We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #27 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Short break in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I had been looking forward to a trip to Edinburgh for some time and was glad I chose Ten hill place. I stayed with my husband for two nights in March and am already planning our next trip. Edinburgh was amazing. The hotel is really well located, close to Grassmarket and the Royal Mile. Our room was a good size with an enormous bed. Staff were friendly and helpful. Look forward to staying with you again for the Christmas Market.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feefee2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We are most happy to read that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our excellent location does make Ten Hill Place a brilliant choice for getting out and about exploring the city.

I note that you are looking forward to your next stay with us, that is very pleasing to read!!

We look forward to welcoming you back in December, do be sure to contact us directly when booking your room.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    610
    187
    62
    32
See reviews for
136
1,066
75
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very friendly and welcoming staff who were even up for an intelligent debate about Scottish independence and very knowledgable about buses which saved on taxi fares. Rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped, the location is quiet yet convenient for the Festival Theatre and city centre attractions. Breakfast buffet provided ample fuel for the day. Happy to recommend for business trip or short city break.

Room Tip: Hotel is in a quiet side street with little traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldWulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review and great comments. I am sure the team will be best pleased to read your feedback. Your recommendation to others is most welcome. Our location make us a brilliant choice for both leisure and business travellers alike.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again sometime soon.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I've stayed here several times and found it attractive, pleasant and clean with a reasonable bar/cafe and good wifi in the room. Rooms are a reasonable size and comfortable. I haven't used the restaurant, as there are many good places in walking distance. It's an easy walk to the Royal Mile and many other attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your great comments and feedback. I do note that you have stayed with us on previous occasions and wish to thank you for your custom. Perhaps on your next visit you will dine in No. 10 Restaurant - we have some excellent cooking going on...

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

First of all every day after the room was cleaned the lady left the door unlocked.
Fire alarm triggered by mistake at 5.20am by a member staff.
Bed sheets are too small for the bed.
Electric safety checked due for about 4 years like you can check on the pictures.
How can be a suppose 4 star hotel with a 4 year missing electric check?

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel by any means
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gonçalo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments and feedback. I do wish to address your points about safety in our hotel. We are fully compliant and highly diligent with all matters relating to health and safety. I sincerely wish that I was given the opportunity to discuss in person your concerns, I would have gladly shared with you the relevant documents showing our electrical tests and records. I as any other hotelier would have merely wished the full opportunity to address and put right anything that was not as expected.

The pictures that you have posted are of a towel rail, a fixed electrical appliance, which for some reason has a portable appliance test sticker attached to it. I cannot explain why this appliance would have such a test sticker attached to it especially as it would be from 4-5 years ago, many years before my time. Portable electrical appliances, those that are moved from place to place frequently are required to be tested annually, portable electrical appliances which do not move frequently are required to be tested every three years. Towel rails do not fall in to these categories. Any towel rail that was not operating correctly would be reported by the housekeeping team. Any potential serious electrical fault could be identified by the relevant breaker switch continually tripping on the distribution board serving the room or during the fixed wire testing which occurs every five years.

I do wish to fully assure any readers that our electrical safety records and test certificates are fully up to date. Portable appliance testing for the hotel is scheduled to take place during the month of May, in excess of 600 electrical appliances will be tested. Our fixed wire electrical testing is not due until April 2017.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Good value, placed perfectly in the city and just a stones throw from the royal mile, clean bedroom great sizes and comfy beds at the end of a long day of trekking, very handy with the car parking facilities also! definitely would stay here again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JonQuiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We are most pleased to receive and read your review. Thanks for your great comments relating to our location, space, comfort and cleanliness of your bedroom. You say that you will definitely stay again - what more could we ask for!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

A pleasant, clean, modern, 4 star hotel situated a short stroll from Royal Mile. Staff are very friendly & helpful & take good care of their customers. Had a delicious dinner in the restaurant; fillet steak with dauphinoise potatoes was superb & the Amaretto ice cream delicious! Breakfast was great with lots of choice and plentiful coffee.
Room was small, but well decorated with a comfortable bed. The bathroom clean and modern with a good powerful shower.
Would stay again if in Edinburgh.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks ever so much for your great comments, the team too will be delighted to read your review. You say that you would stay with us again - what more could we ask for!!

Do be sure to contact us directly to make your next booking.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have been to Edinburgh at least once a year for the last five years, and we have never been inclined to stay anywhere else. Ten Hill Place has always been clean and modern, and we have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The rooms are light and airy with all the mod cons you could reasonably want, and we have never been disappointed. In our experience the hotel has always responded well to both praise and criticism, and we have had little reason to offer the latter. We will be returning to Edinburgh later in the year, and Ten Hill Place is where we will be staying.

Room Tip: For a bit of extra luxury try the Skyline suites. We stayed in one of them once and it was wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We are all highly delighted to receive and read your review, thank you very much. I would wish to thank you for your previous custom and very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,052 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as "conference hotel of the year 2015" Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing