We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place”
Review of Whiski Rooms

Whiski Rooms
Ranked #39 of 211 Nightlife in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Best place to taste and buy whiskey in Edinburgh. Take the 1 hour "Introduction to Whiskey" course. Very helpful staff when you are buying whiskey and good prices.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karahmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and informative”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A friend and I had a wonderful evening at the whiskey tasting here. Garry was an entertaining host and we learnt a lot and had a good laugh. Walked away with a bottle of the Dalmore whiskey and just opened it last night - delicious!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Choice and knowledge ”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Whiski rooms and Whisky Shop adjacent to each other makes the perfect place to escape the wet and bitterly cold Edinburgh weather in spring. The selection of whisky is slightly overwhelming but after the call choices come easy. I went with half and half and continued to, under & over serve myself, with a few more half and half choices... Also Try whisky flight with knowledgeable staff

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun, relaxing, interesting”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I learned so much from Gareth in the history of whisky tasting. He made very good, revealing selections for us to taste, ranging from very basic to a complex blend. He engaged the group well with thought provoking questions about what we were tasting and smelling and answered our questions very well. We laughed a lot and learned a lot. I knew nothing about Scotch before except that Inspector Rebus likes it. Now I like it, and appreciate it, too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ColetteSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, IA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“First rate whisky tasting”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Whether it's whiski, whisky, or Scotch whisky you are looking for, take the time and plan a tasting at Whiski Rooms. They need a little advance notice but then they can plan a tasting with you to suit your level of whiski knowledge and whiski budget. Gareth, who hosted our tasting, did a terrific job. He knew his stuff and clearly has the talent that sommeliers, chefs, and coffee importers have in understanding and describing tastes and scents. Plus, he isn't in the back pocket of the producers.distributors and did not universally praise everything. And when we came back to purchase a bottle (with a discount from the tasting thrown in) he didn't steer us to the most expensive bottle in the shop. This was one of the best things we did during our week in Edinburgh.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whiski Rooms also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Whiski Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing