We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to rest your head”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dorstan Guest House
Ranked #63 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Without a prior booking 4 of us strolled into the Dorstan with our fingers crossed. It looks very nice from the outside, so it looked quite promising. The inside did not dissapoint. We were greeted by Richard. He was extremly friendly and also told us about what to do in Edinburgh. He was helpful with the bus routes as well. The Dorstan is not walking distance to the Royal Mile, but it was a quick and easy bus ride.

We stayed in a family suite, which was actually 2 completely separate rooms, with a conjoining hallway. We were able to lock 2 doors for added security. Both rooms were quite average. The beds were pretty hard, but manageable. One of the rooms didn't have a toilet in the room, so we had to leave the room and go into the main hall to use the bathroom. The room with no toilet did have a shower and a sink next to the beds though. The shower was certainly not private. I wouldn't allow someone in the room while showering, unless you are FULLY comfortable with them seeing you naked.

The next morning we were woken up by banging on the door quite early, by Makki. She was trying to tell us breakfast was ready. We had requested breakfast at a later time. After rushing to breakfast, it was DELICIOUS. The two of them make it and serve it, and it is quite delightful.

Just as a warning, be aware they are very prompt with check out times. 15 minutes before check out times we were getting knocks to warn us that we only had 15 minutes left. This continued every few minutes until we left.

All in all, it was average. My friends did stay there again, and I would as well, because you know you are getting a nice, clean place to rest.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

This review to be fair is a wee bit late as i last went here four years ago but feel it worthy to note still.Richard the owner is a jolly pleasent man who could not do more to be helpfull.I went there on a total of 3 to 4 times as my gf was a local girl and i am from channel islands which made me travel a fair bit.The rooms richard gave us were always clean and tidy and beds were comfy.The cooked breakfasts in mornings were also very nice to,You could do a lot worse than stay here for a wee break

Room Tip: Ask for double en suite.very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseyscots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I wish to comend Richard & Makki for their "Great Hospitality" We had room 8 and the confort and clenniness was outstanding...........The best was breakfast! Superb! Delicious! Fantastic!
I would recommend this Guest House very highly..........Thank You once again for making this part of a "Great" Weekend! It was my wife's Birthday and we LOVED Edinburgh sooooooh much!

With Best Wishes!

Michael & Marina Felicetti

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelFelicetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We had Room No.8 upstairs in it was just great ... everything was just like we had anticipated or even better ... a warm welcome, good recomendations to get to the city and were to eat ... a lovely room (as long as you don't want to spend half your vacation in it - its a little bit small for that) ... additional equipment like a hair drier and tea/coffee-making facilities were in the room ... and when we had to leave early in the morning we got the breakfast more than an hour before it is usual ... Thanks for a really nice and pleasant stay ... won't be the last time in Edinburgh and not the last time in the Dorstan House!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuelFaessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We arrived kind of late but the owner Richard was ready for us gave us some quick tips for food and such. We had 2 rooms downstairs and they were cozy, comfortable and convenient. We were with 4 children and Richard and his wife adapt to any situation. We stayed there twice before and after visiting the highlands. We had a lot of laundry at some point and his lovely wife took care of it.
Great service, breakfast was very good with lots of choice. 10-15 minute walk to center of town or take a bus and you get there in minutes. We really hope to visit Scotland end Edinburgh again and will stay at Dorstan again. No need to look any further.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The Dorstan is a gentle guest house. We were very comfortable there. The personal is really friendly, specially Richard because he's very funny and he worried about us when we had a trouble with a taxi.
The breakfast was delicious, we liked porridge and haggis.
The room is big but the bathroom is a little bit small. Go to this guest house to have a good time like we did.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggPaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I went with my family here twice in one vacation and it was great! The hospitality is absolutely wonderful! Richard was always very helpful and gave us great ideas as to what we should do to get the best out of our short stay. And its in a great area, not so close to the central city area that you can't sleep but still close enough for people like us who had no car and had to walk into the city.
I also liked the rooms, simple old fashioned style, but still very comfortable. Bottom line, GREAT hotel. GREAT hospitality. I would absolutely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Acer Lodge Guest House
#54 of 395 in Edinburgh
146 reviews
Thistle House
#308 of 395 in Edinburgh
116 reviews
Caravel Guest House
#194 of 395 in Edinburgh
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#196 of 395 in Edinburgh
204 reviews
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#48 of 395 in Edinburgh
203 reviews
94DR
#5 of 395 in Edinburgh
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorstan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorstan Guest House

Address: 7 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £42 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorstan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dorstan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorstan Private Hotel
Dorstan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing