We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #17 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Bought a voucher for this hotel and thought well we might get a wee room at the back but was pleasantly surprised - arrived early and booked out case into the hotel while we went shopping came back and it was already in our room waiting on us - the room was fabulous and the bathroom was huge - food was delicious as a two course meal and breakfast was included (breakfast served in room at no extra charge) and the small touches like strawberries and cream on the bar while the tennis was on was quirky - the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly - will be back - the only downside was the prices of the mini bar it was cheaper to sit in the bar in comfort and enjoy a drink.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyBruce_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    331
    117
    38
    21
See reviews for
123
988
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Reading the reviews of this hotel and after having eaten/drunk here, I decided to treat the mrs to a child free night away.

Expectations were high but I'm afraid we left feeling very disappointed. Had booked a luxury double, at £195 without breakfast we expected better than what we got. We stayed in room 4, dull and in need of a little tlc. Bedside lampshade had been in the wars, thick dust on top of the ceiling light , cobwebs hanging in the corners, wallpaper peeling away, bathroom lights dull and coming away.

When we were shown to our room the air conditioning was on, when we switched it off it became clear why they had on as standard. You could hear other guests through the air ducts!!!!

We ordered room service for breakfast, eggs Benedict for the wife and full breakfast for me. We ticked the box for orange juice and coffee but only one of each arrived. Given that there were two people in the room would it have been silly to assume that it was two of each? Eggs Benedict were cold, yolks were hard and the cooked breakfast was Luke warm at best.

Each of these things I would have been more than happy to discuss at checkout however the receptionist omitted to ask how our stay was? A common courtesy in even a 2 star hotel.

Over all I cannot tell you how disappointed we both were, my wife left a review yesterday on check in yesterday whilst hoping that our stay would improve. Sadly it did not.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just checked in, we have ate and drank here often so hubby decided to book for a birthday treat..........so far......room us pretty basic. Lamp shade needs replaced and wallpaper is peeling......sooooo disappointed. I really hope that I am made to eat my words.......watch this space.......

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kbnsbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is the third time we have stayed. The accommodation is exceptional and the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. We stayed for dinner and loved the ambience and well presented and thoughtfully prepared dishes. The hotel is right in the heart of Edinburgh and easily accessible - even by car. Couldn't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilsyth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here on Saturday night everything was smooth sailing from check in to check out.

The room was amazing and exceeded expectation.

The staff were so attentive and the food was out of this world.

It was such a great escape from everyday life and was just what the doctor ordered.

If you're planning a trip to Edinburgh it is defo worth your time and money to plan a wee stay at Tigerlily

Room Tip: Stayed in Georgian suite it was AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

First class Hotel .Cant fault it in anyway.Stayed here for one night as it was our wedding anniversary. Did not dissapoint . Great staff ,food ,drinks and overall a great experience . We will be back soon .100%

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tam q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week and we enjoyed our stay. Staff are friendly and helpful, they actually walk you up to your room and show you the features available in your room. There was a ipod, mini bar, fresh fruits are served everyday. They really paid attention to details and made our stay very comfortable. They also have a hair straightener and dryer available. There is a cocktail bar and restaurant on the ground floor as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starbreeze10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing