We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorstan Guest House
Ranked #75 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, great breakfast!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just had an overnight stay at the Dorstan. It was easy to find. Free parking at the back, friendly greeting on entry. Owner went out of their way to be helpful. Room clean and tidy, pleasant atmosphere. Included in price was breakfast. The full English was superb. It all looked grilled, no plate of food swimming in oil. Respectful of any requests, hearty meal filled us up.
We had an event at Edinburgh university to attend. Location was exactly what we wanted.
First rate guest house.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    67
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
92
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinmel Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for a long weekend for a birthday celebration. Excellent host, Richard, very pleasant and helpful. Great breakfast choices well cooked and presented. You must try the Porridge!!!
The room was very comfy. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I staid here with my friend for NY eve celebration 2013-2014. It was really nice, kind and warm to visit this guest house.
It is located not far from the center of the city, just 20 min walk.Arthur`s seat hill is located near the House too.
The boulding of the house consists of 2 floors, victorian style. There is common living room and buffet zone on the first floor. Every morning you get home made english breakfast. It is possible to make a requeat in advance what you wanna to get.
And there is very good heating at room - what is very important for me ))
very nice, very recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russo_Meucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a quiet and peaceful setting. I found the owners really helpful and very knowledgeble about what to see in the area and how to get around. I stayed for three days and found breakfast wonderful everyday - really set me up for the day, especially since I was up there for a 5K run round the local park. Picked the hotel for the closeness to the park but it was also a really easy walk into the Royal Mile, didn't take more than 25 mins at a relaxed stroll. Really enjoyed my time there and would look to go back the next time I'm in the area. Found the room quite clean and very homely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mart_bmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My fiancé stayed here for the weekend and we enjoyed it very much. Richard was extremely helpful with all things tourist. The food was lovely and the rooms were ideal. The location was perfect as we didn't want the city centre, but it was only 15 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickydl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It's exactly what it should be and better than you might expect from a 3 star establishment. It's clean and comfortable, the proprietors are lovely people, it's easy to get to town... and it's reasonably priced!

We got the family room for three adults over Hogmanay. Everyone was comfortable and there was enough space for all of us. I recommend, providing you aren't expecting glitz and glamour. There are sparkly hotels downtown for that, but they're priced accordingly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Located in a beautiful Victorian House the Guest House is perfectly located just 10 minutes away by bus from down-town Edinburgh. The owner was very friendly and gave us precise information on how to get into town and the places we should not miss. They have a very efficient way for breakfast where you select your food the previous day so that when you sit on the table all you need to do is tell them your room number. Very nice poached eggs

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikko1974UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Sixteen
#102 of 392 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
Alba House
#48 of 392 in Edinburgh
163 reviews
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#196 of 392 in Edinburgh
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strathallan Guest House
#74 of 392 in Edinburgh
208 reviews
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#47 of 392 in Edinburgh
80 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 392 in Edinburgh
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorstan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorstan Guest House

Property: Dorstan Guest House
Address: 7 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorstan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dorstan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorstan Private Hotel
Dorstan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing