We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable anniversary stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #24 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable anniversary stay!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed here recently with my girlfriend to celebrate being together for two years. Hotel was in a really good location, although the first time trying to find it, I may have gone the longer way much to the disgust of my missus. But once you learn the quickest way to the city centre, you'll find the location excellent. On arrival, check-in wasn't available but that wasn't a problem as they were able to hold our bags. They were also happy to hold our bags after we had checked out.

The room wasn't the biggest but was snug, comfortable, and well kept. Big cosy bed and a tv with enough channels to keep us amused if needed. Bathroom was nice, power shower was great, although both myself and my girlfriend found it slightly weird that whilst the glass bathroom door was for the most part opaque, there were transparent strips. A little odd since I imagine most people would want complete privacy while they're doing their business!

Breakfast was yummy and it was all you could eat. Good choice of food, cold and warm. Plenty of drinks with tea or coffee and fruit juices. No water though which again I found odd.

Staff were great, really friendly, both in the restaurant and at reception. Room service was awesome too! We both really enjoyed our stay, and given the chance we would probably be back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stav_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Great to read your review, it does sound like you had a very enjoyable stay with us. The team will appreciate you comments regarding the comfort and standard of your room as well as the friendliness of the team members.

We are currently undertaking a small project to attend to the bathrooms doors which we will have completed very soon.

You do say that you would stay with us again in a heart beat - that is highly re-assuring to read.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    600
    184
    60
    29
See reviews for
130
1,040
73
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights during the half term week. Overall the hotel was very good. When we checked in the staff looked at me and my girlfriend very strangely as if for some reason we weren't staying here. Probably because we are only 18, but yeah we can afford to stay here to you know. But apart from that the hotel was very good! Stayed in a superior room which was nice and spacious! Bed was comfy and the bathroom clean. Only addition I would of liked was maybe a mini bar. We went to the zoo one day and had to ask reception which bus to get on and she was extremely helpful! Overall good. SOME staff members need a lesson in customer service in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam2396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your comments relating to the comfort and cleanliness of your bedroom are most appreciated.

I would very much welcome a little more detail regarding some of your other comments as I would simply wish to put right what is not as expected. Do feel free to contact me at the hotel as I would be more than happy to discuss further.

Hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over valentines weekend. It was booked by my boyfriend as a suprise and what a great suprise! We stayed in one of the suites. The view was lovely, the room spacious, clean and comfortable and the bed large and cosey. The staff were friendly upon check in and members of house keeping polite. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night. The food was lovely and the waiting staff attentive! I was shocked the restaurant was empty!! We also had a drink in the bar which had a lovely atmosphere with the piano player.
A great hotel with a really good location. Everything is within walking distance!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cat_wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for commenting so positively upon our hotel, the entire team will be delighted to read your review.

We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here in one of the skyline suites to celebrate a special wedding anniversary. The room was very comfortable, spotless & we enjoyed the views. Short walk to city centre attractions. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Great views from skyline suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sj2012104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Great to read and receive you're excellent comments. Firstly, belated anniversary wishes! Thank you for commenting upon our cleanliness and the friendliness of the team members, they too will be most pleased.

Look forward to welcoming you back sometime again.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here on valentines night and enjoyed our stay. The room was a little on the small side but very clean and welcoming, staff were friendly and engaging. Be warned though that parking is limited and it's first come first serve so be there early if possible, parking is charged at £15 for the night. Would stay here again, check out at 11am but you can get a later check out which is charged at £10 per hour.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your review and commenting upon your bedroom cleanliness and our friendly team members.

Indeed we have limited on site parking, six spaces which are offered first come first served. Ten Hill Place is one of only a very few hotels in Edinburgh city who can offer such a facility. Our pricing compared to alternative parking options and other hotels is very keen.

Great to read that you enjoyed your special night and hope to welcome you back again.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just spent Saturday night again at 10 Hill Place and there is nothing that I dislike about this great hotel. From the friendly, efficient check-in/check out, the stylish cosy room with a good bed, complimentary tea,coffee,biscuits etc and water and the lovely Arran Aromatics toiletries - everything
perfect. The food is excellent and the fresh breakfast delicious with lots of choices. But apart from the good value, comfort and great location - what really clinches it for me as an Edinburgh choice is their ethical and environmental policies. I love that profits are invested back into supporting the activities of The Royal College of Surgeons who own the property.
The hotel is ideal for attending theatre or concerts nearby. It is also in a charming, peaceful Georgian square. We first discovered it last year when we dropped in for lunch after a Fringe event and then returned for an overnight stay after a concert at the Queens Hall in October. We will be returning in August for another stay during the Fringe. Apart from the hotel's restaurant and wine bar there are lots of excellent places in this area of Edinburgh and lots of variety on hand

Room Tip: The 2 superior rooms that we have stayed in (October 2013 and February 2014) have been excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you most sincerely for your "full marks" review. The whole team will be highly delighted to read your comments. I would like to thank you also for your previous custom and note that you will be staying with us again in August. This in itself speaks volumes!

Due to the anonymous nature of Tripadvisor I cannot clearly identify your previous or future bookings. Do come and say hello in August I would wish to welcome you back and thank you personally.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have stayed at the Ten Hill Place Hotel twice now and both experiences have been excellent, the most recent time in February 2014. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was a reasonable size, was very clean, and despite being above the entrance overlooking the front of the hotel, was quiet enough for an excellent night's sleep. The rooms next to ours were occupied and we didn't hear our neighbours either.

The hotel is in a great location, less than a ten minute walk from the Royal Mile, and close to lots of nice restaurants and cafes. If you're after a hearty breakfast in the local area, try the Edinburgh Larder on Blackfriars Street, or if you just want a good coffee go to Kilimanjaro Coffee on Nicolson Street.

Overall, an excellent experience, no complaints at all. I would definitely return to the Ten Hill.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hert3284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks ever so much for taking the time to share your review and your great comments. I do note that you are a returning guest, your custom is highly valued. The team will be highly delighted to read your review.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again!

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#35 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as "conference hotel of the year 2015" Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing