door you can stay in the whole day: restaurant, bar, hotel - it has everything you need, in a very stylish decor.
The room we had was gorgeous, a lot of attention to details was brought, amenities included little things you appreciate when travelling; white company toiletries, hair dryer and straightener, slippers...
The bed was very plush and comfortable, the ipod dock and tv are a great atmosphere plus.
Overall, great for a romantic couple stay. They even have turnaround service.
The only negative note was the wifi which was very slow during rush hour.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

After this hotel being recommended many a time by my work colleagues, I finally booked Tigerlily through itison. My boyfriend and I stayed for one night on the 8th of November. Upon arrival we were informed that we had a complimentary upgrade to a luxury room which we were obviously delighted with, especially with it being our first time staying at the hotel.

The service at the reception was brilliant from the start to the end of our stay, everyone is so helpful and friendly. As soon as you walk in, you can't stop looking all around you, the decor is so unique and is absolutely beautiful.

We got shown to our room and the luggage also got taken up for us. The room that we stayed in was absolutely lovely: huge bed, small dining table, 2 sofas with a coffee table, nice big TV, dvd player, iPod dock with ipod, a mini bar with an AMAZING selection, wardrobe, ironing board with iron, GHD hair straighteners and a hairdryer, a huge bathroom with a massive walk-in shower. We literally couldn't fault anything with this room.

For dinner, we had a three-course meal each and again everything was absolutely amazing. The food was delicious and arrived to our table quickly, the service was brilliant and the cocktails were great - the selection of cocktails was huge.

The only problem with this hotel (and it isn't even a big one) is that it doesn't have a car park. Outside there is spaces for parking and you have to pay at the meter per hour but from 6.30pm at night through to 8.30am, the parking is free. Make sure in the morning that you are out sharp to pay again as the traffic wardens always seem to be roaming around trying to catch people out.

The location of this hotel is ideal for a weekend away shopping and the local tourist attractions aren't far away either.

Overall, this has got to be one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in, it is literally faultless. I highly recommend a stay at this hotel - we wish we could have stayed longer!

Tigerlily do great deals on certain rooms all year round including meals, breakfast, cocktails etc. Keep your eyes peeled and you can get a great deal!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed 29th October to 1st November on the DBB offer to celebrate my daughters birthday. It was chosen as a treat and we were not disappointed. Initially I booked dinner for the first night only anticipating exploring other restaurants in Edinburgh. However, an email suggested we booked a table each evening and cancelled if we wanted to. We were so pleased we did as the weather deteriorated late afternoon every day and venturing out would have been horrible. There was plenty of choice on the menu and the food was delicious - we mixed and matched the different menus to suit with no objections at all. The complimentary cocktail was interesting but enjoyable. On the second evening the barman suggested a change which we tried but went back to the original on the third evening. Excellent breakfasts were served in the bar/restaurant with effective lighting adjustments?
The room was spacious with great decor. Loved the little turn down touch of sheepskin rugs on the wood floor. I share the minor criticism of the lighting system and add one other, also minor, - lack of drawers.
Staff were all fantastic - friendly, attentive and helpful without being intrusive. It felt that nothing was too much trouble. A waiter at breakfast noticing we were looking at a map of Edinburgh volunteered helpful and enthusiastic suggestions.
We heard no noise from the night club at all, in fact we had to ask where it was as we were intrigued.
We thoroughly enjoyed our special stay and I have no hesitation in recommending the Tigerlilly. The strong point, apart from the wonderful decor, is most definitely the staff - full marks to selectors and trainers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed one night in tigerlilly on bonfire night , I had read reviews about the club so i emailed first thing before arrival and got a reply pretty much instantly to say i had been allocated a room on the top floor , The rooms are stunning ! beautiful furniture and bedding , Huge bathroom and lots of little extras . The staff where all pleasant and i had one of the best mojitos ever in the bar . The location is excellent with many bars and restaurants , Within 5 mins from princes st and a short walk to the mainline station . Great for a little luxury break , Highly recommended .

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are the better to avoid the noise and are more superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing