We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and elegant”
Review of 14 Hart Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
14 Hart Street
Ranked #1 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Siegen
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“beautiful and elegant”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this wonderful b+b.
The rooms were clean and beautiful furnished.The owner decorated every room with love.
(The paintings,furniture,the christal glass....-very elegant and nice)
We were welcomed with tea,coffee shortbread and other beverage in our rooms
Angela and James,the owner and her helping hand Betty
were very friendly and helpful.The breakfast (full scottish if you like) was very good.
The b+b is next to New Town but in a very quiet street.
We enjoyed our stay at this comfortable house very much.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schubertxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    37
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
96
559
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Wonderful place to stay. James and Angela provide a delicious breakfast and rooms that will give you a restful sleep. They offer walking shortcuts, dining recommendations, and will make your stay both easier and more enjoyable.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MandD752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

James and Angela are very gracious hosts who invite you into their home with grace and humor. Their in-town greystone townhouse is beautifully furnished ; their breakfast is both hearty and beautifully served. We stayed in two different rooms--one at the beginning of our trip and another at the end. Both ground level rooms were very comfortable with many amenities. All-in-all a delightful B & B with wonderful hosts and a great location.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermonter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed at 14 Hart St for 4 nights in June. James and Angela are so friendly and gave us a very warm welcome. Our room was very tastefully decorated, as is the rest of the house, it is full of old world charcter and charm! The location is brillant, only a short stroll to Princess St. There are plenty of lovely restaurants and pubs very close by, Angela and James have some very good recommendations! All in all an excellent guesthouse in the centre of Edinburgh on a quiet street with no traffic noise, excellent breakfast cooked to your liking, lovely hosts who are so friendly and helpfull enjoyed every minute will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicklick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I spent 3 days in the 14. Hart street B&B. It was highly recommended by trip adviser, however all my expectations were exceeded. The beautifully decorated home ideally located in a silent street within walking distance of Waverley Station. The room was nice and comfortable and the en-suit was spacious and very clean. The Scottish breakfast was served in an elegant dinning-room. The hosts, Angela and James are charming and very friendly.
If you would like enjoy the hospitability of a friendly family, the 14 Hart street B&B is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hegyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2011

James and Angela are very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The room is comfortable, very quiet, pleasant and spotless. And the breakfast is amazing!!!
The 14 hart street is very conveniently located in a quiet neighbourhood close to restaurants, pubs; and the city center is within walking distance.
In summary, do not hesitate to book there!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We just can't say enough great things about 14 Hart Street. Angela and James were very friendly and helpful. It is approximatly a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Shopping and restaurants are all close by. They had great suggestions for sites in other parts of the city that are not suggested in guide books. Betty's cooking and advise was superb. James and Angela add the special touches to make your vacation a great one. 14 Hart Street rates a 10 out of 10. Thanks, D&D. Canada

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thequeen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,730 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 392 in Edinburgh
473 reviews
23 Mayfield
#4 of 392 in Edinburgh
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing