We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid thirties and under!”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Very much a hotel for mid thirties and under. Pleasant rooms but spoilt by form over function, ie where a light switch would do (and be welcome) you have to decipher a control panel to turn the lights on and off, the first night we gave up and slept with them on. Very noisy bar, unfortunately no real division between guests and public, excellent food though and pleasant helpful staff. If you like noisy busy bars first and accommodation second then you may like it. Regrettably we were woken early Sunday by the last evenings bottles being thrown into a skip at back, very annoying. We found it expensive and the bill was wrong by 20%!

Room Tip: Choose a room on 2nd floor or above due to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tfemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,824 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

We are in absolutely no hurry to return, or recommend this hotel. First of all our room was not ready - past the allotted check in time. The main thing though is the sleep quality - we were on the 1st floor and the music from the bar downstairs certainly travelled. Once that quietened down, in the early hours of the morning, we were unfortunate enough to be woken by a screeching fire alarm. Based on sleep quality, I would rate this hotel zero stars. The room/ ensuite was nice though - contemporary decor and was very clean.

We ate at the restaurant and food was good. What we didn't like was that it was open plan to the bar area - split by the bar and so it was - again, very noisy. Service in the bar was hit and miss.

In summary, we won't be back. Location is great, but lack of sleep makes it not worth it.

Room Tip: Avoid the 1st floor - I can't say that the other floors would be better, but this floor was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple, rooms nice enough at a glance and a few nice touches (decent hairdryer, GHDs, iPods, gowns). However a few issues that spoiled it for us.
1. The room was freezing, turned temp up to 28 and nothing changed. Had to sleep under duvet with dressing gown and still only just warmed up. In fact the time spent in room was all under duvet due to cold.
2. Noisy fan from heating system.
3. Lack of bath in a bathroom that could more than accommodate one, shower also cold as open plan and room cold so shivered all the way through with water as hot as I could get it.
4. Ordered breakfast to room for 0930-1000, it didn't show up until 1025 and check out was 11 so has to throw it down and get packed up after spending and hour waiting.
5. Despite being on 2nd floor noise from basement night club and bar quite disruptive until 3am then outdoor noise at back started at 7am and travelled up.
5. Lack of any room/hotel guide in the room. No chance of room service if wanted it or any instructions on unnecessarily complicated lights and lack of heat. Wouldn't have wanted a toilet trip in the dark as no chance of finding the light for 5 mins and would end up light whole room in the process of working it out.

Al in all not really worth the £250!! Will try Le Monde next time We fancy a night in Edinburgh.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Notfussyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights midweek and found the staff every pleasant and welcoming. When we arrived we were upgraded to the Black Room which really was just a glorified attic room but with all mod cons and a massive comfortable bed. The first night I was woken by the wind rattling the windows and you could definitely tell you were in the attic! Hubby checked the windows next morning and found that the outside windows hadn't been closed properly and that was making the second, plastic set bang. Had a better sleep the next night!!
We had dinner in the hotel the first night which was really nice but unfortunately the breakfast the next morning was barely warm.
The bar seems to be popular with locals and was busy both nights we stayed but the guys in the bar remembered what we were drinking and were very pleasant and made us feel as if we'd been going there for years. Prices a bit high, but only what you'd expect in Edinburgh.
I would stay here again as the overall experience was very good and the hotel is in a great area with plenty of bars nearby and in walking distance to Princes Street.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wasp25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Strolled into tigerlily around 6pm on a Monday and was very pleasantly surprised with the entire experience. Food was brilliant, i ate from the lunch menu and it was excellent. Parfait to start and chicken dish to follow, could not complain. The best part about the experience however was the service, our waitress, Laura, was brilliant, friendly, chatty and helpful with recommendations. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Welcoming reception from the ladies at check in started what was to be a great evening at the Tigerlily in Edinburgh
Arriving too early, our luggage was stored whilst room changes were effected, and a couple of hours spent in a welcoming sofa whilst reading the paper ensued! Lounge areas all very comfortable, with free and effective Wifi, and speedy staff attending your needs- just fab!
Rooms very well appointed, with great bathrooms and sumptuous beds.
Dining experience in evening was up to the mark, and menu was very good with tastes to suit all palates. Service throughout was excellent, and breakfast lived up to the same standard as dinner.
Checkout quick and easy, and we shall look forward to our next visit.
Only caveat being that we had a deal offering good value. Not sure if full price as published would have received such a high value rating however, but this is a five star experience which retains an atmosphere you can't easily get in the big hotels. Well worth a visit!!

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed. Great bathrooms too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandySwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Tigerlily has beautiful rooms, very attentive staff, delicious food and a great atmosphere, especially in the bar on a friday night. Third visit and I have never been disappointed, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varvarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,898 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,095 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
691 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £113 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing