We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, comfortable, crap internet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, crap internet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Tigerlily is really a lovely hotel, right in the center of Edinburgh. It's just far enough from the main tourist drag, but an easy walk up to the Castle and Royal Mile. Gorgeously appointed rooms, friendly staff, and even super comfortable beds.

Not all perfect - the internet is barely usable, which is inexcusable in a hotel at this price point. Weak wireless signals in our room, and even when it would connect, often slow service. One quick fix and they have a five-star experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianbnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    316
    107
    38
    20
See reviews for
103
921
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice with my partner, and each time was fantastic. I definitely recommend hiring the black suite, we booked this room our second visit at christmas last year. The staff here are lovely, the hotel itself is very plush & modern with a georgian chic design. The restaurant and food here is brilliant, their steak is one of the best I have ever had. The location is amazing, edinburgh is great for shopping and sight seeing. From this hotel, it is all within walking distance. This is definitely a five star hotel, and I would highly recommend it. We will be returning this christmas, and I can't wait!

Room Tip: Definitely book the black suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

After wanting to stay at the Tigerlily for so long, My boyfriend took me for my birthday mid-july. It really is a beautiful contemporary, more feminine interpretation of a boutique hotel, which i loved. The room was amazing, we planned a day out in edinburgh but postponed it to spend as much time in the hotel room as we could. The reason which i only gave the room four stars was a couple of the amenities weren't working. The fireplace and the DVD player weren't working at all, which is what we planned our night around so that left us a little disappointed. Also the lighting was a little temperamental, and sometimes wouldn't respond to the control panel. Little things, but for the price of the room, you would expect everything to work. But overall, a beautiful hotel, I would just double check all the amenities work at the beginning of your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alxmclsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The location is great, the hotel somewhat overpriced. It is more a bar than a hotel as such, hence the service is maybe not what you would expect. The staff was friendly. If you take your breakfast allow for enough time, the service is slow but the quality is good

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

It's off from the Royal Mile, but a short walk, and the crowds! Plenty to do in and around the hotel. Rooms are huge, and beds comfortable. Don't bring a car because parking is a premium. Staff is great although the girls at reception were captivated with their computers. Had four meals in New Town area, and Tigerlily was one if not the best. I will come back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyMctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

lovely. artistic. hippie. fun. rooms are great. shower is big. food is good. loved the bar area and music and service with a gorgeous smile from the ladies at the reception. good for night life if you dont want to go anywhere. attracts elegantly dressed people. even neighbouring buildings have a nice nightlife too. unfortunately, never got to enjoy it. we arrived late and left early. next time i'm in edinburgh i'll stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkn889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

In Edinburgh for the Military Tattoo the Tigrerlily, in George Street, was an ideal location. George street itself has many interesting shops and restaurants, perhaps a bit more upmarket than Princes Street. Princes Street is however only a few, walking, minutes away. A tram to and from the airport was easy and convenient. The hotel staff were excellent. The hotel was buzzing until the small hours but did not disturb our sleep. The home of innovative cocktails. The food was both good and generous. A problem with the room was dealt with effectively without fuss. A hotel popular with residents and non residents but quiet if you want it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing