We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for the value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Granville Guest House
Ranked #261 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Houston
1 review
“great place for the value”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Nice host, check in at 12p. We had room #4 which had an awesome view of the street. Working water, tv, wifi, and comfy bed. Guesthouse not far from city centre by bus. The place was great, not bad at all!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierceboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
17
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Unfortunately i got stuck at Edinburgh airport due to my flight being cancelled. I managed to book this guest house online for myself, my wife, 2 kids and my 74 year old mother. Fortunately before we set off in a taxi to get a good nights sleep i rang the manager to confirm directions and was dismayed to find out he didn't know we were coming and did not have rooms for us as he had given them to someone else. Although he apoligised he felt it was not his fault as he didn't have time to check all online bookings. I would strongly recommend staying somewhere else. The Faulty Towers of Edinburgh i suspect.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mason1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Twice they knocked and tried to enter the room without waiting for an answer on separate days. Thankfully I would be abit paranoid and would always keep a latch on. Doorbell ringing up until 1.30am. Phone ringing at 2am. Room 5(our room) the largest room, very noisy room, can hear everything. Room not very clean. Breakfast was not great and too early, I think they realise that many people wont attend a breakfast between 8-9.30am. Any other Guesthouse I have ever stayed at it went up until 11am. Bathroom had hair on the floor and in the shower. The bed had black hair in it. When we did attend breakfast on one morning the owner and his son just spoke in a foreign language and myself and my partner found it quite disconserting. One of the mornings we had to wait 20 minutes for the front door to be opened by the owner as it has 'stuck' and his wife couldn't open it, it had been that way from the night before. God forbid an emergency had happened and we couldn't get out!! I love Edinburgh but will stay in the city centre the next time. Had we read the reviews beforehand we would not have booked it, lesson learned!

Room Tip: There is no best room in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ms-HoneyBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We owe the gentleman here a huge thank you, he took us in after the guest house we booked sold our room to someone else ! Very friendly, nicely presented house, my only issue was that the communal bathroom had hairs all over the floor around the toilet. But to be honest room was comfy and clean and did us a lovely breakfast, even cooking my egg through as required !

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2009

the room was lovley, and clean. so was the bathroom. lovely breakfast and the family running the place were so warm and friendly. whenever i come back to edinburgh i feel like i have home there...

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank salma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelb
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Booked at the Granville Guesthouse for a weekend with my Fiance. Absolutely loved our stay. We were in a double room at the very top of the house. Room was beautiful, very clean and far from basic. Lovely views of the city from our room. Owners were great, very friendly. breakfast was also great. House was close to the centre and if good weather would be a lovely walk. Owners were really helpful when asked about transport etc.
We loved our stay and will definitley be back very soon. Very nearly cancelled after reading reviews on here, glad we never!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelbabe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

I agree with the previous reviews about the cleanliness or otherwise of our room. We were there for 2 nights and while the Manager greeted us in a very warm and friendly manner, the standard of our rooms was not too good. The bedside table had not been cleaned properly as there were marks left from persons drinking. The bathroom was not that clean either with previous persons shampoo just being left in the shower unit. This by the way had mould etc in it. In the draws was also left previous persons clothes that had not been removed. Towels were clean but not replaced the next day and while the room had had a dust, the bed was not made, bathroom not cleaned and our door was left ajar. Nothing taken however. Breakfast was another issue. No bacon and when asked why, we were told he does not do it. No reason for this was given. Very disappointing. Would not got back again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Location to city centre
  • Disliked — The whole place itself.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozziex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Royal Ettrick Hotel
#130 of 149 in Edinburgh
325 reviews
Martin's Guest House
#91 of 392 in Edinburgh
259 reviews
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#45 of 392 in Edinburgh
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Culane House Hotel
#136 of 392 in Edinburgh
342 reviews
Cluaran Guest House
#121 of 392 in Edinburgh
89 reviews
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#177 of 392 in Edinburgh
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Guest House

Property: Granville Guest House
Address: 13 Granville Terrace, Edinburgh EH10 4PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Granville Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Granville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing