We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dorstan Guest House
Ranked #82 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Find!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Dorstan Guest house while experiencing Edinburgh. We loved Richard and Maki's warm and friendly hospitality which made our stay very comfortable. A small parking lot is included in the property so we could leave our car behind and make the short walk to the bus which took us right into the city. We were pleased to find such a charming place for such an affordable price! The room was very clean and the breakfasts were fantastic. Definitely a place to recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerdaDaValle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    70
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
29
97
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely hotel and can highly recommend it! Very comfortable room, great service and fantastic breakfast. Great location too, a short bus ride into the city centre. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McStuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

my partner and I stayed here recently for 4 nights in a double ensuite room and we found it very comfortable. we had a very friendly welcome and the room came with plenty of tea and biscuits, as well as soaps/shower gels in the bathroom. towels were changed every day and although the room was a little dated it really didnt bother us at all. there was a lot of choice at breakfast, which came quickly every morning and richard was more than happy to suggest ideas for the day. almost every day we walked towards the royal mile, this took about half an hour but was a pleasant walk.

we really enjoyed our time here and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremely hospitable and well informed on the city and attractions. The rooms are a little dated but I think quite fitting for the feel of Edinburghs old town. Most importantly they were clean and tidy. There was plenty of choice for the breakfast and whist the quantity a little too much for me, my husband was more than happy! Overall, very good value and would definitely stay there again :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Full credit to the owner for a friendly welcome, with tea, etc and a lovely breakfast served by the host's gentle partner but oh dear, very tired and shabby accommodation. My room was grubby with shabby furniturel; the family's clothes were in one of the drawer units. The duvet was of a poor quality. The patio doors in the sitting room/kitchenette looked out onto the bins which were overflowing with rubbish. I could not access the wardrobe as the bed was so close to it. The small, narrow bathroom with a sliding door that just did not fit the opening, really required some updating. The bathroom window was grubby, with no blind or curtain. There were no little extras provided at all, though I did receive a tiny bar of soap on my last evening which I did not understand. I do feel that the charges for this B&B are way too steep and should be more in line with hostel charges. My stay at the Dorstan was memorable for all the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thatsamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Without a prior booking 4 of us strolled into the Dorstan with our fingers crossed. It looks very nice from the outside, so it looked quite promising. The inside did not dissapoint. We were greeted by Richard. He was extremly friendly and also told us about what to do in Edinburgh. He was helpful with the bus routes as well. The Dorstan is not walking distance to the Royal Mile, but it was a quick and easy bus ride.

We stayed in a family suite, which was actually 2 completely separate rooms, with a conjoining hallway. We were able to lock 2 doors for added security. Both rooms were quite average. The beds were pretty hard, but manageable. One of the rooms didn't have a toilet in the room, so we had to leave the room and go into the main hall to use the bathroom. The room with no toilet did have a shower and a sink next to the beds though. The shower was certainly not private. I wouldn't allow someone in the room while showering, unless you are FULLY comfortable with them seeing you naked.

The next morning we were woken up by banging on the door quite early, by Makki. She was trying to tell us breakfast was ready. We had requested breakfast at a later time. After rushing to breakfast, it was DELICIOUS. The two of them make it and serve it, and it is quite delightful.

Just as a warning, be aware they are very prompt with check out times. 15 minutes before check out times we were getting knocks to warn us that we only had 15 minutes left. This continued every few minutes until we left.

All in all, it was average. My friends did stay there again, and I would as well, because you know you are getting a nice, clean place to rest.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This review to be fair is a wee bit late as i last went here four years ago but feel it worthy to note still.Richard the owner is a jolly pleasent man who could not do more to be helpfull.I went there on a total of 3 to 4 times as my gf was a local girl and i am from channel islands which made me travel a fair bit.The rooms richard gave us were always clean and tidy and beds were comfy.The cooked breakfasts in mornings were also very nice to,You could do a lot worse than stay here for a wee break

Room Tip: Ask for double en suite.very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyscots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Gladstone House
#84 of 392 in Edinburgh
106 reviews
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#198 of 392 in Edinburgh
204 reviews
Alba House
#48 of 392 in Edinburgh
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Sixteen
#96 of 392 in Edinburgh
46 reviews
Strathallan Guest House
#71 of 392 in Edinburgh
213 reviews
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#45 of 392 in Edinburgh
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorstan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorstan Guest House

Property: Dorstan Guest House
Address: 7 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorstan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Dorstan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorstan Private Hotel
Dorstan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing