We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and really friendly guest house.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aynetree Guest House
Ranked #140 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and really friendly guest house.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed in this guest house for 1 week for a short holiday and we loved every minute of it. Very clean, traditional yet modern and a very friendly atmosphere. Brian was very helpful and welcoming and the breakfasts were excellent. We would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi Domnic, It was great to have you both in my guest house. I loved our chats in the morning. You were pretty special guests. Hope to see you soon. Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    66
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
46
120
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Aynetree, our room was comfortable and the breakfasts very tasty, they set you up for the days sight seeing in Edinburgh. As mentioned in other reviews the bus stops are located by the house and the fare is £1.50 each way, and the buses are every few minutes. Brian sorted us out with tickets for the castle so we didn't have to wait in the very long queue when we got there. We also walked to the sea front at Portobello as the weather was so nice. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Back bedroom with comfy king size bed is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you so much for your kind worlds. Yes, it is pleasant to visit Portobello beach as a wee change from the town. It is full of faded charm and there are some good eateries there. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We're a young couple who stayed at Aynetree Guesthouse for 3 nights. Brian was super friendly when we arrived and immediately explained how to get around in Edinburgh. The bus stop is right in front of the house, which is really handy! We didn't mind it at all that we had to take a 20min bus ride into the centre, it gave us some time to look at our map and decide where we would be going.
Our room was the one without the bathroom en-suite but it was ok for us. It had a lock and only we had the key. Everything was clean and very nice. The bed was very comfortable and we couldn't hear a single noise from the street on the other side. For us it couldn't have been better.
The breakfast was amazing, you could choose if you wanted to go all the way with a full Scottish breakfast or just settle with toast and a boiled egg. Brian also organised our tickets for Edinburgh Castle which was very useful! When we arrived we didn't need to wait in line like all the others. I really recommend this Bed&Breakfast if you would like to have a nice experience in Edinburgh and don't want to spend a lot of money!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for the super review. I am glad that your first taste of Scottish hospitality was good and we hope to see you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed at, Aynetree Guesthouse, for two nights. Received a warm welcome from, Brian, who gave us all the information on buses etc. Being able to park the car and take the bus was great, the bus stop is right outside the house with frequent buses into the city. The journey takes just twenty minutes.
We stayed in the family room first night which is very spacious and nicely decorated with a homely touch, en-suite was lovely and clean, the house has maintained a lot of the original features which add to the pleasure of staying there. Our second night was spent in a smaller but just as nicely decorated and furnished room, this was due to the family room being needed for other guests, Anne phoned before our visit and explained this, we were quite happy with this as it wasn't a problem and didn't cause us any bother changing on second day.
There is a garden out front, you can see Anne and Brian take a lot of pride in their establishment with the lovely window boxes and well looked after lawn.
The breakfast, was plentiful , they had a good selection to cater for all their guests.
All in all a very pleasant stay, clean, comfortable with good public transport on the doorstep.
Would not hesitate to recommend Aynetree house, Brian and Anne's hard work at keeping a lovely place, shows. Thank you for a lovely and relaxed stay.

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook a park, although on a busy road, noise not a problem as rooms are triple gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
An amazing review which has made our hard work all worthwhile. We try our hardest to please everyone which is very difficult in this business. Normally, people only review when there is negative comments and the people who are happy do not review so it was great that you took time to write your thoughts. Out of the many people who pass through our door only around 2 per cent will post a review. Hope to see you both again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were a bit nervous at first when we read the reviews about the angry man banging on our door to get out, but were happy to find quite the opposite. The owners were very friendly and helpful; as soon as we landed he explained how the bus system worked (which was perfect as it was our first stop and we had no idea), as well he sells tickets to Edinburgh Castle so we could jump the line.
This is a great place to stay if you don't plan to lay around like a sloth - which we didn't - as it says in the name, this is a bed and breakfast; sleep, eat and get on with your day. Very friendly and knowledgeable of the area, with great sight seeing tips.

Plus, this was the best Scottish breakfast that we had on our whole trip, and hands down best porridge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Hi Craig, Thank you for your kind review. I had to smile when you mentioned the "angry man banging on the door". Brian never loses his temper and he is so laid-back that he is almost horizontal. I do not know of any incident or review which told of this. Anyway, I am so glad that your door remained on its hinges and that you enjoyed our hospitality. You have to take note that sometimes people can write lies about a business or the owners if they have a grievance with them. I shall search the reviews and look for the one were Brian was supposed to bang on the door. That will keep me busy today! I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The house was lovely, clean and nicely decorated. The breakfasts were great, although the background music played is distracting and annoying (and breakfast is served way too early, from 8-9am). The guesthouse was much further from the city centre than we anticipated, but staff were extremely helpful in giving us bus routes. They also organised us tickets to Edinburgh castle, so we could skip the hour-long queue. All in all, I was quite happy with this guesthouse.

HOWEVER, there were a couple of annoying things we experienced just before we left. We had run out of cash to pay for our Edinburgh castle tickets at the end of our stay, and they wouldn't accept a card payment. We were informed of this prior to leaving, but I would expect them to have some cash lying around, and a little more leniency - considering that we were then forced to walk to an ATM machine in the pouring rain on a Sunday morning... (although they did lend us an umbrella!). Our flight home was at 4pm, but we were not allowed to leave our luggage in the guesthouse during the day, so had to trundle through Edinburgh for six hours in the pouring rain with suitcases.

The one thing that I was NOT impressed with AT ALL, was the way we were treated when we left. Although the owners had kindly let us stay inside the house as we waited for our bus (due to the rain), the lady started cleaning our room out in front of us, and remarking that we were messy/dirty/bad-mannered people, due to us having left a couple of plastic bags and some packaging on the floor (we had packed in a hurry). I do not feel that an older guest would have been spoken to in this manner, and when your guests are paying upwards of £75 a night for a room, it is really quite cheeky and unprofessional to complain about having to clean it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your review but I need to address the negative comments and thanks to TA I can do this in my defence. First of all the breakfast time. We did a survey at the beginning of our 8 years here and guests liked the 8 to 9 am time best. As check-out is 10 am this gives time for a leisurely breakfast. If your flight was at 9 am you would probably say that you wanted breakfast at 7 am and that 8 to 9 am was too late! So, we cannot win. As for the music. Why not ask us to change the cd as it it not everyone's taste. I will never know unless you ask. It is no use sitting "suffering" Scottish music if it gets on your nerves. I cannot read the thoughts of our guests and they have to come forward and tell me. We cannot take credit cards for a business which is not ours ie. the Castle. Our accountant would not be very happy and why should we use our machine so that a guest can pay for a service/merchandise not even connected with our business. If we were to take credit card payments for all the Castle tickets we sold to guests which is, incidentally, the same price as you pay at the door, our income would double and we would be giving our Accountant a false figure which of course would be taxed. Not to mention the credit card company charging us for the use of the transaction. Sorry, but we only use our credit card machine for our business and not other businesses. Now for the "trudging around in the rain with suitcases", It amazes me that you both did not deposit your luggage in the storage department at the train or bus stations. This is what they are for. Why would Brian and I stay in all day on a Sunday - we try and take Sunday afternoon - to await you both to come back from the city when you had checked out at 10am??? In a big hotel that would be possible as they pay staff 24 hours and they usually have a luggage room. All part of the service. But you stayed in a guest house where the staff is usually only the owners and they need some time off. We cannot operate as a luggage storage department but after saying this we do not mind people leaving their luggage if they are collecting in within 3 hours or so. This way we can then either go out and buy provisions or be a bit naughty and go for a few hours to the beach or out for meal or whatever. On the day you checked out - and I can remember it well, you left the room like a pig-sty. You both had thrown rubbish around the floor and the bin, strangely enough, was empty. You both showed disrespect for our property and when you were pulled up about the horrendous mess you did apologise and picked some of the crap up from the floor. Never once did we ever say "messy, bad-mannered people". You were never bad-mannered only messy. I think that you should retract that statement. Only you and I know that I never said that. What I did say was that the room was a mess any I asked you why you had thrown rubbish around the floor. I did think of taking a picture of the mess. Perhaps you were annoyed as I could not stay in all afternoon waiting for you to return for your luggage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Brian could not have been more helpful to us when, through my error, my friend and I were stranded with nowhere to sleep that night. Not only did Brian accept our hectic request for a room, but even waited outside so we'd know we found the right place, this even though he was on his way to join his wife for a family medical emergency. He was kind enough to get us situated comfortably before he left. The room was spacious and comfortable, and even though he worked solo next morning, the breakfast was superb. I will carry fond memories of my stay at Aynetree Guest House.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong for pleasure and price when you need lodging outside Edinburgh
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Suzanne, Thank yoiu for your great review. I am glad that you enjoyed my hospitality. It would be great to see you both again. Although we are not in the city centre we are still in Edinburgh (near Arthur's seat and Palace of Holyrood). Just in case our readers thought that our address was not in Edinburgh. I hope that you both enjoyed the next leg of your journey and it was great to have such lovley guests staying in our home. Bria-. Jack of all trades. Master of none!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#157 of 392 in Edinburgh
24 reviews
2.7 mi away
Culane House Hotel
Culane House Hotel
#138 of 392 in Edinburgh
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aaran Lodge
Aaran Lodge
#113 of 392 in Edinburgh
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#200 of 392 in Edinburgh
197 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arden Guest House
Arden Guest House
#182 of 392 in Edinburgh
120 reviews
4.0 mi away
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#170 of 392 in Edinburgh
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aynetree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aynetree Guest House

Property: Aynetree Guest House
Address: 12 Duddingston Crescent | Milton Road, Edinburgh EH15 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynetree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Victorian detached guest house, with private parking for 6 cars, situated near the city centre. 5 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms except one which has a private large bathroom all modernized and refurbished in June 2006 to a high standard. The dining room has a coal fire which is used during chilly nights. Although central to all attractions including Arthur's Seat and the Palace of Holyrood; the house is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aynetree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynetree Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing