We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight of our 2 days in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 14 Hart Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Hart Street
Ranked #3 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A highlight of our 2 days in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

A beautifully decorated home ideally located within walking distance of all Edinburgh has to offer. Angela and James are wonderful hosts who take a genuine interest in their guests and provide the right advice appropriate to their guests' tourist needs. The rooms are beautifully appointed, quiet and the breakfasts provided by very friendly Betty set one up well for the day. Would go back and recommend to friends without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnRMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    37
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
95
551
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

14 Hart St ... what a delight! This charming B&B offered more than we'd expected. Hosts, Angela & James were most welcoming and had plenty of tips on Edinburgh and nearby restaurants. Our bedroom had period decor and overlooked the garden. It was very clean & comfortable with lots of little extras, like the glass of scotch whiskey or wine awaiting us at the end of the day. Also, Wi Fi was available in the breakfast room. The best thing though was the breakfast. Betty set a beautiful table with cereals, fresh fruits and yoghurt. This was followed by her sumptuous hot breakfast! Such a great place to stay, only a leisurely 10-15 minute walk from Waverley Bridge (city centre). Thanks Angela, James and Betty ... we'll be back!

Room Tip: bedroom overlooking garden is quiet & relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austrippers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Our stay at 14 Hart St. was everything we wanted. The location was convenient to the Holyrood end of the Royal Mile, so we walked to everything. Although it was only a block from a busy street, it was absolutely quiet. The house is beautiful, built in the early 1800's. Our room was large. The bed was comfortable (as usual, we got too hot with the duvet). The bathroom was well-lit and sparkling clean. The breakfast was great, served in an elegant dining room. The owners, James and Angela both teach school, so they only personally cook breakfasts on the weekends, but Betty (the housekeeper) took good care of us. James and Angela are gracious hosts -- here is just one example: The first morning I woke up early and decided to sit in one of the chairs in the passageway outside our room to read in order not to disturb my husband who was still sleeping. James found me there and said I should follow him upstairs to the dining room, where I would be more comfortable. We liked having several Edinburgh guidebooks in the room that we could borrow for sightseeing. Half-bottles of wine and a decanter of whisky in the room were a nice extra touch. We wished that the lamp on the desk had been brighter so we could have used the desk for writing. The on-street parking spaces are limited (pay-and display), and the parking police are quite zealous, but a pay car park is conveniently located a few blocks away.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ctyankee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

I stayed here in the two guest rooms on a family trip this past May. I cannot say enough good things about this family run bed and breakfast. Angela and James are the perfect combination of informative hosts and helpful guides without being too overbearing. They both work as well as run the hotel, so it actually feels as if you have your own place right in the city center. The rooms are beautifully furnished and cozy (in a good way), and the breakfast is outstanding and keeps you full for the entire day! I would recommend this bed and breakfast for anyone looking for a uniquely scottish experience without shelling out a lot of money for a large, impersonal chain hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tylerbreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Lovely house closeby to both train & bus station, on a quiet street. We love old furniture, so we found our room extremely cozy with the brass bed and the old mirrors. Our bathroom was very new, big and complete, everything spotless clean. The complimentary cookies & coffe & tea in the room were cute, but the old tray with wine & whisky ... that was an unforgettable touch ! so was the incredible breakfast in the beautifully decorated livingroom. We stayed here for 2 nights... would have liked to stay many more and we both agree it was a surprising highlight in our 12 day trip in the UK. We could not meet the owners (we were constantly on the move !!!) but they were so very kind as to both greet us and give us a memorable farewell by means of lovely old postcards. Thank you so much ! Hope you keep being as sucessfull as you deserve to be!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajera-del-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Hart Street B&b was a perfect location, close to the Royal Mile and the train station but in a very quiet and beautiful street with great restaurants and pubs nearby. Our hosts were knowledgeable and very friendly. They graciously stored our suitcases while we spent two days and a night walking along the Fife Coastal Path.

The room was large, beautifully furnished and the bathroom was high tech and sparkling. The complimentary wine and whiskey were perfect for tired sightseers.

The price was marginally higher than some other bed and breakfasts in smaller places but if I could be certain of this level of comfort I would gladly pay this price everywhere. It was considerably cheaper than London and Oxford.

I would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cromwell2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Ray and Maggie, are a delightful couple. They made my Golf Outing a memorable one. The home is spotless, great accomadations, FANTASTIC breakfast, 6 star service. Better than the last "Four Seasons" resort that I stayed in, Aloha Ellis

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
23 Mayfield
#1 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — 14 Hart Street 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your 14 Hart Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing