We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balmore House
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$185
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$191
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Edinburgh Centre(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$144
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$258
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
55
120
87
51
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
120
87
51
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble bed and a single bedfamily roomtop floormin walkcity centresized roomedinburgh castleprinces streetbus stoproyal mileguesthousegrassmarketuniversitypubs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed for just one night as we were going to a concert. The staff are extremely friendly and the rooms are lovely. We stayed in the property across the road rather than the main house. It was beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent and the breakfast is exquisite! The only disappointment we had was that we could only stay for the one night. Edinburgh is a beautiful city with very friendly locals and this hotel will only heighten your experience of that!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie-Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

You pay the double for the room in comparison with the Highlands, but you are not so happy for the service...
The bathroom was quite clean, but the room was bad-smelling and not so big.
The workmanship was not kind and the quality of the breakfast was insufficient. Nothing compared with the other B&B around Scotland.
Sure, here it's Edinburgh...and for a couple of days it's ok, but not more!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Licia_e_Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in a family room. The room was generously sized and the guesthouse was close to public transport and shops. Breakfast was excellent. The staff are helpful. Parking is free and the Internet is fast and reliable here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bron1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

having paid £120 a night, we didnt quite expect to find shoddy workmanship, as in , towel holder on the door wonky, toilet was missing a push button, we had to push the plastic , shower tiles were yellow with body fat, room was dusty, having made a remark about the standard of the matress being unacceptable,and the pillowcases being of very poor quality( i must say it was corrected swiftly) although we found the owner quite imtimidating,rude and abrupt , the walls were thin and we did not attend breakfast on any of our 4 days as the time was to early, we went there to unwind not get up by the alarm clock as we do everyday of the week., found it astounding that tea bags were replaced but then not left any milk, and broken biscuits, this is the first time we have stayed here and the last, the area outside was not clean, there was rubbish along the path/roads, and dog owners clearly do not pick up when they have let there dogs excrete the paths....... all in all we wish we had booked elsewhere and wont be returning

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I was here visiting the Edinburgh festival in a Single En-Suite room. I would highly recommend it. The staff were friendly (but not over the top), the breakfast was cooked well (with a fair variety). Be warned that you may be taken to the Annex, which is the property across the road. Now, while some may complain about this, I kinda liked it as it means you can do your own thing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews