We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was excellent - the perfect venue for our family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of One Royal Circus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
One Royal Circus
Ranked #220 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“This was excellent - the perfect venue for our family.”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My family stayed at One Royal Circus whilst in Edinburgh for a family celebration. The house is well and tastefully appointed and the facilities are fantastic. Mike and Susan's team were great. Kerrie was particularly welcoming helpful with everything.

We entertained our extended family at the house both before and after dinner. The house was a great venue and all the staff made sure that everything went very smoothly. I highly recommend Kerrie's canapes.

Breakfast the next morning was relaxed and the food superb.

A visit to One Royal Circus will not disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyReith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    5
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
54
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2011

After a train journey of 7 and a half hours - (3 hours delay) We were welcomed by Kerrie the B&B Manager and a hot Thai meal which Mike arranged this for us when I let him know we were going to be 3 hours late, It was much needed and greatly appreciated when we finally arrived. From that point on the experience just got better and better.

The room was comfortable clean and the attention to detail spot on, I have never stayed any where I have felt quiet so relaxed and at home almost instantly. The rest of the house was also amazing and just a great comfortable place to relax in after a walk around Edinburgh Castle or a night out.

As for Kerrie – where do I start! She was just a joy, she is friendly, helpful, bubbly and so approachable. Not to mention those amazing breakfasts she creates !!!

Perfect does not begin to describe our weekend at One Royal Circus !!!

A big thank you to all

We will be back

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjw70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

This townhouse in Edinburgh's "New town" is a pleasure to stay in. It has been very stylishly and yet comfortably renovated and it feels like home for the duration of your stay. The decor is modern but so well done that that it really suits the elegant old building. You are made very welcome and offered a complimentary drink on arrival but for the rest of your stay you can use the kitchen to make tea and coffee etc. and have full use of the rest of the house. The standard of the accommodation feels more like hotel than B and B and the price reflects this but when you take into consideration that many hotels now charge extra for breakfast, tea on arrival and other drinks it is good value. It is excellently situated - a short walk to the shops in George St in one direction and characterful Stockbridge in the other. The housekeeper, Kerrie is excellent and conscientious and has made some good improvements to breakfast. The fan of the full cooked breakfast is well catered for but there is also delicious fresh fruit, yoghurt, home made granola, home made pastries, pancakes etc for those who prefer something else. We make frequent trips to Edinburgh and have stayed in many establishments over the years but this is the one we keep coming back too.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dourofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2010

From the intimate picture of a young Ewan MacGregor in the kitchen to the Sonos multi room so-round sound system and the L'occitane products in the en-suite bathroom this place oozes class.

We arrived early on a Saturday afternoon and were greeted too freshly made mulled wine and mince pies served in the sitting room. After an Afternoon and dinner on George Street (its a short 5 minutes walk away) we returned and had the house to ourselves too enjoy. After Champagne in the sitting room around the grand piano and a few games of pool in the drawing room we retired to our suite on the second floor.

The bedroom has fantastic views over the private gardens and down to Stockbridge and the large bed provided a very comfortable nights sleep. They have fantastic, crisp, white bed linen (my partner was hunting for the manufacturers labels so she could buy them for our own bed!). Paired with sumptuous towels and dressing gowns and a che's long in the dressing area adjacent the bedroom.

We had breakfast in the kitchen the following morning. I had the full Scottish breakfast on offer. This is accompanied by fresh patisserie's made that morning by Kerrie (the housekeeper/chef was a former pastry chef in London)

We initially read about One Royal Circus in the Wallpaper guide for Edinburgh. Having stayed in various other top end Edinburgh hotels over the last few years we were looking for something special and it didn't disappoint.

If you are visiting Edinburgh and looking for accommodation in the £150 a night bracket you should stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dakin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We have just come back from Edinburgh after staying two nights at 1 Royal Circus. I usually stay at the George, which is a lovely hotel, but for the half term week stupidly expensive for some reason (the per night price appeared to have trebled) and to be honest I thought we should try something different. 1 Royal Circus was wonderful, the bed was amazing, the house perfect, unfussy and the service informal. There's a pool table, table football, complementary drinks...... it's a bit like suddenly having a lovely Edinburgh residence all of your own to come and go and do as you please. When we stayed the other guests included children and people of all ages, but since there are only 5 bedrooms we found we had the place more or less to ourselves. Breakfast is lovely and the staff are helpful, knowledgeable and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DakinJonathan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

A friend and I arrived at One Royal Circus after been underwhelmed with the hotel experience in Aviemore. This beautifully designed hidden treasure was a wonderful surprise. It is discreet yet warm and welcoming. You are in close to both Edinburgh's new and old worlds, with excellent shopping, site -seeing and dining literally at its doorstep. This is the perfect alternative to staying at a sterile hotel. The gorgeous guest rooms and guest areas make you wish you could stay inside longer. Breakfast was also outstanding and with a limited number of guest rooms you will want to book early. I don't think I will stay any where else on future trips to Edinburgh. I would also highly recommend One Royal Circus to couples and solo travellers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPRVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We were greeted warmly by Susan Gordon and shown our room which was spacious, beautifully furnished with a good sized bathroom. (Occitane shower gel etc). We were offered tea and cakes. One Royal Circus is a very special B & B. which we had virtually to ourselves. But there is still plenty of space when full. Breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed full Scottish, porridge, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast and good coffee. And at any time of the day we could just make ourselves tea or coffee or pour a cold drink at the bar.
Its location, just a walk from most major attractions in the centre of Edinburgh, meant that we could see a lot of the city in our 3 day stay. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seafarer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#70 of 150 in Edinburgh
990 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
765 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,765 reviews
New Town
A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place
Millers 64
#82 of 444 in Edinburgh
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Royal Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Royal Circus

Property: One Royal Circus
Address: 1 Royal Circus, Edinburgh EH3 6TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Royal Circus is a stunning Townhouse located in the heart of Edinburgh's New Town. It combines the Georgian architecture of William Playfair with modern amenities and is a short stroll from Princes Street and many of Edinburgh's best galleries, bars and restaurants. A regular celebrity haunt this 5* property offers the discerning visitor a home from home in the heart of a great city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1 Royal Circus
One Royal Circus Hotel Edinburgh
One Royal Circus Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing