We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all quite disappointing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #28 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All in all quite disappointing...”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I booked ten hill place for my fiancee's birthday through their "winter warmer" deal. On arrival the receptionist was very pleasant. I paid a little extra for a "superior" room which was nice, but not as nice as i'd imagined. Seemed fairly average for a hotel of this type. The bed was comfortable and the shower wonderful. There was a single bottle of water in a room for two which was a little odd and disgracefully an opened and half eaten packet of biscuits!.. We never ate in the hotel, £12.50 for a buffet breakfast seemed extortionate when i knew i could get an ample one in city cafe for £4!

I had enquired about parking when booking and had received no reply so had assumed it would be included. It was not and was charged at £15 a day. I must add that when i explained this to the receptionist and our situation she was very helpful and managed to waive our parking for one night.

The staff were pleasant and helpful but the accommodation was disappointing and attention to detail lacking.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheeky1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for sharing your feedback. I was very pleased to read that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. Sorry to read that your room was not to your liking. I will of course share your comments directly with the house keeping team.

I do hope that you would give us the future opportunity to welcome you back to have a more memorable stay for all the right reasons.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    620
    190
    63
    32
See reviews for
138
1,078
75
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

1st visit to this hotel-very impressed.Nice modern decor, we were in a classic double room comfy king size bed loads of floor space.Bathroom spacious plenty hot water-good power shower.Great location near to the Royal Mile.Would definitely stay again-good value for money-was room only basis.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Whitela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Then Hill Place and thank you for your great comments. Our location makes our hotel a brilliant choice for both leisure and business travellers. You say that you would definitely stay with us again, your compliment is most appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Do be sure to contact us directly in order to make your next booking, we'd be delighted to oversee your arrangements with our great rates, exclusive offers and personal attention.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Located well for all the sites in Edinburgh, the staff were friendly and the rooms very modern and comfortable. We eat in the restaurant once and the food was good - not great - but good and Breakfasts were also perfectly acceptable.

All in all this is a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Your feedback is most appreciated, thanks for doing so. You say that you would stay with us again, this is most reassuring to read.

Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

On arrival the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful and we set off to our room. Then it changed, one bottle of water, one packet of biscuits..2 guests!!!!! The room felt very tired and not overly clean. Breakfast was an extra £12.50 each and nothing special, chef dosn't appear to know how to poach eggs,I prefer mine cooked. On our second evening having been out all day we came back to a bed that had had the duvet pulled up! Sheets not even touched and bathroom not cleaned, no fresh water, coffee or biscuits. All in all a very disappointing experience for the price, most definitely will not be staying here again....Premier Inn wins again...and again

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MelroseMillie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Naturally I would wish to offer my apologies as I was disappointed to read your comments and will discuss them with the team in detail.

Most sincerely we would have wished to have been given the opportunity to put right and quickly remedy anything that was not as expected, unfortunately we have only found out after reading your review.

I do hope that we may welcome you back sometime in the future to enjoy a more memorable stay for all the right reasons.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This is in a good location for a short break. We had a standard room which was small but cosy and clean. We did not eat or drink at the hotel so can not comment on those services, however all the staff we encountered were all pleasant. Our only complaint was that the shower gel was not replenished on the second day, but all in all we had a pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 24Claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for taking the time to share your review, your comments are most appreciated.

I do hope that you would choose and wish to stay with us again. Perhaps upon a future visit you would try our bar and restaurant we have some excellent wines and fabulous cooking going on.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have stayed here a few times now. Its my preferred hotel in Edinburgh when visiting for short work related trips, as it is on site with the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh. It has a great location.
The rooms are nice, tidy, and cosy. The breakfast is also great. Staff are friendly and are very helpful.
I would recommend this hotel if you are visiting Edinburgh for business/work for a short 2-3 day trip

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yhiqbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Your comments are most appreciated, I note that you have stayed with us several times previously, thank you for your custom. Our location is an excellent choice for both business and leisure travellers. The team will be delighted to read your review.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We've just got back from a one week stay at 10 Hill Place. We'd stayed once before - years ago - but also cancelled one stay with them as it had seemed their standards had dipped. We were therefore a little apprehensive as we didn't want to see a hotel we had fond memories of slip into shabbiness. As it was, we were impressed by the work done to the communal areas. The new wine bar is very smart, and I hope the restaurant gets similar treatment soon.

Our room was very much as we remembered; quite spacious, tastefully decorated and comfortable. Yes, there are signs of wear and tear on the furniture and in the bathroom but please remember this is a small hotel, not a massive chain, so I can forgive a few scratches and dents.

We found the staff to be very friendly and obliging, the bar man went out of his way to help us and the staff on reception always had a smile for you.

What let things down somewhat was the housekeeping, who seemed to miss our room on a couple of days. It was a little annoying but nothing that would ruin your holiday.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was very good. We liked that it went on later at weekends. The vegetarian sausages weren't up to much but I am assured that the meat ones were lovely! The toaster was rubbish - really slow and inadequate for a restaurant serving so many diners. It was great to have eggs cooked to order each morning though. They have a good system which works well. The hotel offered farls at breakfast, which were awesome, but it would have been nice to have hash browns too.

The hotel is in a good location. If the hotel bar proves a little costly there is a friendly pub a little way away called The Southsider which offered good value and has just been refurbed. It took us six or seven minutes to walk to the Royal Mile, maybe 12 to 15 minutes to walk to Prince's Street. There were lots of buses in the area, and loads of restaurants too. You are a stone's throw from The Surgeons Museum, The Museum of Scotland and many university buildings.

We were very happy that we returned to 10 Hill Place. Just a little more attention to detail would have got this a 5 star review - things like a gym room, ice machine, wine glasses etc. For what we paid I think we had a bargain, though, and I would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quincybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your highly detailed feedback and are most happy to read that you chose to return, in recent months we have taken great steps to improve our service and offering. We highly appreciate your review headline.

Naturally I will share your other comments with the team. I do wish we were given the opportunity to put right anything that was not as expected.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,361 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,124 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,069 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as "conference hotel of the year 2015" Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing