We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely brilliant”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #19 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed a week ago at the hotel with three friends, taking advantage of the special offer. From the moment we entered the hotel we felt extremely welcome, very friendly efficient reception even though they were extremely busy which continued for our stay with no sense of 'second class' service because we weren't paying full price which I've experienced in other hotels. Rooms and facilities were outstanding with the only interruption being to ask if we would like ice for our wine bucket! Dinner and breakfast both excellent with attentive and efficient service from our waiter, Mark, on both occasions. Don't usually write reviews but just had to give credit to Tiger Lily on this occasion.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the layout of the hotel but cannot imagine there is a 'bad' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    325
    110
    38
    21
See reviews for
116
960
24
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed last night at Tigerlily quick review . Hotel was fantastic service great, loved our room very comfortable and stylish ..Only one complaint we stayed in room 27 and at 0200 am we were both woken up by dragging noises and loud talking outside in the corridor. After about 15 mins of this got up opened door to find it had been staff members dragging furniture up and down the corridors..strange . anyway I let my displeasure be known..and all was peaceful again.
But apart from that fantastic hotel.

Billy

Room Tip: Ask staff not to move stuff about in the early hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyboy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

TIGERLILY GEORGIAN SUITE is definitely the place to stay
the hotel staff was very warm and welcoming ,the food was outstanding and the room is just priceless
on the downside the music player was on the poor side and did not match the rest of the luxurious rooms surroundings
On our return we will definitely be staying in the hotel as the location and everything it has to offer ticks all our boxes,and the fire at the bottom of the bed looks amazing and very cosy
thanks again for a great stay

Room Tip: georgian suite first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plymouthcouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have stayed here when visiting Edinburgh for business and I really enjoy it. Its location is bang in the centre of all the action and the bar and restaurant are popular so its a place to go for many without knowing it a hotel. The style of the rooms are bang on my taste and are large and well thought out.

I would 100% recommend this hotel for couples, friends or for business. I will continue to keep coming back.

Room Tip: I like room 33 but please dont ask for it as I may want it :0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btuckwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had always wanted to stay here and having returned we are pleased we did! We booked a b&b plus dinner option with their Georgian suite. It was incredible
Firstly the service was very good, better than I had expected. Our luggage was stored until check in(which is a bit late in the day) and the receptionist was very pleasant.
On returning to check in our luggage was already in the room!
The room was stunning. There was a super king bed and a real flame fire - perfect for a winters day!
The dinner was exceptional - one of the best we have had. Again even if you don't stay we would recommend a visit to their restaurant.
Breakfast was also tasty - limited options but nice and free to have in the room.
The overall feel of the hotel is plush, cosy and quality - it was perfect.
Location wise - 10 mins walk to station and a good position on George street which has lots of shops and links to the main Princes street as well.
Great stay! Thank you TigerLilly!

Room Tip: Go for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We decided to have a short break in Edinburgh at the last minute in mid November 2013, the Tigerlily hotel on George Street came up on a random search from the net, and I am so pleased it did.

If you like great rooms, with amazingly comfy beds, splendid food, friendly staff with attention to detail everywhere this is the place to stop whilst staying in Edinburgh.

We stayed here for two nights and ate at the hotel for dinner, bed and breakfast and the food is just perfect. Breakfast is served up until 12 midday and with some rooms dinner is included in the price. The hotel has only 33 rooms so I guess that it will quickly get booked up. We wanted to stay and extra night but they were fully booked, so book early if you plan to stay here.

If you would like to try a range of whiskeys whilst you are in Edinburgh, their bar offers a huge amount of them to try and their staff are very knowledgable about what they have on offer.

The staff are attentive and will look after your every need and so very helpful.

This hotel really made our stay in Edinburgh more special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed for one night on a bed & breakfast basis, the staff were very friendly & nothing was too much trouble, the room was first class & we had the breakfast in our room which was fantastic.
we will certainly stay here on our next trip to Edinburgh !!!!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beethoven1CumbriaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#68 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing