We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bonnington Guest House
Ranked #158 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
london
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

we stayed for a weekend and enjoyed our attic room with small en-suite. Although the Bonnington is not in central Edinburgh, it is very easy to get buses to the centre or even to walk via the pretty Waters of Leith. Proximity to Leith is also a bonus, another walkable distance.
Everything you need was provided in the B&B, either in the room or at breakfast: Try the Loch Fyne kippers, they are great but a meal in themselves.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    23
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and i stayed here for three nights in December. A lovely warm welcome when we arrived, lots of local information given. The bnb is in a great location, buses every ten mins! Breakfast is great, lots of choice, you wont go hungry! Bedroom was lovely and big, comfy beds and plenty of tea, coffee and milk. The bath room was tiny but fine enough, the shower was one of the most frustrating things i have ever used! Anyone with long hair should avoid, although on the last morning we worked out if you put it on number one not setting two as instructed you almost get a constant temp and a little more water! However it is an old house and cant be helped! The top floor is also most definatly haunted, with both my husband and i being touched by something and it was'nt each other! ;-) There was also creaking outside the door but no one there! It was great fun! I would certainly stay again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tfitzpell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Bonnington for 3 nights over the hogmany celebrations. On our arrival Gill asked how we were and showed us up to our room. Our room was bright and airy, it was slightly cold to begin with but the guest house manual advises you how to adjust the the radiators etc. The pillows were a little flat for our liking but the bed was very comfy (so comfy we overslept breakfast twice oops). We had a private bathroom rather than an ensuite and this was not shared which was nice. We could also lock the door so no one could use it. The first morning we had the full bonnington breakfast which was delicious! Personally I'd prefer a proper sausage than a chipolata however we did clean the plates.
Gill was always available when needed and on hand to offer advice on where to go whilst on Edinburgh. Very hospitable and made you feel welcome.
Definitely recommend staying here!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Nice hotel staff very friendly and helpfull with directions and which buses to catch room comfortable and very clean food was excellent would stay again and recommend to others nice hotel in a great location you can follow the paths and walk in to the centre of Edinburgh this will take you approx 35 mins there is lots to do the owners were helpfull in which resturants to eat at all in all a great guest house and a great city

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neville H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My family of 6 people stayed for 4 nights and it was amazing. The owner is very helpful.She helped us in booking cabs, bus tours, selecting good restaurants etc. I would recommend others to surely consider Bonnington for your stay in Edinburgh since its location is also good. The public transportation is easy available. The rooms are clean and big enough and also the breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahu_komal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We chose the Bonnington for our all-too-brief jaunt to Edinburgh Festival. The property is a stone's throw from 3 separate bus routes into the city, but sits in a less busy location where you can safely walk about at night. The breakfasts were lovely, and we had more fun chatting with the guests at the Bonnington than at any other bed and breakfast during our 2 weeks in the UK. We will definitely return on our next trip to Scotland.

Room Tip: Get good directions before you arrive. Your sat-nav (Garmin) will misdirect you to project housing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Well located, very bright and clean, tasty breakfast and comfortable charming room. A wonderful start to our two week hiking trip in Scotland. The owners were very helpful regarding restaurants, public transportation . An indispensable recommendation for coffee lovers was Porto and Fi walking distance and serving the best Italian roast coffee,

The Bonnington was near the Leith water walkway which took us "everywhere"

Room Tip: We had an ensuite for 3 with big high windows and wonderful light
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.7 mi away
Gladstone House
Gladstone House
#84 of 392 in Edinburgh
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashlyn Guest House
Ashlyn Guest House
#109 of 392 in Edinburgh
88 reviews
3.1 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#96 of 392 in Edinburgh
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Ben Doran Guest House
The Ben Doran Guest House
#165 of 392 in Edinburgh
208 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#34 of 392 in Edinburgh
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#49 of 392 in Edinburgh
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonnington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonnington Guest House

Property: The Bonnington Guest House
Address: 202 Ferry Road, Edinburgh EH6 4NW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonnington Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bonnington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonnington Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing