We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The height of Poshdom in Edinburgh's New Town”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #17 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavík
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The height of Poshdom in Edinburgh's New Town”
Reviewed 6 August 2008

The Tigerlily is a shining example of how posh Edinburgh's New Town can get. Quaint, rustic, charming it is not. Nestled above one of the chicest bars of George Street, this handful of rooms is an exercise in how a boutique hotel ought to be done.

The rooms are a veritable who's who in design, but provide a level of comfort some design hotels sacrifice for brand names. The staff is kind if a touch haughty, which is rare in Scotland. Breakfast is unbeatable.

But the best part is clearly location, location, location. Smack dab in the middle of the scene on George Street is great for young hipsters who want to dabble in Edinburgh's wild nightlife. From a renaissance in burlesque shows to outlandish cocktail bars, it was nice to be only a few steps away from utter comfort in the midst of all this fun.

Naturally, Tigerlily's price tag reflects this convenience, but at least you get what you pay for.

  • Liked — The bar downstairs
  • Disliked — No gym access
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Geimfari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    331
    116
    38
    21
See reviews for
122
986
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at Tigerlily for a long weekend recently. I am not one for writing reviews but have to say that it was a great experience and would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

I was a little apprehensive, as I had read reviews of hen do's and how pink the hotel is but the decor is very contemporary and tasteful. It's obvious that someone has given a considerable amount of thought to the place and the staff are both friendly and professional.

George Street is a good location, the rooms have excellent facilities and a very calming decor, the staff are attentive and helpful and breakfast was welcome start to the day.

If you are looking for a boutique hotel in Edinburgh, I'd suggest you look into Tigerlily.

  • Liked — Decor, room facilities, location, staff.
  • Disliked — Sometimes slow to answer the phone on the front desk.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TK_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,028 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Tigerlily is a boutique hotel on the main street. Parking is expensive. Despite being informed that we would have reduced parking rates we were charged full price (ten minute walk to car park) Longer to drive due to major roadworks. The hotel itself is very trendy/contemporary. The bar/reception has very young feel and is very buzzy!! Popular drinking place for locals and office workers alike. Not for people looking for a quiet relaxing experience. However, the room was very nice lots of gadgets, dimmer switches, Ipod station with pre down loaded tunes. GHD straighteners etc. Lovely views over the firth of Forth and red uplights in the windows. No noise at all from anywhere despite the bar and restaurant being full and a nightclub under the hotel. Service was impeccable from reception to cleaning. Breakfast was excellent. Dinner disappointing. Overall worth a visit .

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — No Parking
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

Booked a Georgian Mini-Suite on the third floor. Lovely room. Great service. Bar and restaurant very busy, but attentive staff meant no waiting to be served. Excellent location.

  • Liked — Room; Attentive service
  • Disliked — Courtyard view from room overlooking offices. Ask for a front-facing room to avoid if possible.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinnacleDiner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2008

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Tigerlily and all I can say is that it was amazing. As soon as you step in, until you leave, you really get the feeling someone has put a whole lot of thought into this place.

There was a list of things (stained seats, broken door lock, broken ipod speakers, broken toilet flush) that would have driven me mad but in this place you forgive and forget because the rest is so fantastic.

The interiors architecture is very stylish but also tasteful. For probably the most stylish hotel in Edinburgh you still do not feel inimidated or any pretentiousness.

The best thing, however, is the staff. They were all so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Already thinking of getting back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pellinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

My fiance and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Tigerlily and are already wishing we could go back. Having read some of the reviews on here (after we'd booked) we were slightly worried that it may be pretentious and the epitome of style-over-substance however we needn't have worried.

We read some reviews saying that the nightclub and bins made for noisy rooms and that some didn't have baths so we emailed in advance asking for 'a quiet room with a bath' and that's exactly what we got (Room 11 which was over the restaurant and with a great bath & shower). The room itself was also lovely with its little sofa area and extras such as ipod, GHDs, Edinburgh eating guides and yummy White Company toiletries. Also due to an early flight into Edinburgh we arrived at 9 but they were more than happy to look after our bags until check-in.

Hotel amenities were fab -breakfast was big and scrummy, cocktails were great and the meal we had was divine and being on George St was so central to everything. The whole hotel-despite it's trendy style- had a very relaxed feel and it was very easy to come and go as you pleased. We were not at all surprised that a magazine was doing a photoshoot there when we left.

In fact our days were perfect and the only negative experience was a bad curry with extremely rude service at a place called Khushis on Victoria Street (avoid!!!) however we will be back to Edinburgh soon and we know exactly where we'll be staying!!

  • Liked — Room, Food, Service
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank laberthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

This was a suprise trip for me, my boyfriend had planned everything and the hotel was the best thing about it, I couldn't of chosen better if I had done it myself!

I obviously didn't look at any reviews before I went but just looking at some of the headings of previous reviews I'm not sure they went to the same hotel.

The food was absolutely gorgeous, we had an evening meal and breakfast, the service was really quick and the food and drinks were really nice. The waiters waitresses were really friendly even recommending drinks for us.

The room was absolutley fab, everything you could of needed for your stay was provided, someone even came to our room offering us ice which i've never experienced before, but was great as we did need some to chill our champagne!

I don't know what to add that will help anyone looking at this hotel, but I will say that I have never been so relaxed in a hotel room in all my life and thats what a weekend away should be about.

  • Liked — The room!
  • Disliked — Leaving it
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swirlywirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,800 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
962 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing