We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for three nights and mostly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast is extremely good, great choice and amazing porridge! Dinner not so good and slow service.Superior rooms are spacious and comfortable. Bar area very noisy, loud music playing until 1 am, so not for you if you don't like this. I think it's more suited to the young, hip crowd!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kitty905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    316
    107
    38
    20
See reviews for
103
921
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went here last night 27/5 for dinner with my daughter and her friend
The service was amazing and the food gorgeous
We had the 2 course set menu for £15 which was great value
Will deffo be going back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladymaule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

It actually angers me slightly when I read even slightly negative reviews on this gorgeous hotel. I stayed here on the 26th with my boyfriend for our anniversary! It was absolutely gorgeous. The staff were unbelievably polite and friendly from the second I emailed them to reserve our room to the moment we checked out.

The rooms are absolutely beautiful and huge with and amazingly comfortable bed that could fit at least 4 people in it. The bathroom is beautiful, with wonderful lighting throughout the whole suite.

The food was by far the BEST meal I have ever had in my life and I rated it far above the meals I had in London. I had the hot salmon and chive croquettes, pork belly main and chocolate fondant dessert and was utterly blown away by the quality and quantity!

A review below states the staff are not attentive. Now everyone is entitled to their opinion but we were repeatedly checked on and updated and when I requested a late check out the gentleman was lovely and did everything he could with no extra charge. Even the maintenance men were extremely friendly in the morning on the way to breakfast!!

Overall, the best trip and hotel I have stayed in. Beautiful on SO many levels, perfect for a couples getaway. Will definitely be visiting again! Thank you to EVERYONE at Tigerlily! You made our anniversary perfect! :D

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cairon92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

On the 14th of April I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. The check in was a little messy, but the staff was very friendly. The elevator and corridors are very basic and the rooms are of a high standard. The ground floor area with the bars and restaurants were great in atmosphere. The service was slow and staff were not very attentive. The quality of the offered food was mediocre. Overall a pleasant atmosphere, good quality room but lack of quality in service and food during diner and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and I have to say what a fantastic hotel!

We have stayed in some top class hotels in the world but we both agreed the staff and general standard of the hotel, rooms, bar and nightclub are of the highest quality!!

We would recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again.

My wife left her jacket and we received an email letting us know and they would mail it to us. Very honest and very impressed!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reid7reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked one night here as it had been recommended by a friend, we certainly were not disappointed! We've visited Edinburgh many times and this is our favourite hotel by far. From the moment we checked in we were made to feel very welcomed and special. Our room was lovely and very comfortable, everything we wanted was there.
The lively cocktail bar was superb as was breakfast the next morning. All the staff were so friendly and very accommodating, we're looking forward to our next visit. Well worth a stay !!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flossy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked this hotel through hotels.com on a very competitive price and what a great boutique hotel ideally located for seeing both old and new parts of town. After 10 minute walk from Waverley train station we arrived to be greeted with a warm & smiling welcome on booking in and as we had arrived early left our cases whilst we took off to stroll and reacquaint ourselves with Edinburgh , on our return we were shown to our well appointed room where we were shown the control panel for lighting / temp/ air conditioning and the iPod etc . Everything about this hotel made our stay special from the little touches like iPod , ghd hair straighteners along with fresh fruit , bottles of water to fresh milk for tea / coffee in our room to the fantastic staff all of whom from checking desk, concierge , bar / waiting staff made this a 5 star experience. The breakfasts were very good and competitively priced ( we had room only ) we also enjoyed a late lunch / early evening meal ( great value at 2 courses for £15. ) after which we enjoyed a cocktail or 2. This hotel is used by locals and hotel guests alike and is lively even midweek , there is also a basement night club , although we had read reviews saying that noise could be a problem we had a room at the rear ( 22 ) and slept soundly without any disturbance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank etmilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Lastminute so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing