We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of 14 Hart Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
14 Hart Street
Ranked #1 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed for two nights in April. We had such a great time. Location: The B&B is about a 20 min walk from the Royal Mile. We caught a taxi from near the castle one day and it was less than 7 GBP to the B&B. Restaurants: There are a nice selection of restaurants and pubs in the area. We never had a poor meal while we were there. Room: The room was spacious, the bathrooms sparkling and there was wine and scotch to have in the evening while relaxing. Our son loved the shortbread biscuits. There was also tea, tea cups etc and a kettle if you wanted to make yourself a brew. The beds were comfortable and the location quiet (no street noise). Breakfast: Great food, super coffee made in a french coffee press. We looked forward to going to breakfast every morning! Service: James and Angela were friendly, interested in us, and attentive to our needs. They answered any questions we had about the city and area. The room had some guidebooks and brochures of the sites that proved very helpful. There is so much in Edinburgh to see that three days isn't really enough to do it justice. We will be back and when we do, there is no question where we will stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mustangsally2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    37
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
96
559
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I stayed with a friend for 2 nights in a twin room. The owners were very friendly, the room was clean and neat and the shower was powerfull and warm! Coffee and tea making facilities, bottle of water and a small bottle of wine are waiting. Breakfast is served at one big table. It was a nice way to get to know the other guests. Plent of choice, including fresh fruit. Convenient for City center, a 10 minute walk away. I will defenitely stay there again. IS, Aberdeen

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islayter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was lovely and well appointed and the bathroom had a fantastic shower. The polished wood floors were a little slippery (don't walk about in socks!).
Breakfasts were fantastic with a good choice and if you have any special requirements, these are catered for.
Great location, great B&B, would stay here again if up this way.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancp083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This was the highlight stay during tour of Scotland! The other glowing reviews were correct-- this might very well be the best place to stay in all of Edinburgh! The Wilson's are consummate hosts, warm and attentive, and offered excellent neighborhood information. The early 1800's building,on a quiet side street, presents itself as living history, lovingly restored and furnished in a most comfortable and gracious manner. Rooms are spacious and well appointed (the snack tray with wine and whisky was most welcomed after a long day of sightseeing), the breakfasts were delicious, and the nearby neighborhood restaurant selections were outstanding! Location is an easy 10 minute walk to the train station, shopping, and the sightseeing hop on/off bus stop. We plan to return some day, but in the meantime, we will send all our friend to Hart Street!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TumbleweedSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My daughter and I stayed with James and Angela and had a wonderful time. We were able to walk to the station where the city tour buses start. There are lots of restraunts and cafes close by. Parking was a bit of an issue. The B & B is exactly as the pictures show. I would highly recommend to friends and family!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with twin beds if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donttravelmuch2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Just returned from the best stay in this wonderful B&B . On arrival we where met by the fantastic owners James and Angela,they made us feel from that first meeting that we where extremely important to them and nothing was to much bother for them. We had a great night exploring some of the great little bars which are only a short stroll away. On are return we settled down in are beautifully decorated room with a little Scottish tipple which by the way on return the next day had been topped up to full again just like magic!! The breakfast was as promised simply the best in town, we ate like kings and then enjoyed a full day exploring the great city . Betty the housekeeper had some good Edinburgh knowledge so tap into her ideas of where to avoid or where you see. Most important thing about Edinburgh is this simply the best B&B. Fantastic area to stay in great hosts fabulous bedrooms and a breakfast to remember!!! We will be back but this time it will be for longer!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank platt332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Beautifully decorated B&B in a quiet side street within walking distance of the city centre. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotless. The hosts, James and Angela, were out when I arrived but had thoughtfully left a welcome note and several guidebooks for me. Housekeeper, Betty, provided a filling breakfast. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, ideal if you don't want to venture too far after dark. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room at the front has a huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unasola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 393 in Edinburgh
474 reviews
23 Mayfield
#4 of 393 in Edinburgh
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing