We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #25 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Exeter
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

Lovely hotel - really well-priced (£74 a nice with breakfast buffet) for what can be an expensive place hotels-wise.

The room was lovely. Large, and fairly neutrally decorated. However, there were a few signs of wear and tear around the place. A little chipped paint here and there - nothing that would ruin your break, but just stops it being perfect.

The breakfast was a huge plus point - all you can eat continental band cooked buffet is a great start to the day!

If you're on holiday and would rather spend your money living it up in Edinburgh than on where you're sleeping you'd be hard pushed to beat 10 hill Place. I'll definitely be back!

  • Liked — The location and the price!
  • Disliked — Slight roughness around the edges in some places. Only slight though!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quincybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    585
    180
    60
    29
See reviews for
127
1,004
69
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

The best 3 star hotel I have ever stayed in, bar none.
Everything was new, the hotel was very well laid out and decorated nicely. Breakfast was good and no complaints at all about the service.
There are plenty of sites/bars/restaurants within walking distance.
I will definitely return here next time I stay in Edinburgh.
Our room was very quiet and relaxing

You can book with total confidence, you will enjoy your stay.

  • Liked — Plushness of the room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SBok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

I booked this hotel through alpharooms and got a superb deal on 2 nights accomodation including breakfast. I had read previous reviews about walking up a 'big' hill but I could not seem to find this 'big hill' but perhaps I didn't notice it due to being on the younger side of life??

The hotel is in an excellent location. It is just off a main road so is pretty quiet but the Royal Mile and Castle and in close proximity. Just round the corner are plenty of places to eat from a few restaurants, a KFC and plenty of sandwich shops.

The rooms are really tastefully decorated, very clean and very modern the only problem we did have was it was quite warm in the rooms so the aircon was on quite a bit and it was a bit noisy but this was the only fault we could find.

There is a small but varied selection of breakfast, plenty to fill you up for a day of walking round Edinburgh and looking at the menu the other food and drinks served in the hotel are reasonably priced, not your usual hotel prices.

We had a really nice stay at the hotel and would definately stay there again!

  • Liked — The proximity to attractions and hotel style
  • Disliked — The aircon
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ell1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

This is unlikely to stay a 3 star hotel for long. We had a huge room which was better than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in. It is a great location if you want to be fairly central but you don't want to be in a noisy area. It is about a 10 min walk to the centre and there are loads of buses that stop nearby. There is plenty of choice for breakfast and the service is good. The rack rates start at £110 but we only paid £65 via Alpha Rooms.

  • Liked — Price, location and size of room
  • Disliked — Pillows were a bit small but I am sure they would have changed them if we asked
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MellyMelBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

This hotel cost half what I was going to pay at another place and overall we had a nice stay. The internet didn't work in the room for some reason but that wasn't a problem as I have mobile internet.

Our room was a little dissapointing as it had a door to an adjoining room that didn't provide as good noise insulation as a wall would. But maid service was good and the room was nice otherwise.

I'd probably not stay there again but only because I'd like to try somewhere else and would still recommend it as a relatively good value, pretty central place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porthmadog wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

as with the majority of other reviews this is a great hotel to stay in Edinburgh, Only 10 - 15 min walk down to Princess St. and even closer to the Royal Mile. New and quite modern with nice facilities provided. Breakfast very good although surprised to find it finished at 10 am on New Years Day of all mornings.
Rooms extremely comfortable with clean modern bathroom.
You can book this hotel with confidence as you will not be
dissapointed.

  • Liked — clean and modern
  • Disliked — early breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ioanemlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

Booked this hotel as it it very close to the festival theatre. We only paid £65 for a double room for a saturday night. this is a fantastic price for a decent edinburgh hotel in a central location but I supose this is alot to do with the time of the year.

We phoned ahead to ask about parking and was told there own car park was full. This was not a problem as I know edinburgh well and knew that you could park in the street for free from saturday evening right through sunday. The recepionist on the phone though was absolutley no help at all when I asked if there was any on street parking near the hotel. I even named steets and asked how close they were but she just kept insisting that we parked in the NCP car park nearby (not that nearby) and we would get a 10% discount and obviously they were on commision too. Anyway when we arrived there was loads of spaces in the streets right next to the hotel and you can park for free after 630pm.

The checkin was quick and easy and if when checking in you book your breakfast you get a wee discound.

We were in one of the cheap rooms so we wernt surprised when our room was rather small and at street level. It was however very modern. very clean and had a large bathroom with a big bath. The main reason I have only given this hotel a 3 score though is the noise. This was from the aircon /heating unit. I work on an oilrig and am more than used to noise when i'm trying to sleep but this was unbelievable. It sounded like someone was using a food processor in our room. We turned it off and the noise didnt get any better. It was only in the morning that we realised that there was somesort of industrial aircon/fridge unit outside our window. So if you get room 107 get moved.

We went for a drink in the ultra modern bar after we had been to the show. The guy who looked like the bar manager was behind the bar when we walked in. there was no other customers in the the bar but this guy was obviously too busy to even acknowlege our presence. He just carried on until a girl came through from the back and served. I dont know what the americans that visit edinburgh must think of the service in this country coz at times its embarassing, this guy was a disgrace. When we came to pay for our drinks the till jammed and the girl couldnt open it. After her struggleing for a good five minutes the guy stormed off through the back and fixed it.

The breakfast was great. It cost £8.50 but was worth every penny. The staff were also great. very chatty and helpfull. There was a great choice of both cooked and continental and it was all fresh. Checkout was very slow. The girl on the desk was trying to take all the phonecalls as well as check everyone out. They could definetly do with 2 checkout staff when everyone is leaveing at the same time.

A very good point though is that you can check out right up until 12 on a sunday.

Overall a decent hotel that could be very very good if they upped there game a wee bit and got rid of certain staff and maybe employed a few more. WIFI not available either. There is internet on the TV but they charge.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the noise
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexander1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as 'conference hotel of the year 2015' Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing