We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Decor, Casual Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clerk's Bar

Clerk's Bar
Ranked #556 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Decor, Casual Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had hired a private room for a work party. The food was loved by all and the decor and room was lovely! However, the management had deemed it appropriate to put a trainee member of staff on the bar by himself, resulting in confusion of drinks (i.e. I received a gin and tonic that was just a glass with some gin in it) This staff member should not have been thrown in the deep end like this and should have been shadowed and trained by another member of staff. I felt really bad for him.

Also, the management saw fit to join our private party. When I asked that they be removed from our private room I was made to feel quite foolish by the staff because it was their management. I believe that if you have hired a room for a private event then you shouldn't have to share it with the bar's employees, least of all the management. It was extremely unprofessional.

Bar all that we did have a great time thanks to our group's ability to enjoy themselves and include even strangers in our fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClerksBar, General Manager at Clerk's Bar, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi there,

We are sorry you felt this way about your experience. The member of staff in question has been with us for a couple of months now and has been able to cope with other events in the past, however mistakes do happen and we're sorry you didn't receive your mixer with your drink but I hope he rectified the issue quickly.
The assistant manager on that night went down to keep and eye on him and the event, not to shadow him as we feel he has had enough training but was there if he needed any help. As she was asked to leave however, we could only assume he was doing a great job.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    62
    21
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bit of a letdown”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Popped in for a quick lunch and got the pulled pork burrito which I did not enjoy. It wasn't pulled it was just big chunks that were very dry. The staff were slow in taking our orders but the food did come out quickly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GBee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClerksBar, Manager at Clerk's Bar, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi there,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the burrito. I will certainly be taking this up with our kitchen team.

Please email clerks@maclay.co.uk, so we can arrange to make it up to you :).

Thanks
Clerk's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Knowlegeable Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Popped in last month when we were passing , lovely atmosphere added to by a really friendly barmaid Rhiannon who talked us through the draft beer selection and made sure my partner got one to his taste - I tried the table lager in a shandy and would probably spring for a more well known brand the next time - the food looked good if not a little bit pricey and as long as the quality matched up to the price - i see a good future for this bar and its staff !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teaganuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClerksBar, Manager at Clerk's Bar, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hey!

Thanks for taking the time to tell us how awesome Rhiannan is. We know.
No but really thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Clerk's and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
We have a lot more beers for you to try.

Cheers!
Clerk's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get the ribs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Went here back in March and had the ribs which were excellent. Was in a group of 5 or 6 and everyone else seemed happy with their food also.

Good selection of draft beers and plenty of well - positioned TV's so I think this would be a great choice for watching sport.

Location is not very central but if you live locally or happen to be in south Edinburgh it's definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank DK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClerksBar, Manager at Clerk's Bar, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hey Doug,

Cheers for the review, we pride ourselves on our ribs, delighted that you enjoyed.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Thanks
Clerk's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Has potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Eaten here last week. Bit of salad with food would have been appreciated. Even influenced my review! Music uncomfortably loud. What we did eat was tasty and reasonably priced. It may evolve into something fantastic!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mor_vey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClerksBar, Manager at Clerk's Bar, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

We have all of our sides separate as everyone likes something different with their meal, be it salad, sweet potato fries, mac and cheese, onion rings etc.

We are constantly monitoring the music and lighting to try and create the best ambiance possible.

We hope to see you again and will take on board your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clerk's Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Clerk's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing