We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joke”
Review of Ocean Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was a joke when we stayed the water was running orange we had no god water for 2 days the wifi is a joke better using your 3G signal ! The room could have been a bit more cleaner . The television was old fashioned could have done with an uptodate plasma . We have stayed here twice now & first dime was brilliant clean god water & plasma tv but the second time if was like they had already impressed us so they shoved us in any room not caring definitely don't recommend this !

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmcphail11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I cannot rate this place high enough!

Great speedy checking in with friendly staff, these apartments give the perfect home away from home with all the comforts needed.

With a supermarket within 5 minutes walk, you can easily use the facilities in the apartment to feed yourself on the cheap or go out to nearby Leith for some nice fresh seafood at one of the many restaurants.

I'd recommend Ocean to any of my friends and family and already have! My Father is staying there in 2014!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheEarlofLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a good,, modern apartment that was well equipped, clean and had an extensive sea view. The staff are helpful and pleasant. But the location is pretty far off the beaten track. Even leith itself (Britannia, the restaurants etc) is quite a long walk. Fortunately we had a hire car that made it all straightforward but without it we would have felt a bit stranded. The number 10 bus is nearby and quite frequent but a car was much preferable. Prices were reAsonable though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pardos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I just stayed here for two weeks for work. I needed somewhere in Edinburgh to work from over the period that was easy to get into the city (for my work at the Museums), and a really quiet and tranquil place to write, and I found it.

The staff were perfect... attentive and knew the area and the apartments and there is a good range of information in the foyer area (which also had computers for use). It was clean and tidy, and someone came in every afternoon to quickly get the rubbish etc. It was cleaned thoroughly (very thoroughly) every seven days.

The apartments themselves are great, modern, huge, full and well kitted-out kitchen with modern appliances and a separate area for the laundry, great beds in the bedrooms and beautiful bathrooms, and it was warm (winter, needed it to be) with a very comfy loungeroom area. The room I was in opened up to the street, and was just lovely. The internet was a little on the slow side, but it was free and was available across two devices. The TV was good, too, and unlike most of the places I've stayed in, it really DID have all of the Freeview channels available.

I asked for quiet (though I suspect they all are) and it really was. There's a very large 24 hour ASDA (supermarket) just a short walk away and it's just two blocks further for a range of restaurants and pubs.

The area is fantastic, the water side of Leith - very pretty, in a newly developed area - and there is always a bus (10) waiting to go into the main part of the city, just opposite the place, and a beautiful and quick ride into the city. You can get a 3.50 day pass that can get you on all Leith buses for the day, and otherwise, it's cheaper for one or return tickets.

I stayed here by myself, but it was a huge place and would have been perfect for families or couples... lots of room to get away. The cost was incredible, so much more affordable than anywhere else in Edinburgh and with better rooms and service than most! And a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandyosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Edinburgh As a whole I would rank as the best place Iv been too in Europe. Ocean apartments was the icing on the cake as far as a good home base while we explored Scotland. The apartments were in a newer part of city right on the shore. There a bit far to walk to the city but the bus system for the city is amazing, you can catch the 10 bus from right outside the apartments and for a pound fifty and a 10min ride it takes you right to the city center. The rooms were spacious and had all the right amenities including watcher and dryer. Easy check in ever for after hours check in. The wifi was decent a bit slow but perfect for just checking mail and such. 5 of 5 from me.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iplaywithfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

These Apartments are fantastic. Very spacious 2 Bed, 2 bathroom Apt. Well equipment kitchen with everything you need. Secure parking under the apartments which was great. Bus stop into centre of Edinburgh is just across from Apartments with a very frequent service which only takes about 20 mins. These apartments beat a hotel room any day: -) Would definitely use these apartments again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wenders68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

4 of us stayed here for 3 nights during Hogmanay and was made up I chose these apartments. They were in a great location, spacious, clean and had everything we needed. The staff were very helpful and courteous as well. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevemup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Oakhill Apartments
#3 of 217 in Edinburgh
561 reviews
Canon Court Apartments
#37 of 217 in Edinburgh
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Merchiston Residence
#18 of 217 in Edinburgh
201 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#16 of 394 in Edinburgh
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Apartments

Address: 2 Western Harbour Midway, Edinburgh EH6 6PN, Scotland (Formerly Western Harbour Apts)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Apartments are modern, stylish contemporary serviced apartments that offer the comfort and standards of a hotel room with the space and flexibility of a private residence in Edinburgh.Cost effective and comfortable, these apartments are a perfect accommodation solution for business travellers, families and groups.All apartments have a fully equipped kitchen, spacious lounge, dining area and two bedrooms. Carefully selected facilities are available to make your stay comfortable and stress free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Western Harbour Apartments Edinburgh
Western Harbour Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Harbour Apartments Edinburgh
Ocean Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing