We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to the Wild West with a bass line”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcome to the Wild West with a bass line”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

First of all it should be noted that this isn't really a hotel. It's a bar and a nightclub with rooms above - a little like those saloons where you see shoot outs enacted in westerns.

My girlfriend and I were booked in for full week to attend the Edinburgh Book Festival - ostensibly for work but also to relax. First impressions are just frankly confusing as the check in is around the corner (second in importance) to the front bar. Which is not a hotel bar. It's what was was generally called a wine bar in the 1980s - by which I mean it's occupied by 19-year old girls being chatted up by 40-year-old men. Neither set wore much in terms of clothing, but plenty in terms of scent.

The check in desk is staffed by very friendly ladies wearing FBI style call-centre head sets. They try. They really do. But it doesn't help. The hotel has so many fundamental flaws for such an expensive joint that their jolly smiles do little to dilute the feeling that you're being taken up the canyon on a one way stagecoach.

As mentioned by others here, the nightclub can continues until from 3 a.m. to 5 a.m. We were on the third floor. The bass riff hit into the early hours on most of the nights. Calls to reception were made. We were told that that they would "radio down" to the basement club to see if they could graphically equalise our night more appropriately. That's right - not call down but radio down - like this was CSI. The bass drops. We sleep. Next night. Repeat.

On the second night the alarm clock went off at 3.40 a.m. The second - not the first - who or what set that remained a mystery.

The rooms are nice, comfortable and large. Although they have a baffling lighting system which puts the "dim" into dimmer.

The staff were - on the whole - enthusiastic, very young, and friendly. However, they didn't seem experienced.

The price - and I understand this was festival time - was ludicrous. £210 flat rate. No breakfast included. Nope, nada. This is Edinburgh not Manhattan. And when the bill came there were two £3 additional charges added. For the mini toothbrush and toothpaste used. Really! A weeks £1,400 hotel bill and they charge for a mini-colgate set! Of course, no note on the little set to say it wasn't complementary like they are in literally every other hotel in the world.

It should be noted that they didn't charge for the soap for which I was grateful.

What a shame really. Especially as the building is beautiful from the outside and the staff affable in a sixth former kind of way.

At the end of the week we got the hell out of dodge and didn't look back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Simeon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    319
    108
    39
    21
See reviews for
107
935
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

I love hotels like this, boutique-y, cool rooms. In general the hotel was fine. The people at the front desk were exceptionally nice. However, especially for the price, the hotel was trying very hard to be luxury but little things made you notice why it didnt quite make it. The room is cool and trendy, and i immediately liked the style - however, the hotel's information book was dirty / stained and all the pages were ripping out of the binder (didnt wanna touch it), there's a fun TigerLily pencil in the room but no paper / notepad, the DVD player is cool looking but my remote control's screen was damaged and you couldnt easily operate the machine (I had to contact them 3 times to get someone that couldhelp and they did recognize the remote was broken). The final straw was that my wake up call came about half hour late. I did speak to a manager (turned out to be the night manager) and he was pleasant and apologized, but although he said he'd talk to the day manager and wanted to come up with a way to do something for me - nothing was ever mentioned again and the book and the remote were never changed out. Again, minor things, just the details that can make a hotel go from fine to outstanding - so you can focus on the cool details versus the frustration of spending time trying to figure out a DVD player or not wanting to touch a dirty book. Having said that, the room was big and comfortable, great location, very friendly staff, you can "borrow" DVDs, breakfast was really good (basically order anything on the menu as part of the breakfast package). I'd recommend, but suggest they make sure they work a little harder to give you the best experience for the money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed in the Georgian Suite for 1 night during the festival, and it was simply fabulous! The room was exceptional and even for being in central Edinburgh incredibly quiet. Brilliantly located on George Street it offers great service, that goes the absolute extra mile, which is very hard to come by these days!! My car was even collected and brought to the Hotel the next day and a ticket put on it so that I wouldn't get a parking fine!

The suite, service, food and staff are first class! I would recommend Tiger Lily to anyone wanting a quality stay in Edinburgh! Exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Probably my preferred hotel in Edinburgh. Modern boutique hotel. Stayed here a few times. Love the hotel, the ambiance, good resataurant-not too pricey, the bar..always busy. Good staff. Modern hotel with all you need. Rooms are nice, bathrooms are nice. Location is great.. in the centre of town, a street back from Princess Street. Plenty of shops, restaurants and bars nearby. No long term parking nearby but they have a discount for use of local carpark.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

As part of our Anniversary and my wifes birthday, I booked the Georgian suite for two nights and we were not disappointed. The room was fantastic, slightly let down by the electronic gadgetry but nervertheless, it is up there in our top five hotels. Breakfast was good and brought to us in our room as part of the package. The bathroom was huge ( enough to make my wife spend over two hours getting ready each morning - luckily there's an Ipod and 3 TV's to keep me amused whilst I waited ! )
We had a late lunch on our final day and the meal was very good. We're suprised at some of the negative reviews as we really enjoyed it. The Chocolate mousse was a 9/10 !
Definitely going to return next year, sooner if we can afford it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We have stayed at Tigerlily several times and always had a fantastic experience so we thought this would be the perfect place for our wedding reception... and it was! From months before the wedding the events organiser helped us with everything from transport, florists and every worry we had, nothing was too much! Our guests stayed in 17 different rooms (ranging from the double, mini suite and Georgian suite) and no one was disappointed... this was all before the refurbishment planned this summer. They served our 50 guests in the restaurant with excellent service and beautifully presented meals. We hired Lulu (the nightclub below) for the early part of the evening where we had our own bar staff and DJ.

Over the four times we have stayed there (over 3 years) Tigerlily has never failed us. It is centrally located, has beautiful decor and staff who are always smiling and will do anything to help. We recognize some of the staff from our first visit and they talk as passionately about the hotel as they did 3 years ago. This is a hotel everyone should stay in!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed for one night and this hotel was an eye opener. Located in central Edinburgh with easy walking to most centrally located attractions. The hotel was simply wonderful. Prior to arrival, we had booked in for lunch at the restaurant. On checking in, the staff took care of our luggage while we were shown to the restaurant. The food and wine was first class and the restaurant itself was well appointed. Following lunch we had a glass of wine while sitting in some huge cane sofas located in an alcove to the side of the restaurant - very relaxing. As for the rooms, they were beyond belief. Large room with beautiful decor, well stocked mini bar, big soft bed, two big comfy chairs, modern big screen TV and the one that really surprised me was an iPod with speakers loaded with a huge variety of music - how unique. Bathroom was huge with really big fluffy towels and a modern walk in shower. Breakfast was a part of our tariff and it didn't disappoint. Overall, I could not fault anything about the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyco666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing