We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 40th”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #17 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous 40th”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Mt girlfriend and I stayed here for a 40th birthday celebration. Situated in the heart of Edinburgh easy access to everything you might need but also demonstrating a level of intimacy that makes you feel pleasantly remote. This hotel lived up to and surpassed our high expectations. From the delightful check in and birthday treats this was a stay which is impossible to fault. The room was fabulous, clean,tidy, well maintained quiet and comfortable. We dined at the restaurant and the food was fantastic, bar staff and waitress's attention to detail was immaculate.

Impossible to fault and very hard to beat, we shall definitely return!!!

Room Tip: 23 is an excellent room, I didn't see any of the others but I expect that there is not a bad roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanMS1444NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Tigerlily.

Tigerlily located in the city centre and is in a great location for seeing Edinburgh. We are pleased you liked your room at Tigerlily. All of our rooms are very comfortable and our housekeeping team have extremely high standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks,

Jodi Primrose
Reception and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    331
    116
    38
    21
See reviews for
122
986
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and if were gifted an overnight stay here. The rooms are stunning, very comfortable and has everything you need. We loved it. My only criticism is that's it's quite expensive but based on it's location that's to be expected in Edinburgh.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mum2LeoAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Tigerlily. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent gift to stay at Tigerlily.

Tigerlily is an award winning boutique hotel and is centrally loacted. We do offer many different hotel packages and offers throughout the year at discounted prices. Please sign up to our mailing list on our website and you will be able to receive new offers.

We hope you will return to Tigerlily in the future.

Many thanks,

Jodi Primrose
Reception and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Truly gorg place !!ghds and robes and slippers are standard in your room along with the white company toiletries-got a voucher via itson for the overnight stay including dinner and breakie truly amazing !!! Love to go back and visit LULU'S nightclub of tiger lily just loved it one thing is the price of parking on George street arrived sun afternoon but had to wake up early to pop money in the pay meter £3 a hour is a disgrace a grace no fault on the hotel but no hotel parking is a pain

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara_c338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Tigerlily.

IWe are very pleased you appreciated the room amenities. Each room in Tigerlily is well equipped with GHDs, slippers, white company toiletries and an ipod.

With regards to the car parking, we are very centrally located so parking can be difficult. We recommend Castle Terrace NCP which is around £24 for 24 hours. Alternatively you can pay for the first 3 hours of parking the night before to ensure you do not have to get up too early. I am sorry you didn't know when you stayed. We hope this didn't spoil your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks,

Jodi Primrose
Reception and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Better late than never, my boyfriend and I stayed here for an overnight on the 19th February. It was a christmas present from my parents for DBB for one night using an itison voucher. Having planned to go into Edinburgh to do some shopping we arrived early to drop off our bags, and luckily for us our room was ready a good few hours before check in time. We were greeted well by all members of staff and were able to check in early. We were shown about the room and how to use the lighting and heating features, which are a lot easier than some reviews make them out to be. We decided to upgrade our room to a luxury double which was well worth the upgrade, the room was huge with more than what was needed for one night. Large double bed, large wardrobe, chest of drawers etc. They even had a DVD player in the room and fully loaded iPod with a variety of songs to play through the docking station.There was a large walk in shower and all robes and towels were provided for you, although I felt these were a little thin and tired they were ideal for one night. There was a mini fridge with various items that had a separate price list, although all the tea and coffee items, bottled water and fruit were complimentary. There was a good hairdryer in the room, there was GHD hair straighteners provided but these were the thin ones for short hair, I take my own everywhere anyway so just incase you have longish thick hair like me they may not be suitable for everyone.

In the evening we had made reservations in the hotel restaurant and received a beautiful 2 course meal, both my boyfriend and I opting for a main and dessert. Both of us had steak which was beautifully cooked and a massive portion. For dessert I had a tart tatin and my boyfriend the chocolate fondant, both were delicious. We then finished our evening in the hotel bar, having amazing cocktails made in front of us. The restaurant was busy although you still had privacy and the bar area was very cosy with couches and a fire.

In the morning we could either have breakfast in bed or go down to the restaurant, we wanted to go down to the restaurant as there was no specific time displayed that breakfast in bed would be brought to the room and didn't want it to arrive too early. Breakfast was cooked to order, as we are a bit picky there was some items neither of us wanted and we noticed that other items were doubled up to make up for this which was a nice touch.

Overall a fantastic and luxurious overnight in the capital city! Will definitely be returning in future. All staff we encountered were professional and very friendly, happy to help for anything. This hotel could easily be classed as a 5 star hotel!

Room Tip: Best cocktails on George Street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleymcg91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing feedback, we always welcome comments no matter how long ago your stay was. We have had such a great response from our itison offer, they do make great gifts. I will pass on your compliments to the kitchen and bar staff.
We often offer our own special dinner, bed & breakfast packages such as the itison one so keep an eye open for these in the future.
We look forward to having you visit us again.

Kind regards
Zoe Sinclair
Assistant Reception & Revenue Manager
Tigerlily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed over to go and watch the rugby, this is an excellent hotel, the room was amazing, the bar staff were excellent considering how busy it was, being able to have breakfast in your room is another treat, and was superb. We will return.

Room Tip: We had a luxury double on the third floor, room 33, amazing views over the forth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive comments. We are delighted that you had a great experience at Tigerlily and welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Zoe Sinclair
Assistant Reception & Revenue Manager
Tigerlily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I love heading down to Edinburgh and staying at Tigerlily's. The rooms are fabulously decorated and trendy plus they come with a hairdryer and hair straighteners which for any girl with hair that needs it - this is a major bonus (one less thing to carry in your bag which leave more room for one more pair of shoes!). The bar is cool and hip and the food, when I have eaten there, has always been decent. The atmosphere is fab and I love people watching in this place especially with a glass of fizz in my hand. The staff are always so helpful and friendly! Yes there can be an issue with parking but then it is the centre of Edinburgh and this is not a problem attributable to Tigerlily's - and Castle Terrace Car Park is not too far away. In any event, you are in the centre and can walk just about anywhere!

On this trip we got a free upgrade for which we were most thankful especially since it was a rugby weekend and therefore prices tend to be on the steep side! The room made the cost 'slightly' more bearable.

The room we had was known internally as the 'party room' due to the fact that there are no other rooms backing onto it! This is great as you think you don't have to worry about noise although we were wrong. The room was great - really big and comfortable with lovely sofas and bathroom but the downside is that it is a noisy room. It must be above the bar area and you could hear the noise in the early hours. Thankfully we were out late our selves and this did not bother us. Although, we were given extra guidance (more like tuition) on the electrical panel that operates the lights, etc we were still none the wiser when we came to using it! This is a relatively small issue but it still bugs when you are pressing heaps of buttons in the hope you can turn on the bathroom light!

As for the breakfast, the choice is lovely and they are always willing to help you if you fancy mixing things up a little. Another little gripe of mine is the orange juice on offer in the morning. Now I love a glass or two of fresh orange juice in the morning but I can't even bring myself to drink their orange juice. It tastes like diluting juice or really watered down fresh orange juice. Either way it would be really nice if they got in some proper orange juice.

Having said all of the above would it deter me from staying here again - NO. I will be back and look forward to it. We always look to try and get a larger room with a bit more space and one a little higher up to dampen the noise.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzaferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do apologise for the noise level. Rooms on the first floor will unavoidably be noisier ,especially on Rugby Weekend. We do strive to allocate our guests higher floor rooms, unfortunately on busy weekends this isn't always possible.
I have passed on your feedback regarding the orange juice to our restaurant management.
We are happy that the 'niggles' will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Kind regards
Zoe Sinclair
Assistant Reception & Revenue Manager
Tigerlily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a nights stay at Tigerlily on George Street,Edinburgh. On arrival we found the lobby bar to be buzzing and it wasn't clear just where to find the hotel reception. A quick word with one of the attentive waitresses later,and we were at the reception desk of this thirty something roomed city centre boutique hotel. The staff proved to be very helpful,warm and professional. This was the case from reception through to dinner to breakfast in bed the next day. The rooms were were far enough from the lively bar and basement club to be suitably quiet and the triple glazing kept the outside noise to a tranquil silence. The room was fantastic-a great mix of solid wood floors, giant bed and designer shower big enough for a netball team! The food at restaurant was excellent...fresh..good selection and nice setting, tucked away from the large bar area where a fine selection of tunes were mashed badly together by a dj that couldnt beat mix. Odd in such a popular bar.

The hotel looks the part.. chic,well equipped and centrally located,and the level of service matched the high class look.

I would definitely recommend and look forward to staying here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nmack75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Tigelily.

We are pleased you enjoyed you recent stay with us. We are a very popular establishment and the bar can be very atmospheric particuarly at weekends. It is always great to hear that our staff are delivering good customer service. I will pass your feedback onto the team.

The food in the restaurant has a great selection of food and has a lovely ambience. Thank you for your comments regarding the DJ. We usually have great feedback from our regular DJ but I will definitely look into further. I am glad you liked the selection of tunes.

Many thanks,

Jodi Primrose
Reception and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,800 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing