We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edinburgh's Victorian guest house experience..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Granville Guest House
Ranked #263 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Edinburgh's Victorian guest house experience..”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

There are a few option one has - one can choose to stay indoors and enjoy a hotel stay or one can choose to explore a beautiful and culture rich city of Edinburgh and pick a cozy B&B for an English/Scottish home feel...I chose the latter one on my 2nd visit to Edinburgh.

I tumbled upon this guesthouse on laterooms as I was struggling to plan a last minute 1 night/2 day trip from london before my sister went back to India.

A cute little Victorian house and reasonable priced for bank holiday, I sure wanted my sister to feel the Scottish welcome, and she got it indeed!
Situated only fifteen minutes walk from the heart of the city as they say, I bet that we Indians walk that 15 minutes for atleast half hour.. Nonetheless, an easy taxi ride from rolay mile/coach station/princess street, this warm and friendly family run guesthouse had a small (cute again) room with twin beds on the top floor.
The inside is floor to floor carpet(royal eye pleasing red if I remember), feels like you are actually staying at someone's house.
I think every floor has 2-3 rooms, apparently the floors have common bathrooms that is something I had not known. Nonetheless, everything was nice and clean, in the room, bathroom and the dining area, so I have no complaints there.
We had to check out at 6:00am to do a highland tour and the breakfast generally starts later than that!
The gentleman who attended to us was very reasonable and attended to us on our odd request of getting something to eat at 6am as well.
The window were the slant ones, and it did win my little sister's heart when she saw the most eye pleasing pitter patter of rain!

There is bus service that connect you every 3-5 minutes to the city centre, the neighbourhood is quiet and away from the hustle bustle, so the chances of getting a good night rest is always on the cards indeed..

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor, a lot of movement is happening! If you get to pick, get your hands on 1st floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PreetiParti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
17
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We've just returned from our trip to Edinburgh for the tattoo and this was the cheapest place that was available we could find, for two nights we werent too fussed about quality especially having read others reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised, the welcome was excellent and extremely friendly and helpful. The bathroom and bedroom were spotless. We did worry about parking but the owner advised us as to when others were leaving so we only had one night with on street parking. I would definitely stay again and recommend the stay to others

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfchick24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Spezia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is a two stars guest house. I stayed for 12 nights on two different rooms and on two different floors. All the rooms where with TV and with nice beds and mattresses. I had not problem of noise but I stayed on the first and second floor. The guest house is very well located and is not perfect (as you get in a five stars) I admit. The breakfast is essential but OK. As somebody other said, the difference is in the owner: he has the hospitality of the people of his country and nothing is too much for him (as somebody wrote in his guests' book). If you do not like or if you need something just ask him: if he can do it he will do. E.g. Something is not clean as you would like (as someone said) ... tell him and it will shine. In summary, this is the maximum you can get for the money you pay: if you want more, pay more.

Room Tip: Last floor are the quietest but you have to reach them. Second floor are good in my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaetano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have just returned from Granville Guest house and we wont be going back.We had no sleep for the 2 nights we were there.We were put on ground floor the noise outside our door was dreadful,the room was nothing like the pictures.The breakfast was okay but sausage were awful and no bacon either day.Owner said he,d give us money off on our next visit,theres no hope of that.

Room Tip: Dont let him put you on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Lisboa, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

If you´re going to visit Edimburgh , this is a perfect place to rest after long walking .
Bus stop near the front door, buses to City center.
The owner is very helpfull , and serves a fantastic scotish breakfast .
Cheap and clean .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaridaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed one night. We had a great welcome from the owner and his brother. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Pleasant breakfast room. Cooked breakfast of egg, beef sausage, beans, tomato and hash brown. (no bacon or pork sausage)
The room was very small even before the extra bed was added. The bathroom smelled clean and bleach had been used in the loo, but the tiles were spotted with yellow. The shower button edges were very black, the top of the shower unit was very dirty with scum and the shower head was black. The (empty) soap dispencer was also filthy and one of the bath towels had brown spots that looked like dried blood.
We expected to pay £15 extra for the extra guest as stated on the invoice. In the event we were charged an extra £45 !! Still dont understand why it became easier to pay rather than ruin the trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Proprietor insisted we paid on the spot even though we had booked through an agent.

He even showed me all the correspondence stating he was to bill the agency.

Very unpleasant and unprofessional.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Brentmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Royal Ettrick Hotel
#130 of 149 in Edinburgh
325 reviews
Martin's Guest House
#88 of 392 in Edinburgh
259 reviews
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#45 of 392 in Edinburgh
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Culane House Hotel
#135 of 392 in Edinburgh
342 reviews
Cluaran Guest House
#120 of 392 in Edinburgh
89 reviews
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#183 of 392 in Edinburgh
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Guest House

Property: Granville Guest House
Address: 13 Granville Terrace, Edinburgh EH10 4PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Granville Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Granville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing