We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dorstan Guest House
Ranked #76 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Located in a beautiful Victorian House the Guest House is perfectly located just 10 minutes away by bus from down-town Edinburgh. The owner was very friendly and gave us precise information on how to get into town and the places we should not miss. They have a very efficient way for breakfast where you select your food the previous day so that when you sit on the table all you need to do is tell them your room number. Very nice poached eggs

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikko1974UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

This guest house is big, with high ceilings and large staircase. On the other hand, my room was a disappointment: furniture is poor and in bad shape, walls have to be painted, sheets are worn. Bathroom was the next door, and clean enough.
Breakfast was good, well cooked and presented. No buffet here, you're asked to order the evening before.
Dorstan house is 40 minutes walk from Waverley Station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flavio1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Dorstan House is one of those typical Victorian town houses which give you an opportunity to feel a bit grand due to the large old-fashioned staircase, high ceilings, stained glass window, etc, but which don't feel overly posh.
The atmosphere was in fact quite laid back, the owner was very friendly, welcoming and eager to help. I know my way around Edinburgh and was just staying for a day before catching a plane, but I think this would be a useful place for a longer stay and for first-time visitors. It is about 15 mins on the bus from the city centre, but easy to find and very close to the bus stop, yet in a quiet residential area. There are a few basic shops nearby, and the owner certainly knows more about shopping and dining options in the area.

It is also just a few minutes walk from the base of Arthur's Seat, which is lovely for an evening walk or if you want to go running in the morning. There is a large public pool nearby as well.

It has to be said, however, that the rooms and facilities are fairly basic. I had a standard single room with access to two shared bathrooms. I am not too keen on all the frilly stuff which hotels have to implement to earn 4 or 5 stars, but if you are picky about details and cleanliness, this might not be the best choice for you, especially for a longer stay. The furniture has seen better days, there was no visitor information folder in the room, the bed was not too good, and the bedside lamp gave an ugly hospital-like light.

The bathrooms were very plain, you couldn't even hang the towel anywhere. The shower was a lukewarm trickle. I stayed in six different places during this trip, all in the same price range apart from one rather basic rural hostel, and I am sorry to say that the shower in Dorstan House was the worst of all, while the one at the hostel was the best.

Another thing that was sub-par and the only aspect that really annoyed me was that the wi-fi connection did not work well at all. To be fair, they don't advertise this on their own website, but I booked my bed through a hotel booking site where wi-fi availability was listed. In the guest house itself there was a notice at the reception about limited bandwith capacity, asking not to use Youtube, Skype, etc. I thought it couldn't be too bad if I just wanted to check my mails, and it worked alright, though rather slowly, in the afternoon when I first tried, but later in the evening it became in fact impossible to access any websites at all.
Maybe most people have a smartphone or other mobile device with their own internet access these days anyway, but if you travel with a laptop and rely on using wi-fi at your accommodation for travel planning or even for work, this can be rather disappointing. Again, in the basic hostel in which I spent some of my other nights during this trip and where I paid about a third of what I paid here at Dorstan House, the wi-fi connection worked excellently, even during the evening when several of us were hanging out on Youtube, Facebook, etc. at the same time. I did not encounter any wi-fi problems at any of the other places, either, so it is apparently perfectly possible to provide this, and I think an Edinburgh town house should not be an exception in that regard.

The breakfast was lovely and plentiful, you have to tick your choices on a menu the night before, so you can make sure that you get just what you want.

I booked this place at very short notice and was staying for just one night, so I was happy with what I got. It will not go on my list of places to return to, though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lykaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Owner at Dorstan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We would like to respond to a few points as we are sorry you did not find everything to your liking.

The room booked was a Single Standard room which, as advertised, has a washbasin in the room and shares two bathrooms between three similar single rooms! All rooms have a flatscreen digital TV, central heating, tea/coffee, etc.

The room does have older style room furniture as we want a homely room style. The room rate was £40 per night bed & breakfast which we believe is a very economical room rate in Edinburgh for the time of this visit. We have many visitors who stay for weeks in these rooms as they offer such good value.

If there was a restricted water flow in the shower in the shared bathroom it will probably be due to the shower hose being twisted and slightly kinked from a previous guest. If there is a problem please let us know so we can fix it. We ourselves use the showers when cleaning the bathrooms and they seem fine.

There are towel holders in the shared bathroom. As it is a shared bathroom we would assume guests take their towels back to their rooms to dry on the radiator rather than hang in the shared bathrooms. We provide fresh towels every day in the rooms. And if more are needed, just ask!

We do offer free wifi connection. The router for is located downstairs and as we are an old building with some thick walls some rooms on the first floor will get a weaker signal strength. We do say to guests that if you need a stronger signal you can use the lovely guest lounge.

If there is no connection, please let us know as this can be for two reasons that we can resolve. Sometimes the router needs resetting by simply turning on and off. But the main reason we find for this is either when there is unusually high usage or if a guest downloads large data packages or stream video and movies. This will reduce the bandwidth and speed available when other guests are trying to browse or send emails.

This which is why, regretfully, we ask guests to keep to a fair internet usage. We have a large bandwidth allowance but in the week you were staying we have analysed the bandwidth usage and it was three times our usual monthly usage!

We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast!

We would ask that if you do find something amiss during your stay, please let us know so we can resolve when you are here! We want to give excellent service and resolving issues is part of this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed at Dorstan Guest House in June 2013. It was a wonderful experience. They really had a triple room (our teenager's room was separate from ours). Richard was very gracious, helpful, and friendly. The Guest House is quiet, a short walk to the bus that goes to the city center. This summer, we stayed in bed and breakfasts in London, Edinburgh, Paris, Rome and Barcelona. Dorstan Guest House was the best of them all! The price was also very competitive. Richard, thanks for your hospitality. As Americans, we are skeptical about customer service in Europe. Dorstan Guest House had good service. We will definitely return there when next we visit Scotland.

Room Tip: Family rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyombe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Owner at Dorstan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your review and kind words. This is just what we aim to provide! Good service, quality, cleanliness and a great breakfast. All in all a good value stay in Edinburgh! We may not have the latest in designer room furniture but take the approach of you being a house guest in our lovely Victorian home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Dorstan Guest House was a quiet and friendly stop in Edinburgh. It is about a 40 minute walk to Royal Mile/Castle---but the bus stop is a block away (though sometimes you do have to wait). In looking for a triple, this was about the best we could find. It is old...not new soap or shampoo the next day...but it was quiet. Not even very hot even though we were there during heat wave (for Scotland). Breakfast was good--had option of haggis, even! It was a Scottish breakfast--with porridge if you wanted, too. Walls were thick--and little noise throughout house or neighborhood--for us, that was a huge plus. It is not a "happening" spot--but that was perfect for us. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merkles1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Owner at Dorstan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit. You did mention a couple of things we would like to respond to!

We must have given you the wrong directions to the Royal Mile as it should take about 20 minutes at a reasonable walk! We recommend guests use the bus - it is unusual to have to wait for more than 10 minutes for a bus as we have four bus numbers on our route. The Lothian Bus £3.50 all day ticket provides great value for getting around Edinburgh.

We are also pleased not to be in 'happening area'!! But in a lovely quiet residential area with pleasant Victorian buildings. We get a lot of 'refugee' guests from hotels in the centre of the Old Town who find it too noisy at night throughout the year! As you did, guests prefer our nice quiet area and a 10 minute bus ride to the Old Town.

We provide individual soap bars and body wash bottles in the rooms and replenish with new ones every day. But we would not necessarily remove an only slightly used soap from the washbasin or less than half used body wash bottle from the shower. However, on your suggestion we will remove the half used body wash bottles.

If as a guest you need anything please just ask!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I have been staying at Dorstan Guest House over the years and will no doubt continue to do so in future. I must go to Edinburgh often and Richard and Maki have always been wonderful hosts making me feel at home. The location is excellent as you are very close to the centre of the city yet away from the noise of the town. You can enjoy a good walk in Holyrood Park, go for a swim at nearby Commonwealth Public Pool, there is private parking as well as free parking on the road and you have a very good bus connection. At a stretch, if you feel active you can easily walk to the Royal Mile and be there in twenty minutes. There is internet connection and you start your day with a delicious breakfast. Strongly recommended. Will go there again when next in the Scottish capital.

Room Tip: if you are on a tight budget you can have a room without a bathroom and the shared facilities are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vrwfainbinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Dorstan Guest house while experiencing Edinburgh. We loved Richard and Maki's warm and friendly hospitality which made our stay very comfortable. A small parking lot is included in the property so we could leave our car behind and make the short walk to the bus which took us right into the city. We were pleased to find such a charming place for such an affordable price! The room was very clean and the breakfasts were fantastic. Definitely a place to recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerdaDaValle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
94DR
94DR
#5 of 393 in Edinburgh
564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#71 of 393 in Edinburgh
218 reviews
4.9 mi away
Acer Lodge Guest House
Acer Lodge Guest House
#67 of 393 in Edinburgh
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#194 of 393 in Edinburgh
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#14 of 393 in Edinburgh
366 reviews
2.9 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#38 of 393 in Edinburgh
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorstan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorstan Guest House

Address: 7 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £37 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorstan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dorstan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorstan Private Hotel
Dorstan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing