We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location For Getting To Edinburgh”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed two nights at Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park - costing £22 per night for a couple in a 4 man tent

The site itself is well-run with a fully-manned reception and shop as you arrive.

The pitches are very close to each other and it can be a bit of a squeeze, but they obviously just make the most of what they've got.

If camping / caravanning isn't your thing you can stay in one of their wigwams. We didn't personally stay in one but they look great!

The shop has everything from tinned and fresh food to children's games and cleaning products.

It took us about 20 minutes to get from the site to Edinburgh Zoo and about the same time to get into the city centre.

Facilities wise the shower blocks are close to pretty much any pitch you get given and there's a dish washing stand with hot water. Both are clean and well kept.

There's also a games room with pool table, air hockey and several arcade games.

The fantastic 'Stables Bar' is on site which is great if you're in a tent and want a cold drink. They also serve hot and cold food and the prices and service was great.

Tip: don't use the post code in a sat nav to get you there - it takes you to a track round the back of the site which has no access.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnniePops87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

The location is great for getting in and out of Edinburgh and seeing the surrounding area. However, we found it a bit disconcerting that our tent pitch was in the middle of a field, where everyone just pulled their car in and out, right through the middle of peoples camp sites. The woman's shower block had a constant puddle of water running under all the toilets. And I found that shower was very inconsistent. I had a boiling shower, a decent one and then an ice shower and the faucets did not work well. My husband said that the men's shower block was decent and there was no water problem. Given that this was the most expensive camp site we stayed at in a week of camping around Scotland, I was a bit disappointed with the quality.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Aana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

WE Sayed in a wigwam with our 2 year old grandaughter and we sure will return. the wigwam was ready when we arrived and was in a quiet spot with another 3 which were surrounded by a wall so she was free to play. the toilet block was one of the best i have seen. clean spotless plenty of hand wash and toilet roll The shower cubvcles werent large but you could manage. I bathed my grandaughter in the baby bath which was available in the disabled wet rooomwhich had plenty of room anda baby change. the food in
the pub was lovely and tasty. the staff were very helpful and provided infomation to bus times and local places to visit.we didn't use the kitchen or the tv room but it was there in case of badweather. i couldnt fault it .
squirrels and rabbits made my two year old grandaughters holiday along with 2 very large cattle and horses to look at
the bus stops outside the site and a day ticket is reasonably priced at £3.50. the buses regualr and very clean although you do need the exact fare.
am looking forward to returning again and we may not have such good weather but am sure the palce will still be as good

Room Tip: wigwam 1-4 if you have toddelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shalaw444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a wigwam with my husnand and 5 month old daughter.Wigwam was spotless and had everything you needed, the site itself was lovely and well kept. Toilets, showers and kitchen areas were spotless too.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A lovely and informative welcome, great facilities, including decent shower rooms.

The pitches were relatively well spaced out, however many were on fairly acute angles which couldn't be righted by blocks.

The bar was lovely and open late, with a well stocked shop.

The buses were frequent into the city and not far to walk or in duration once on them.

Internet was expensive and terrible (barely got any signal at all to even check e-mails).

I would definitely stay here again if visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tsinamuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortonhall_Park, General Manager at Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. As a top reviewer your views are highly valued and I am delighted that overall you had great experience and you would definately stay again. I do note your comments regards the WIFI along with those of other guests. We are aware that due to a limited broadband width that the system has not been 'great' and has a limited signal around the park. We do listen to our guests and I am delighted to anounce that in the next few weeks the system is being replaced and will be much quicker and will cover almost all the park including our 'Festival' field tenting area. I look forward to demonstrating this on your next visit. Many thanks for your comments once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at mortonhall for 4 nights in a motorhome was very good a little noise from wigwams at the weekend but whenever there was noise they seemed to sort it out quite quickly restraint was also fine good access to Edinburgh via bus service at bottom of the road shower blocks etc were all good and clean would stay again

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank KenAudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here on a break to see Edinburgh. Fantastic site, we stayed in one of the mobile homes, it was lovely. Plenty big enough for a family of 4, very clean and comfortable. Nice quiet site, playground for kids to let off steam after a day in the city. Very good food and friendly staff at the stables bar. Easy bus route into edinburgh. We would have enjoyed a picnic table to eat at the caravan but that would be our one and only criticism. Thanks Mortonhall would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#116 of 151 in Edinburgh
252 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
156 reviews
Glampotel Dundas Castle
#56 of 217 in Edinburgh
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Frogston Rd 38 Mortonhall Gate, Edinburgh EH16 6TJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south side of the city and set within a 200 acre country estate lies the beautifully maintained camping and caravan park. Our Thistle award Caravan Holiday Homes accommodate up to 8 people(easy access van available)whilst our new Wigwams, which can accommodate up to 5 people, offer camping in style. Tourers and campers always welcome with various pitch options available. Very accessible to the city centre and all Edinburgh's attractions and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mortonhall Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Edinburgh
Mortonhall Caravan And Camping Park Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing