We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, trendy hotel”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #17 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chic, trendy hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I surprised my girlfriend by taking her to Edinburgh for her birthday, only to propose to her as well. I couldn't have chosen a better hotel to stay in.

The Georgian Suite was amazing! This was probably the best hotel room we have stayed in, although it did come at a price. But you do get literally acres of space, a beautiful fireplace, a huge four poster comfy bed (more wide than long!), three TVs (one in the bathroom), an ipod with docking station, a lounge area, a huge bathroom with heated floor, contemporary his and her taps, walk in shower, White Co. toiletries, complimentary slippers and bathrobes and ghd straighteners (for her).

Service was exceptional, they got everything I had requested just right, like champagne and chocolates. Breakfast was also a treat, all day breakfast on Sunday a brilliant idea!

And the Lulu club in the basement was so cool (free entry and queue jump by the way), especially when you've had enough to drink and your feet so tired from all the dancing, there's no need for all the cab fighting, last train home, etc...your bed is less than a minute away.

It's definitely worth staying here if you can afford to - I know I will be when I visit Edinburgh again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBluesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    331
    117
    38
    21
See reviews for
123
988
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I must start this review by saying this is a top notch hotel, my wife and have stayed in most of the top hotels in Scotland and this is right up there in terms of interior, room size, service and atmosphere however i was left feeling a bit aggrieved by a few things that are worth mentioning. Firstly the bleedin lighting system!!!-now im no stranger to technology however i found the lighting system in the room so complex you would need a Phd in product design to operate it! Not the best thing when waking up at 3am to pop to the loo in total darkness only to spend 20 mins trying to get the light on! My other gripe was getting woke up before 6am by what sounded like a litter lorry clearing bins from the area around the back of the hotel-not impressed! On the plus sie we eat in the hotel the night we stayed and the food was amazing, the cocktail bar was also very nice with the best mojito i have drank in a long time. Overall would recommend this hotel to others particulary those planning a romantic city break. Good value for money

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glasgow-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. It is without a doubt the best hotel I have ever stayed in and can not wait to return.

Staff were helpful and friendly and always had things under control. I felt they were very assertive as to what you wanted without being overpowering. We were checked in and escorted to our room and shown how to work the facilities. Ipod, Plasma, GHDs to name but a few.

The room its self was beautiful: large and spacious and very modern. We were given slippers and dressing gown and access to a minibar. There was also complimentary
water and fruit on arrival. The bathroom was large with a walk in shower and was spotless, as was the rest of the room/hotel.

We ate at the resteraunt on the first night which was a two for one on the main course! The food was brilliant, I had the biggest scallops I have ever seen! The waiter was efficient and friendly.

No real downside to staying in Tigerlily except a strange lighting system and a fairly noisy air con vent. Otherwise the only problem was having to leave!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisy0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Stayed with my husband in a superior mini suite for 3 nights. The room was lovely, large, modernly decorated with wooden floors and comfy slippers (which you can take home with you!). The hotel bar is brilliant (plenty of cocktails!) and the club downstairs (entrance free to residents) was also fun. Room service doesn't add a tray charge and you can get breakfast on a sunday any time you want! The very best thing about this hotel though is the staff, they are all absolutely brilliant - extremely friendly and efficient with it. Literally every single member of staff went over and above to make us happy and we spent quite a while nattering to a fair few of them. We're already planning to go back asap and three nights wasn't long enough.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleAngel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2009

It was brilliant, the room was wonderfull clean spacious everything you would expect!
Staff Super friendly !! The nightclub downstairs was brilliant to couldnt fault it we had a table reserved which made the night! have to give this Hotel 10/10 and if i stay in Edinburgh again i will most defo go back !!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi060301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at Tigerlily in Edinburgh for our 10th anniversary. We expected a special stay and we weren't disappointed. The location is a perfect base for visiting Edinburgh (there's even a taxi rank right outside), that is if you can prise yourself away from the lively attractive bar where we enjoyed the best Mojitos since our honeymoon in Cuba. The room we had was fantastic (luxury double) with every amenity you could wish for including Ipod and DVD player etc plus a huge shower in an attractive modern bathroom. The staff are very helpful and strike the right balance between being professional and friendly. Being resident at the hotel allows you to queue jump into the Lulu club downstairs. Breakfast is also a bit special and allows you to take in the 'cool' decor around the bar/restaurant area which creates different feeling zones within the open plan area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Tigerlily hotel is a real gem. The rooms are huge and attention to detail is superb. from GHD irons in room, to umbrella, candles, ipod dock, PSP's and the list goes on. The beds are very comfy and large bathroom.
Staff very friendly and helpful. nothing is too much for them. The hotel is well located and the resturant, bar and club in the hotel are all great. The only issue i had was wi-fi not working in rooms but i was given access in lobby.
all in all i had a wonderful birthday w/e at Tigerlily. Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighdermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,805 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing