We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for a budget hotel, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh House Hotel
Ranked #358 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good for a budget hotel, highly recommended”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Very good for a budget hotel, highly recommended. Room One seemed clean enough and tea/coffee making facilities clean and well presented. Bed was very comfortable and clean. Bathroom was modern and very nicely clean indeed. The only thing that stopped this from getting 5 star value for money was the cold water tap in the shower didnt work at all and the fault wasnt corrected during our 2 night stay, real shame as its an essential facility
Leaving aside the cold water problem, we wouldnt hesitate to recommend this for anyone looking for a budget place to stay and 25 mins to city centre wasnt a problem to walk it, although there are plenty of buses as an alternative
All credit to the cleaners, bless em, they did a grand job

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    82
    100
    74
    116
See reviews for
78
156
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Realy good rooms,i work all around the country n stop at all kinds of hotels bnbs and this one is a 9/10,one of the good ones.its not far to go for food n pubs,theres also pleanty of parking around the place

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My advice? Don't stay here if you wish for a good nights sleep. We were rudely awoken at 6:50am to the sound of a hammer banging outside in the hall. The room was small, but we could deal with that for one night - but what was not the best was the door, it rattled and only had one loose lock.
The paintwork was cracked and tiles were still up in the bathroom, which also had a hole in the ceiling.
The reception was unprofessional and dust was everywhere, and the staff didn't really seem to care at all. The only good part of the stay here was the shower - it was nice, hot and powerful.
I would not stay here again and it has made me wary about staying at self proclaimed 3 stars again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyJade93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights on a work trip, our room was huge and had everything you could possibly need, large clean bathroom, comfy double bed and bed settee, 2 televisions. It was especially good as the room was semi divided into 2, ideal when travelling with colleagues. One receptionist especially was amazingly helpful and went above and beyond the call of duty for us. Overall this hotel is far from posh, but it's close to the centre, and clean with amazing staff at a very reasonable price.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nicola375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed here February 2014 for two nights, after reading the reviews I was terrified by what I might find. The reception when we checked in was unwelcoming and dirty, cobwebs and dead spiders on show, the carpets looked like they had not seen a hoover in years. The paint was falling off the doors. We booked a double room with bathroom and it was actually not as bad as I dreaded it would be. The bed was comfy and we looked out onto the road and the park across the road, bathroom was ok and shower hot every time it was used.
I enjoyed my weekend in Edinburgh but will not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
713 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

When a few friends and I suddenly came into 5 tickets for the Scotland v England game in Edinburgh, I was charged with finding somewhere to stay. The remit from the lads (who'd paid £130 for train tickets) was i) In Edinburgh itself ii) good value (ie cheap) and iii) clean.

When I started looking on TA, I soon realised that this wasn't going to be easy - I would normally go for minimum 4 stars but they were coming up around £250 for a twin. To cut a long story short, I stumbled upon this place as they had a room sleeping 6 people and I thought "well, it is only one night"..

I called them direct and negotiated a fantastic price but we were all a little concerned about how decent it would be. It was fine, not the Ritz but clean and served it's purpose well. Why only 3 stars.? There was a party in the room above us until about 2.30am and somebody (must have been staff) opened the door to our room in the middle of the night until I shouted "Who's that.?!" - very strange, they'd have been brave to take on five big lumps.

It's a good mile and a half from Waverley Station but serves it's purpose quite well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidgehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights, one being New Years Eve at an outrageous price.
Didn't receive any extra value for almost double the standard rate.
Location was good and bus stop nearby.
Couldn't check in until 3pm and not a moment before.
No elevator, so had to carry suitcases up two flights of stairs.
Room was tiny with mould all around the windows in the bathroom.
Double bed was two singles pushed together.
No window, only a skylight, so no view as mentioned on the website.
I would call this backpacker accommodation, NOT a hotel by any means.
Had to pay for breakfast, so didn't bother as we thought it would be overpriced and second rate along with the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindalindalinda25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 392 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
St Bernards House
St Bernards House
#348 of 392 in Edinburgh
155 reviews
Cambridge House
#338 of 392 in Edinburgh
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith House
#339 of 392 in Edinburgh
88 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Sakura House
Sakura House
#359 of 392 in Edinburgh
38 reviews
16 Pilrig Guest House
#201 of 392 in Edinburgh
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh House Hotel

Property: Edinburgh House Hotel
Address: 90-92 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AY, Scotland (Formerly Balfour House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edinburgh House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing