We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #27 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overall a pleasant experience”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This was our third visit to Edinburgh and the first time at this hotel and overall we were pleased. We decided to upgrade to a superior room which was worth it for the extra space as we were there for over a week. The bathroom was clean and spacious.

The hotel is in a good location—about 10 minutes walk to the Royal Mile. The staff friendly and courteous.

Breakfasts were good, there was an ample selection and the food was hot. My only criticism was that the haggis was too dry—possibly because it was not as popular and there was not the same turnover. We ate at the hotel most nights and in general the food was very good.

Room Tip: A superior room gives you a lot more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravel063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    610
    187
    62
    32
See reviews for
135
1,066
75
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Me and my boyfriend booked here for my birthday and we loved it. When we arrived the receptionist gave us a free upgrade to a superior room which I am glad as I walked past one of the smaller rooms which was tiny. The room was lovely and spacious. After we had went out for dinner we came back and the night porter was on the bar which was good as we got drinks from him. Only bad thing was that we were not reminded that the check out was 11 and not 12 so a hotel worker barged into our room while we were still sleeping, also the tv was rather small and the room was a bit dusty but over all good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Having stayed here after it had not long opened, we opted to book again after having such a lovely experience 1st time round!! We checked in and were upgraded to a Superior Room, which was very nice of them, The Receptionist had to call another guest to get the parking card from him to allow us access to the car park, there are approx 6 spaces, we were lucky to get the last space, It costs £15 for a 24 hour stay, which we though reasonable for being so close to the Royal Mile. When we arrived in our room, it was big but as previous comments stated, badly stained carpets, one of the glasses was dirty! the bathroom was very limited on soap, shower gel, no shampoo or conditioner, only 1 set of towels, I found another set in the wardrobe!! No towel to stand on when coming out of the bath!! Such a shame as the upgrade didn't live up to our expectations. We slept well in the big comfy bed, Breakfast was served til 10am, we went down at 9.20am and was shown to a table, we went up to the self serve breakfast, I managed to get a few things but they were dry & overcooked, I had to eat on my own as my husband ordered a fried egg which took about 12 mins to come to the table!! The food wasn't replenished while we were there, so anyone coming down after us, would most definately be disappointed at what was on offer. Its a pity we never experienced the same as we did on our 1st stay!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kax44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I'd stayed in this hotel which is owned by the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, about 5-6 years ago when I'd visited Edinburgh on a conference and liked it - so thought I'd try it again. But I was disappointed - it has become tired and shabbier in the intervening years. Didn't help that we were given a disabled person's bedroom - loved the bathroom last time! Front of house service was excellent but the breakfast, whilst extensive and only £8 extra, involved cooked items (bacon, sausage etc) which had been sitting under lights for a while - hard bacon and haggis which had dried to a crisp. Altogether a bit of a let-down. I'll let the surgeons keep it for themselves in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AquaSuliser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We’ve previously stayed here about 2 years ago. We had no complaints about our stay at that time and I have no real complaints this time. However, I wasn’t impressed.

Some things do seem to have been added since our last stay, as they now offer room service including a full breakfast in your room. On our previous stays there was no room service menu and the only breakfast you could have in the room was a selection of breakfast rolls. We didn’t sample the food though, so I can’t comment.

The place looks a bit run down and grubby, especially in the public areas. We stayed in a superior room which was spacious enough but the carpets were dirty and the place had a general air of being uncared for.

In general, it’s an adequate hotel with decent enough rooms, but there are none of the extra touches or even the basics that I would expect from a hotel in this price range. The quality simply doesn’t match the price and I’d describe it as a travel lodge dressed up with some nice furnishings.

We stayed here because it was so close to the Pleasance Courtyard where we were seeing some shows and we paid £215 through booking.com for an overnight stay (room only) Having previously stayed in places like Tigerlily for around the same price, there’s just no comparison. It feels soulless and tired.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was the third time that I had stayed at Ten Hill Place and it is my favourite hotel in Edinburgh, especially at Fringe time as they are located near many of the venues. We had one of their superior rooms, which are worth the extra cost, which had lots of room and for once the bathroom occupants could not be seen from the bed (I hate the glass bathroom doors which are not trendy anymore!). The staff are friendly and the breakfast good but a bit over-cooked.
They serve food but in the two weeks that we were there the menu did not change and with my wife being a veggie the options were reduced so we only ate in the hotel once. There are so many alternative places to eat nearby.
I asked to see one of their suites as I was considering booking it for next year but they never got back to me.
My only complaint about the room is that they don't have a fridge (the suites do, apparently) but you can get ice from the bar on request.
For some reason the room was cleaned at totally different times each day and on two occasions not at all.

Room Tip: Ask for superior room not overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank existentialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

A very last minute trip, the hotel has parking (£15 per day, it is secure, but tight to get into) The hotel is clean, friendly, good breakfast (we chose to include this in our bill, they charge £9.50 for it). We found the bed to be rock solid - why do hotels mistake firm for comfortable? Only one soap, 2 shampoos, never replenished - neither was the tea or milk until we asked. Like LostinBritain, I thought that the hotel was pricey. We stayed 3 nights.

One of my rants is that hotels pay their room service staff are so poorly paid, and have so little time to clean that it affects the guests experience. Our room was vaccuumed in the middle, but not around the edge - the bead that a previous guest had dropped was still there when we left. The slivers of glass in the bathrooom (again not caused by us) were cleared up after I asked. When you charge this amount, give the cleaners time to do their jobs thoroughly.

Room Tip: We were in room 219 - it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bootsmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,052 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as "conference hotel of the year 2015" Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Nozio Netplan srl, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing