We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing home in Edimburgh !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 14 Hart Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Hart Street
Ranked #1 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Argentina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing home in Edimburgh !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Lovely house closeby to both train & bus station, on a quiet street. We love old furniture, so we found our room extremely cozy with the brass bed and the old mirrors. Our bathroom was very new, big and complete, everything spotless clean. The complimentary cookies & coffe & tea in the room were cute, but the old tray with wine & whisky ... that was an unforgettable touch ! so was the incredible breakfast in the beautifully decorated livingroom. We stayed here for 2 nights... would have liked to stay many more and we both agree it was a surprising highlight in our 12 day trip in the UK. We could not meet the owners (we were constantly on the move !!!) but they were so very kind as to both greet us and give us a memorable farewell by means of lovely old postcards. Thank you so much ! Hope you keep being as sucessfull as you deserve to be!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajera-del-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    36
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
94
549
44
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Hart Street B&b was a perfect location, close to the Royal Mile and the train station but in a very quiet and beautiful street with great restaurants and pubs nearby. Our hosts were knowledgeable and very friendly. They graciously stored our suitcases while we spent two days and a night walking along the Fife Coastal Path.

The room was large, beautifully furnished and the bathroom was high tech and sparkling. The complimentary wine and whiskey were perfect for tired sightseers.

The price was marginally higher than some other bed and breakfasts in smaller places but if I could be certain of this level of comfort I would gladly pay this price everywhere. It was considerably cheaper than London and Oxford.

I would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cromwell2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Ray and Maggie, are a delightful couple. They made my Golf Outing a memorable one. The home is spotless, great accomadations, FANTASTIC breakfast, 6 star service. Better than the last "Four Seasons" resort that I stayed in, Aloha Ellis

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

We had a great time in 14 Hart Street with James and Angela. The room was clean, the bathroom very nice and spacious, the bed very comfortable and the whiskey, wine and shortbread a nice suprise. My boyfriend was running the Edinburgh marathon and James got up at 6:00 in the morning to make him some porridge. The B&B is also very close to everything yet in a remote street. I would definitately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roosmarijn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed a couple of nights at 14 Hart Street. It is great to be so near the centre yet in a quiet one way street! The hosts are friendly and helpful as was their house keeper.
It was lovely to have the luxury of wine & whisky in the room but maybe a bit off the bill would have been better.

Room Tip: Both double rooms were well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marriedmembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcrabb@blueyonder.co.uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Angela and James Wilson.
What a hospitable and welcoming pair,pristine facilities and Betty's wonderful breakfast. Don't miss.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcrabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

I can't believe all that we had at 14 Hart Street!!! The home is in the new section of Edinburgh, which is dated around the 1400's..When you arrive it is in a section of Stone Row Houses each two to three stories high and we had the Garden level, which is actually in the basement but with a direct view of the garden right outside of our room!!! Spectacular!!!

Our room was decorated straight out of a very affluent 1400 year old home right down to the little Whiskey table with glasses and two wine glasses with two bottles of wine!! The furniture was authentic antiques as well as the most beautiful carpets and linens to die for..We, of course, had a flat screen TV as well as a huge updated shower ..with wonderful Egyptian Cotton towels, lovely soaps and etc.

Breakfast was served with a full complement of breakfast ware as well as silvers and English Stoneware and jams, butters and a full Scottish Breakfast barring nothing!! Even the Brown or Black bread as the Scottish call it!

Fresh fruits, hand prepared fresh grain dry cereals with any type biscuits, breads or jams and jellies that one could desire!!! Teas and wonderful coffee!! All served by the cook and fine linen to boot!!! What a wonderful surprise!!! All the floors were in the original wood with just beautiful grains and polished to a high gloss!

The owners were phenomenal and catered to our every whim! We would certainly choose them again on our next visit as well to make sure we pass them on to many more to be satisfied guests. A most wonderful choice for our last week in Scotland!!!

Room Tip: The garden level room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosiedog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
23 Mayfield
#2 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 14 Hart Street 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your 14 Hart Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing