We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here for a weekend just before christmas .All of the staff without exception were friendly and welcoming .The room was one of the smallest I have stayed in but perfectly comfortable .
The wine bar has an excellent selection of wines and whiskeys and the tapas we had here was delicious and reasonably priced .
The second night we ate in the restaurant ,rack of lamb with neeps tatties and haggis perfectly cooked and divine desserts -again reasonable price for the standard so dont be in too much of a rush to search out somewhere else to eat or you will miss out .
The breakfast selection was of a good standard and plentiful with chef on hand for omlettes etc.
The hotel is located about a 15 min walk from waverley station going up hill (not too steep) and a taxi from there will cost approx £3.50. We arrived by air and took the shuttle transfer to the station which is a cheaper option than a cab from the airport and frankly almost as convenient .
It is located off the main steet in a quiet cobbled road so no nightime noise ..
A 5 minute walk will get you to the royal mile and the castle is walkable in 10 minutes.
All in all if you want a nice quality well located hotel at a reasonable price compared to other 4 star hotels you wont go far wrong here.Would definately return .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitkat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback and "full marks" score, the whole team will be delighted to read your comments. I have no doubt that the head chef and his brigade will be most pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated their cooking. Indeed our location makes a perfect base for getting out and about exploring the city.

You say that you will definitely return - what more could we ask for! Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Chris & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed at Ten Hill Place Hotel for 2 nights just after the New Year. Arrived early afternoon and was quickly checked in by the friendly reception staff.

We had a room on the third floor which was very nice. Had a large bed,sitting area and bathroom. The room was very cold and when we put the heating on it was very very loud. However we left the heating on and went out and when we got back the room was warm and stayed warm.

Yes there is a frosted glass door to the bathroom but you can't see through it. The bathroom was clean, the toilet tissue was of rather poor quality and they were rather skimpy with the amount.

There was tea and coffee facilities, an iron and safe. All in all the room was nice but there could be an improvement on the housekeeping. The bins weren't emptied and the tea and coffee weren't replaced. I know it was the weekend but it felt like the bare minimum was done in the room.

Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were very good and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was a buffet There is also a wine bar which was very nice.

The hotel is very close to the old town and within walking distance of Waverly train station and Princess Street.

All in all a good hotel and with a little improvement with housekeeping it could be great.

We would definitely return.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graemsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review which will be shared with the team. I will of course discuss the minor issues with our housekeeping department. Please accept my apologies for any shortcomings.

Overall it does appear that you have really enjoyed your stay with us, the chefs will delighted to read that you enjoyed dining with us. You mention you would definitely stay again - thanks for your endorsement!

We look forward to seeing you sometime in the not too distant future.

Chris & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My boyfriend took me here for my birthday in December 2013. We wanted a hotel that was local as we were going to see a show in the Playhouse.
When we arrived we had a warm welcome and were checked in within a few minutes.
We went to the bar to ask for some champagne glasses and a wine cooler (no problem with this even though we weren’t buying anything at the bar)
We arrived at room 302 and were pleasantly surprised with the rooms. The room was lovely. We had all the amenities we required (iron, ironing table etc) and even a safe to store away our stuff we didn’t want to take out with us.
We had a nice sleep that evening and the bed was very comfortable. We loved the 12pm checkout as we got to sleep in before a day sightseeing in Edinburgh.
Only think I didn’t like was the dirty marks on the carpet (needs a good industrial clean) and when I woke up at 7am to get a glass of water the water from the bathroom was warm (cold tap) and it had white specks floating through it (would have been sitting in the tank overnight)
The hotel was walking distance to the Playhouse (10-15 minutes max)
Would recommend – take a big bottle of water with you to drink - rather than tap water!!!

Room Tip: room at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hideandseek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your great comments and feedback. Really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great birthday!

You mention white specks in the tap water. Occasionally white specks or cloudiness can occur, this is due to our water services being pumped from the basement up throughout the building. Small pockets of air become trapped and dissolve under pressure in to the water as it is pumped around the piping. The water drawn from a tap will clear after a few moments as it is no longer under pressure and the air dissipates. This is more prevalent during winter months as very cold water under pressure will dissolve more air. I merely explain as to fully assure you that this occurrence is completely harmless.

Your review headline states you had a lovely stay and you would return, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Chris & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is basic, our room was basic, upon arrival for my birthday weekend the couple in front of us were told they had a complimentary upgrade quite loudly in front of us, which I did not think was very discreet with us standing right behind them!
The room is okay with spacious bathroom, but the bathroom is tatty - sealant broken around the bath and floor and peeling dirty window - needs refreshing (beware of the glass screen door so you do not have much privacy in the bathroom!!)
The toilet roll at the airports were nicer than the half a roll left in our room when we checked in, also the tissue box had one tissue in it and was not re filled in our three night stay
We left out the sign to make up our room each morning and not once we were offered or recieved clean sheets or towels - not even given the option (I appreciate we have to be careful with the environment but I do think a four star hotel should at least offer, you go away for a little luxury!) The soap, shampoo and tea were not re filled and our mugs were left dirty, On our first night we took a sandwich back to our room and split crumbs on the bedside table and floor and the cleaners did not wipe up and hoover for us (obviously we did not have hoover or cloths to clean up after ourselves)
The hotel is very like a travel lodge but a little pricier, it was average with not a very good house keeping department
The hotel is nice and central with most attractions a short walk away, reception staff friendly
We really enjoyed our weekend but I did feel it needed noting that it is an 'okay' hotel,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Unfortunately due to the anonymous nature of tripadvisor I cannot clearly identify your reservation, room number or date of stay from our system.

Naturally I was disappointed to read your comments and would wish to offer my apologies if we have not fulfilled your expectations, regrettably I have only found out after reading your review. Most certainly it would have been our most sincere wish to put right and correct any dissatisfaction immediately during your stay. I would welcome a little more detail as I merely wish to put right and address anything that is not as expected, please do feel free contact me directly at the hotel.

Chris & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights just after New Years, great location, clean, tidy and comfortable rooms at a very reasonable rate through laterooms.com, would highly recommend, thanks for a great stay !!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Your comments, feedback and recommendation is most appreciated. We would wish to welcome you back in the near future, please do contact us directly for equally great rates and offers.

Chris & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Service in the bar and reception was very good. Service at breakfast was very poor and a number of guests were disappointed with the wait you had to get hot food items. Coffee and food were not replenished as they ran out and we had to wait ages to get food cooked. No one looks to see what breakfast items are needing replenished and wait on clients queuing up to get food as it comes out.

The rooms were very clean the only thing but was very cold when you first go into them. Once you put the heating on it takes about 20 minutes before it starts to heat up- suggestion is to put your cases in the room , turn heating on and go downstairs to the bar for a drink thereby the time you get to the room it should be more comfortable.

The hotel is central to Edinburgh and the Festival Theatre with many eating places nearby but would suggest you book a table beforehand.

We travelled by Megabus from Glasgow direct to St Andrews Square and was only £8 each return which is cheaper than taking the car and trying to park. Service is almost every 15 minutes and can be booked online. Would try the hotel again just to see if the breakfast problem was a one off as have not noticed it being brought up before.

Room Tip: Put on the heating when you get in the room and then go to the bar for a drink, By the time you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgaryok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your feedback which will be shared with the team for making the necessary improvements. I do note that you would stay with us again which is highly re-assuring.

Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.

Chris & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Really good hotel.
Nice little touches such as a late night menu on Hogmanay & Bloody Mary's on offer for breakfast on Jan 1st.
Really good location, easy walking distance to everything!!!
Breakfasts were very good too!
Only negative was partly my misunderstanding, thinking i'd paid already and not anticipating a bill at checkout!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for sharing your great comments, the team will also be delighted to read them. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Chris & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,559 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £81 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as "conference hotel of the year 2015" Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing