We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldnt reccommend this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbot's House Hotel
Ranked #358 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Wellington, NZ
2 reviews
“wouldnt reccommend this Hotel”
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We are a mature couple who travel frequently and found this Hotel did not live up to its claims to be a 3 Star. A number of amenities listed were not available such as the Business Centre, Internet Services, ironing facilities and hairdyers in rooms. The colour TV was sound only and management advised that was because they have no external aerials. Breakfast was basic. Window in the upstairs room was filthy with a rotting blind trapped between the double glazing. Shower was a mere dribble.

  • Liked — Friendlieness of management despite the odds
  • Disliked — That it did not give value for money as was not clean
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kiwipair60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    40
    39
    33
    71
See reviews for
35
59
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2008

We choose this 'hotel' to stay in the night before we were taking part in the Edinburgh Marathon, hoping for a good restful sleep in a little bit of luxury. We were wrong. We were given a warm welcome by a man smoking a cigarette who insisted on telling us every single detail of the hotel managment situation and how the water boiler worked. 40 minutes later we were shown our room/dormitory - with it's delightful psychadelic worn out carpet that wouldn't go down well if you were feeling a tad queasy and a bathroom suite that would have been the height of fashion around the time of the Watergate scandal and before showers were invented. We wouldn't have minded so much if we had paid £5 per night to stay here but the fact that we paid £70 per room left us a little annoyed to say the least.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank hungrypikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2007

Six of us stayed here for the new year,it was last minute decision. Heating inadequate,tidy bins not emptied,no mirrors in bedroom only small one in bathroom.Manager helpful, but in my opinion this hotel should not be advertised as a 3 star. Overpriced.

  • Liked — Easy access into Edinburgh
  • Disliked — Very basic for the price charged.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank loopylupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2007

We were a party of 6, we stayed from 9-11 feb 2007.We were booked in for an apartment but instead we were given a room with 6 beds in it, when we arrived they brought us to our room where they were constructing our beds! When we raised the issue of the apartment we were told they'd go & sort it out but came back 10 mins later & said "you know of course that there's 3 people living there as well!". It turned out it was their home so obviously we didn't stay there! We took the room which was a basement room with a tiny window & 6 beds in it. The en suite was tiny with no hand towel & there wasn't even a bin in the room! While we were waiting for the room to be ready we were brought to the breakfast room where there was grocery's including bleach on tables & the floor. It was clean but the customer service left a lot to be desired!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank cjhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
#94 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,859 reviews
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#108 of 148 in Edinburgh
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crioch Guest House
#139 of 392 in Edinburgh
62 reviews
Pillars House
#92 of 392 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Leith
Swan Lake Guest House
Swan Lake Guest House
#209 of 392 in Edinburgh
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's House Hotel

Property: Abbot's House Hotel
Address: 10 Links Place, Edinburgh EH6 7EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbot's House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Abbot's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbot's House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing