We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year stay in Edinburgh”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park
england uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“New Year stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have reviewed this site before and the overall stay is still definitely excellent. This visit was slightly different as it was the first chance to really test. Customer Services.
We had initially booked for two families to stay and up until a few days before the visit was due we didn't expect anything to change. However a hospital operation on the Friday , coupled with several veterinary visits for a poorly animal meant that one family were sadly unable to travel and this didn't give the Site any time to re-book the pitch.
The Site were more than understanding and this helps immensely at a time like this.
We will definitely be back again, thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy4718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    124
    46
    25
    20
See reviews for
132
133
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We came up to edinburgh for the week before christmas so it was the 17th to the 24th of december and we had a comfortable stay. I came with my partner and my 15 year old daughter and her friend. The 2 girls mainly came up for the christmas shopping and the market and could easily catch the bus from right outside the caravan park. The only thing they said they would change would be the weather but there isn't much else to expect at this time of year in scotland. The pub was quite expensive for food and drinks so we only visited once and the shop in the site was a tad expensive but we would mostly drive to the nearest supermarket for things to fill the fridge and cuboards anyway which wasn't a long drive. The bedrooms were standard, the girls bedroom was fairly small as were the beds but they still had a good nights sleep, our bedroom was a good size and the bed was very comfortable so there was no complaints there, also the pull out sofa bed in the living room was comfortable also. Overall the whole week away was enjoyble and we're considering coming back next year just before christmas again. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrylouise13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My partner and I travelled from Manchester to stay here at the end of November 2013. I was going to leave a really positive review but if I do then everyone will swallow up the places here and there'd be no places left for our next visit. Ok, I give in...Brilliant site which is clean, smart etc. lovely Bar, great staff (especially Forbes, the friendliest Bar Man you've ever come across). This is the best camp site we've ever stayed at (in our motorhome). Just a few miles from some stunning scenery. We didn't use any of the facilities because we decided to take the short Bus Journey (No 11) into Edinburgh Town centre and have a drink or Ten. How do you find our way around? Simple! Go to the Camp Site Bar. Seek out the Barman called Forbes. Open your Map and ask away. The Man is delighted to help you. Really pleasant reception staff too. If we had to mark our stay here out of 100 we would give 101. If there was a downside it may be that some will find the site too quiet for them. This was no problem for us but I'd read the reviews from families with kids first. For us though (middle aged couple), Fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Spent a very peaceful break here and the staff were helpful and caravan was clean and warm and excellent .
We ate at the local pub on site and was excellent food , great atmosphere .very popular and the whole site is well maintained. Shop on site is well stocked with local produce .

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cath1963pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Rented a wigwam for the night with the kids. The wigwam accommodated 5 of us easily! Very spacious and warm. The wigwam was excellently priced for the night, it included, microwave,kettle, tv & a heater. The park itself is excellent with ample facilities. The toilets were immaculate! The playground for the kids was fantastic and had plenty things for their various ages. There is lots of washing facilities, drinking water points and toilets located around the park. The shop is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need and very we'll priced. I will most definitely be returning and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasses1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
161 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Large and well-organised campsite, conveniently located on the outskirts of Edinburgh. Clean and heated toilets and showers and an immense green area to enjoy while backpacking or travelling by caravan.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaPetraComan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Wonderful place to stay, friendly and clean, you can use public transportation to get to down town area which is in between 10 minutes. I went with my family and honestly, I will go back! 100% recommended!

Room Tip: nice spots for camping
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaoHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#113 of 148 in Edinburgh
232 reviews
Linwater Caravan Park
#1 of 1 in East Calder
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Frogston Rd 38 Mortonhall Gate, Edinburgh EH16 6TJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south side of the city and set within a 200 acre country estate lies the beautifully maintained camping and caravan park. Our Thistle award Caravan Holiday Homes accommodate up to 8 people(easy access van available)whilst our new Wigwams, which can accommodate up to 5 people, offer camping in style. Tourers and campers always welcome with various pitch options available. Very accessible to the city centre and all Edinburgh's attractions and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mortonhall Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Edinburgh
Mortonhall Caravan And Camping Park Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing