We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Parking Debacle”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #17 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Parking Debacle”
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Beware the temptation to believe the receptionist when they reassure you that it is OK to off load luggage outside the front door. I was away from my car for less than 5 minutes and incurred a £60 fine.
Similarly when you come to get a discount on the parking charge at Castle Terrace from the hotel and they tell you to get it from the NCP, do not believe them .I was told that the hotel always say their machine is not able to give you a refund and I am awaiting a reply from the hotel on the matter.
Other wise the food is v good, the bedrooms superb but the hotel is too noisy for wrinklies being full of young professionals winding down after a day in the city .

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank msb280336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    331
    116
    38
    21
See reviews for
122
986
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Stylish, modern, trendy, quirky, great location, amazing rooms, huge bed, massive plasma TV, loaded iPods, great breakfast, hip bar, amazing cocktails, excellent staff, good value for money - better to call to get a deal rather than online. Got a mini-suite and dinner, bed & breakfast rate for £180.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, don't listen to the negative reviews. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotish_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I note some low ratings from 2007, ignore them. This place is simply first rate. The extra touches really make it special (chocolates, fruit, water, GHD hair straighteners (no no idea what they are either but wife was pleased!))

Bags carried to our room and shown around some of the unusual features such as the iPod and lighting. Room was huge, great TV (and no I am not going to complain about the range of DVDs - Who the hell stays in a hotel in a city like this and watches the TV!?)

The bed was luxurious, walk in shower, all you could want from a room and more.

The hotel was always busy, even people coming in for breakfast but service was first rate as was the food. We went to bed around 11:30 the first night and I can safely say I had no issues with noise from the bar/restaurant (which I knew to be packed) In the morning it was silent, didnt realise it was so late until opening the curtains to realise the sun had been up for hours :-) You can have breakfast in your room but the restaurant was lovely so we ate there.

We did the castle, whisky tour, bus tour and visited a local wine bar. Had cocktails and champagne in the cocktail bar on the last night and a meal there on Sunday)

If I had one point it would be to ask the weather to be less windy, but everything in Tigerlilys control was perfect. Thanks so much

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrchigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Just come back after fantastic weekend away with my boyfriend. We were absolutely amazed by the whole Tigerlily experience!!!!!! Could nt fault it !!!!
Feel well and truly spoiled!!!!
A return visit? Without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Where do I start.....

Stay in Jan 09 after getting a fantastic deal on one of the two big Georgian Suites - AMAZING! The whole feel of the hotel is decadent and the Georgian Suite doesn't let itself down.

Felt like I should have been on my honeymoon or something! The biggest bed you've ever seen in your life and the comfiest! Normally just "put up" with hotel beds but seriously, I wanted to take this one home. Best night's sleep I've ever had, didn't want to get out of bed! And even then I had to dig myself out from underneath the most amazing duvet and pillows - still can't believe it was a hotel! Best way to describe it - felt like you were in a "movie bed" - you know what I mean - they always look so much better on screen lol.

Everything about the whole expereience was amazing, even phoning to book the room was a pleasure as the girl on the reception was so friendly and that was just the start.

Got checked in about lunchtime and shown up to our room and had all the gadgets demonstrated to us - very funky lights, preloaded ipod, two tv's and dvd players, one in sitting area and one at the bottom of the amazing bed - above the roaring living flame fire I must add!

Headed down stairs for teatime cocktails (or five) then a gorgeous dinner before heading back up to room to find the turndown service included heart shaped chocolates on the pillows - nice little touch.

FIlled out our breakfast requirements to be delivered to the room in the morning which was fantastic to wake up to.

Don't feel I'm doing this hotel justice with my review. Honestly the most amazing hotel I've stayed in EVER! Topped with the fact it's right in the centre of Edinburgh, it doesn't get much better, but to be honest - once to cross the threshold - you just don't want to leave :) 10 out of 10!!!!

I heading back in a couple of weeks. Staying in one of the Georgian Mini Suites this time so will be back with a review to see how it compares to the larger room I've reviewed above!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highland_Lassie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horace49
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2009

TigerLily is a great place - good food, excellent service, great design and a good location. The only thing is that its too busy at weekends. The bar and restaurant were packed and there seemed to be no exclusivity as to who they let in. I stayed previously during the week and its much more pleasant. Can't fault it other than that. Fabulous design, accents of pink and quality fixtures and fittings!. One thing I did notice cold cold air conditioning! Asked for it to be turned down. It was not . £231 for dinner bed and breakfast for one night. Its not cheap - but you get what you pay for!

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank horace49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstyallison
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Had a really really smashing time, stayed in the city three nights. Booked this hotel having seen reviews. stayed in hotel du vin first night (very nice, very good deal and great food) and here the second followed by the Glass house. This was the best experience, afternoon tea was great, cocktails were yummy (and i am not usually a fan!) and room service was brilliant!
The rooms are an experience in themselves, never been anywhere like it......thanks everyone for a really nice stay and we cannot wait to come back! trust the reviews despite the fact it looks a little 'mad' - it is - but its a pleasurable experience!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,800 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
962 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing