We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent!”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed here for two nights in a Luxury Double Room (no 5, I believe). We were greeted by the friendly front desk staff, checked in and left our bags to return later. When getting back, our bags had been placed in our room, and a very informative member of the staff explained everything worth knowing about the room. It included a huge, comfortable bed (not too hard, not too soft), flat screen TV and an iPod+speakers station loaded with music for our listening. Everything very clean, designish and quiet. No view to speak of though, our windows were fronting an inner yard, nothing to see.

The hotel has a very popular and stylish bar section and restaurant. The bartenders are attentive and professional, he made me a superb Old Fashioned, and took the time to explain about the liquor he used. Hotel guests have free admission to the nightclub below, which is also worth a visit.

Next time I'm in Edinburgh, Tigerlily will definitely be my choice of stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knucklesknuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,523 - 1,529 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

This is an absolute gem. It's the little touches that make the difference, staff friendly, food tasty, bar well stocked and rooms have everything you need and a little extra. Would recommend to everyone. Will definately be going back. 10/10

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jnz1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

stunning room, great location - loved it! i was a little worried i might be a bit too old for this place - it is clearly a popular location for elegant "hen parties" and there is a VERY popular hip bar scene here, but my room was just lovely - very quiet and beautiful - i couldn't have been happier with my choice for edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camjwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Wonderful location, quite near shopping and restaurants. The service was excellent, the room spacious, quiet and comfortable, with incredibly high ceilings which made it seem even more spacious than it was. Comfortable bed, terrific breakfast. There was nothing wrong with this experience!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed here for 1 night in a suite on the 3rd floor, as we were attending a graduation in the city. This is a fantastic hotel in many ways. Central location, not far from Waverly railway station, luxury rooms, feels like a home from and the staff are great. On arrival we were greeted by several friendly members of staff. Smooth check-in at the reception which is part of the bar and restaurant. One of the staff guided us to our rooms explaning how the lighting, TV etc. etc. were operated. The suite was large with a king size bed, two sofas, dining table, huge bathroom. Free tea, coffee, hot chocolate facilities in the room and newspaper outside your door in the morning. Toiletries were from the White company, excellent quality. After freshening up, we went downstairs to the bar for a few cocktails. The bar staff prepared great gin and tonics. After a good nights sleep we had continental breakfast in the restaurant. Again staff were pleasant and quality of the breakfast was pretty good. One fault regarding breakfast the croissant and danish pastry were pretty dry.
Only one complaint if you request to keep your room later than 12 you have to pay an extra £50!
Yes we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelzone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We booked a Junior Suite in a deal that also included a 3 course dinner and breakfast. Have to say the room we stayed in (Room 18) was the best City hotel room we have ever stayed in ( and we have stayed in many). the room size was huge with a massive, and extremely comfortable bed, two sofas and a flatscreen tv. the food was superb, and the whole ambience of the hotel/ restaurant was just right. Have to make a note also on just how friendly and professional the staff were . Would stay here again without doubt. The location is superb too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chafster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

As all the other reviews state - the rooms are superb. beautifully appointed and spotless. The bathroom is enormous with a large wet room but no bath. Clearly designed with style rather than practicality in mind but still great. We were on the 3rd floor and there was no noise from the bar/nightclub although I would ask for a room away from the aircon vent. This is a problem with any hotel - the aircon vent has to go somewhere!
We really enjoyed the buzz of the packed bars downstairs but its not like any hotel I have ever visited. Efficient staff on the door guide you to the tiny hotel reception which is offset to the side of one of the bars. We arrived at 5.30 on a Saturday and it was packed. It stayed packed until close at 3am.
Food in the restaurant was excellent - superbly cooked fillet steak which was worth every penny of a fairly hefty £28. Staff in the restaurant were efficient and friendly.
If we stayed again would probably have breakfast in the room rather than downstairs in the bar area where staff were still cleaning up after the night before, even at 10.30.(Breakfast is all day and check out time not until 12 !)
A really great experience if you like buzzy lively fun hotels with bars and built in nightlife.
Not for the Traditionalist wanting a true Scottish experience , but would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorky2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,883 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £124 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing