We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaran Lodge - highly recommended!”
Review of Aaran Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aaran Lodge
Ranked #114 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Milton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Aaran Lodge - highly recommended!”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Ideally situated on a bus route 15 minutes into town centre, £3.50 for all day bus travel. We parked our car at the guest house and didn't use it whilst staying. Also train station close by. The guest house was comfortable and clean, and furnished and decorated to a high standard. Theresa and Alex made us feel welcome and we were given help with local information and even supplied with bus and train timetables. Our room was quiet, spacious and comfortable with all facilities a nice bathroom and plenty of hanging space. There was a full choice of quality breakfast, ordered the night before, and there was a good Bistro next door for evening meals. We would not hesitate to stay again.
Pete and Jane, South Coast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loco34028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    26
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
68
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We are just back from a short break in Edinburgh and stayed at the Aaran Lodge Guest House. We have nothing but positive comments for Theresa and Alec. We were made to feel very welcome right from the start and would definately (and will) stay here again. Our room was beautiful and very spacious. Good sized bathroom with shower. It's the little touches that make this extra special... we were asked what time we wanted breakfast, what we would like and it was ready for when we came down.
Great advice on the local transport and where to eat and drink. If you don't want to take the car into the city, the train stattion is a few minutes walk away, and it only takes 10 minutes to get into Edinburgh.. brilliant!
Definately reccommend this as a lovely place to stay and really good value for money. Thanks again Theresa and Alec... we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This was our second visit to Aaran Lodge having stayed here seven years ago with our son and daughter in law from Kiev. The House is as good as we remembered it - a warm welcome, comfortable room and thoughtfully decorated throughout. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold food. We didn't have a car on this occasion so we chose to eat out in the evening - Kings Manor Hotel is next door to the House so this was ideal for us. Another plus is the fact that the House is on a direct bus route into the city centre which made it really easy for us to get about and perfect for anyone like us who want to use Register House for family history searches. Internet access was possible at the House but a bit tricky, although this has probably been resolved by now. All in all, we'd be happy to recommend the Aaran Lodge to anyone. Leslie Coventry

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlcoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The House is absolutely perfect in every way, spotless, tastefully decorated throughout. Breakfast was wonderful and we had service with a smile even though our hostess Theresa was not in the best of health at the time. Will be returning at some time as there is lots to do and see in Edinburgh. Fabulous we have passed on the web site to friends already - David & Maggie (Bewdley)

Room Tip: We had four poster - excellent My daughter had double room and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damoreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2012

If you want an upmarket guesthouse with reasonably priced rooms, this is the one for you. Excellent hosts and bedrooms. And a great breakfast. Stayed here in December 2012 and travelled up from Wiltshire. Was a great place to stay and would recommend it to anyone.
K Saunders

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dlewis600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Love stopping here and have done for the past 3month, the rooms are spotless and are great value for money as ive stayed in a few guest houses in the area and they dont come close to AARAN LODGE. Always feel welcome and the breakfast will put u on for day, overall PERFECTION.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spadge09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Grand and sumptuous ... with a large four-poster bed! Design is something in the style of Louis 14th. Everything was amazingly clean, with lots of added extras in the room. Breakfast delicious. The positioning of the TV makes it difficult to see from the four-poster, and the room lacks a full length mirror. However, this does not detract from the overall experience.

Room Tip: I can only recommend the four-poster room ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Aynetree Guest House
Aynetree Guest House
#143 of 392 in Edinburgh
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rockville Hotel
Rockville Hotel
#35 of 205 in Edinburgh
120 reviews
3.1 mi away
Allison House Hotel
Allison House Hotel
#108 of 392 in Edinburgh
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#147 of 392 in Edinburgh
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaran Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaran Lodge

Property: Aaran Lodge
Address: 30 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaran Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Georgian Townhouse provides luxurious four-star accommodation, en-suite rooms tastefully decorated and furnished to the highest standard and fully equipped with large satellite t.v., internet access. Located near beach golf, close/easy access to city center. We offer double, twin or family rooms suitable for up to 5 persons; discounts for children and longer stays, free parking, friendly family run: this is why our guests return time and again so book today and have a wonderful stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aaran Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaran Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing